St Andrew Undershaft with St Mary AxeEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
England
London
London Parishes
St Andrew Undershaft with St Mary Axe
London St Andrew Undershaft with St Mary Axe family history and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers (baptisms, christenings, marriages, and burials), civil registration (births, marriages, and deaths), census records, history, wills, cemetery, online transcriptions and indexes, an interactive map and website resources.
Contents |
Church records
| | |||||||||||||||||||
| |
|
| |||||||||||||||||
| Earliest | |
|
| ||||||||||||||||
| Images | | ||||||||||||||||||
| 1813-1903 | Ancestry[2] | 1754-1920 | Ancestry[3] | 1813-1849 | Ancestry[4] | ||||||||||||||
| Indexes | 1558-1770 | FamilySearch[5] | 1558-1837 | FindMyPast[6] | 1808-1849 | FindMyPast[7] | |||||||||||||
| 1776-1800 | BritishOrigins[8] | 1808-1849 | BritishOrigins[9] | ||||||||||||||||
| 1780-1837 | Ancestry[10] | ||||||||||||||||||
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Census records
1541 Subsidy
- 1541 London Subsidy Roll, Aldgate Ward - The Parisshe of Saint Andrewe Undershafte, courtesy: British History Online
1547 Subsidy
- St Mary, Fenchurch Street, Langbourn Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/143); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
1582 Subsidy
- 1582 London Subsidy Roll, Aldgate Ward - Saint Androwes Undershafte and Al Hallowes in ye Wall Parishes, courtesy: British History Online
- 1582 London Subsidy Roll, Lime Street Ward - St Peters and St Andrewes Paroches, courtesy: British History Online
1589 Subsidy
- FamilySearch Books Online, courtesy: Family History Archives (see page 149)
1625 Subsidies
- St Andrew Undershaft, Lime Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/519); copy: FHL Film 2228703.
- St Andrew Undershaft, Aldgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/549); copy: FHL Film 2228703.
1628 Subsidy
- St Andrew Undershaft, Aldgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/565 Part 1 of 3); copy: FHL Film 2228702.
1638 Inhabitants List
1645 Subsidies
- St Andrew Undershaft, Aldgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/595); copy: FHL Film 2228704.
- St Andrew Undershaft, Aldgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/616); copy: FHL Film 2228705.
1666 Hearth Tax
1692-1932 Land Taxes
1695 Inhabitants Lists
Add unique information about the censuses. Add links to online census records, and/or link to the Family History Library film/fiche numbers.
|
|
This section requires expansion with: any unique information, such as the census for X year was destroyed. |
Civil Registration
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Probate records
Will indexes for probate courts covering St Andrew Undershaft with St Mary Axe Parish are available online.
Before 1858, St Andrew Undershaft with St Mary Axe fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London. From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry.
Go to London Probate Records to find the names of the courts having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.
Cemetery
Transcripts of early St Andrew Undershaft with St Mary Axe tombs found in the interior of the churches were published in Catalogue of the most Memorable Persons who had visible Tombs, plated Gravestones ... in the City of London (through) A.D. 1700, which is available online.[11]
A survey of monumental brasses, published 1891, is available online.[12]
A cemetery survey (1910), available online, covers monumental inscriptions in the St Andrew Undershaft churchyard.[13]
Records of the Poor
During the seventeenth century, officials gave some foundlings discovered in St Andrew Undershaft Parish the unique surname Undershaft.[14]
Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.
Parish History
1831 description
'St Andrew, Undershaft, then church of, is situated at the southeast corner of the street called St Mary Axe and Leaden Hall Street. There was a church on this site dedicated to the same site as early as the year 1362, which was pulled down in 1532, and the present church erected in its room, at the expense of William Fitz Williams, who was sheriff in 1507. It derives its name of Undershaft from a very lofty Maypole, anciently called a shaft, which was annually raised in the street near to it on Mayday, and was higher than the steeple. The church is a plain Gothic structure with a well lighted body, and the square tower, with pinnacles at the angles, and a campanile with six bells within them. It is a rectory, in the gift of the Bishop of London, and is celebrated as containing the monument raised in memory of the faithful and able historiographer of the city, John Stowe...'[15]
In 1562, St Mary Axe united with St Andrew Undershaft.[16]
St Andrew Undershaft belonged to Aldgate Ward and/or Bishopsgate Ward. St Mary Axe belonged to Bishopsgate Ward.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Web sites
(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).
- London Family History Centre Catalogue (St Andrew Undershaft Parish records)
- London Family History Centre Catalogue (St Mary Axe Parish records)
- St Andrew Undershaft (ourpasthistory.com). Photographs, history.
- Society of Genealogists Library Catalogue (to narrow results, conduct a subject search for 'London St Andrew Undershaft' or 'London St Mary Axe')
References
- ↑ London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Andrew Undershaft in the City of London. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
- ↑ London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Andrew Undershaft in the City of London. Partially indexed.
- ↑ London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Andrew Undershaft in the City of London. Partially indexed.
- ↑ London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Andrew Undershaft in the City of London. Partially indexed.
- ↑ Batches C004962, P004961, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011.
- ↑ 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011; Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists Enterprises Ltd., 1994). FHL Book 942 K22L 1994
- ↑ John Hanson, 'City of London Burials,' Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011.
- ↑ 'Webb's London Marriages - Marriages, periods and parishes/churches,' British Origins, accessed 4 July 2011.
- ↑ 'Greater London Burials: Middlesex and City of London Burials: Parishes, Counts and References,' British Origins, accessed 4 April 2013.
- ↑ Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
- ↑ Payne Fisher and G. Blacker Morgan, Catalogue of the Tombs in the Churches of the City of London, A.D. 1666 (1668; reprint, London: Hasell, Watson, Viney, Ld., 1885). Digitised by Internet Archive.
- ↑ Andrew Oliver, A List of Monumental Brasses in the City of London Churches (1891). Digitized by Internet Archive.
- ↑ Percy C. Rushden, The Churchyard Inscriptions of the City of London (London: Phillimore and Co., Ltd., 1910). Digitised by Internet Archive.
- ↑ Nathan W. Murphy, 'London Foundlings in Colonial America: Overseas Leads to Dead Ends: John Abchurch, William Abchurch, Isaac Jewry, and Henry Woolchurch of Virginia and Maryland,' The American Genealogist, Vol. 83, No. 2 (Jul./Oct. 2008):131-140.
- ↑ James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitised by Google Books.
- ↑ 'Sources: London parishes and chapels', A Survey of Documentary Sources for Property Holding in London before the Great Fire: London Record Society, 22 (1985), pp. 113-143. URL: http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=64584 Date accessed: 03 January 2012.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 14 November 2012, at 15:24.
- This page has been accessed 1,104 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More



