St Andrew by the Wardrobe with St Ann BlackfriarsEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
England
London
London Parishes
St Andrew by the Wardrobe with St Ann Blackfriars
London St Andrew by the Wardrobe with St Ann Blackfriars family history and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers (baptisms, christenings, marriages, and burials), civil registration (births, marriages, and deaths), census records, history, wills, cemetery, online transcriptions and indexes, an interactive map and website resources.
Contents |
Church records
Historically St Andrew by the Wardrobe and St Ann Blackfriars were two individual parishes. Each maintained separate parish registers.
St Andrew by the Wardrobe Parish
| | |||||||||||||||||||
| |
|
| |||||||||||||||||
| Earliest | |
|
| ||||||||||||||||
| Images | | ||||||||||||||||||
| 1813-1903 | Ancestry[2] | 1754-1920 | Ancestry[3] | 1813-1859 | Ancestry[4] | ||||||||||||||
| Indexes | 1558-1860 | FamilySearch[5] | 1558-1885 | 1558-1807 | FindMyPast[7] | ||||||||||||||
| 1800-1837 | Ancestry[8] | 1813-1850 | FindMyPast[9] | ||||||||||||||||
St Ann Blackfriars Parish
| | |||||||||||||||||||
| |
|
| |||||||||||||||||
| Earliest | |
|
| ||||||||||||||||
| Images | | ||||||||||||||||||
| 1813-1861 | Ancestry[2] | 1813-1840 | Ancestry[3] | 1813-1849 | Ancestry[4] | ||||||||||||||
| Indexes | 1560-1716 | FamilySearch[10] | 1801-1837 | Ancestry[8] | 1566-1758 | FindMyPast[7] | |||||||||||||
| 1754-1849 | FindMyPast[9] | ||||||||||||||||||
Boundary
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Can you help?
Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, nonconformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection.
Census records
1541 Subsidy
- 1541 London Subsidy Roll, Castle Baynard Ward - Parochia Sancti Andree, courtesy: British History Online
- 1541 London Subsidy Roll, Farringdon Ward Within - The Parish of Seynt Anne at Ludgate, courtesy: British History Online
1547 Subsidy
- St Anne, Blackfriars, Farringdon Within Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/151); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
1582 Subsidy
- 1582 London Subsidy Roll, Castle Baynard Ward - St Androwes Parish, courtesy: British History Online
- 1582 London Subsidy Roll, Farringdon Ward Within - St Annes at Black Fryers, courtesy: British History Online
1625 Subsidy
- St Andrew by the Wardrobe, Castle Baynard Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/546); copy: FHL Film 2228703.
- St Anne, Blackfriars, Farringdon Ward Within, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/555); copy: FHL Film 2228704.
1638 Inhabitants List
1645 Subsidy
- Blackfriars, Farringdon Ward Within, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/590 Part 14); copy: FHL Film 2228704.
1692-1932 Land Taxes
1695 Inhabitants Lists
1811 Census
Part of the 1811 Census of St Ann Blackfriars exists.[11]
|
|
This section requires expansion with: any unique information, such as the census for X year was destroyed. |
Civil Registration
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Probate records
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.
Before 1858, St Andrew by the Wardrobe fell under the jurisdiction of the Archdeaconry Court of London. In practice, many St Andrew by the Wardrobe residents left their wills in the Prerogative Court of Canterbury from the 1700s through 1858.[12] From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry.
Go to London Probate Records to find the names of the courts having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Cemetery
Transcripts of early St Andrew by the Wardrobe with St Ann Blackfriars tombs found in the interior of the churches were published in Catalogue of the most Memorable Persons who had visible Tombs, plated Gravestones ... in the City of London (through) A.D. 1700, which is available online.[13]
A cemetery survey (1910), available online, covers monumental inscriptions in the St Anne Blackfriars churchyard.[14]
Records of the Poor
During the seventeenth century, officials gave some foundlings discovered in St Ann Blackfriars Parish the unique surname Blackfriars.[15]
Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.
Parish History
'St Andrew by the Wardrobe, the church of, stands on the east side of St. Andrews Hill, near to the public wharf called Puddle Dock. It was formerly called St. Andrew juxta Baynard Castle, from its the 72 to balance; but on the removal of the office of them kings wardrobe to a spot now called Wardrobe Place, it received its present edition to its name. The church is supposed to have been founded about the time has Baynard's Castle was built, and, perhaps by the same nobleman as the advowson was anciently in the family of FitzWalter, from which it passed through many hands, till the year 1663, when it devolved to the crown, in whose gift it still remains. But the parish of St. and, like fryers, having been united to it after the fire of London, to write the presentation is alternately with the crown and the parishioners. The present church was built in 1670, after the great fire, by Sir Christopher Wren, in the plane, substantial and useful manner, of brick and stone the interior is 75 feet in length, 59 breadth, and 30 in height.'[16]
After the Great Fire of London (1666), St Andrew by the Wardrobe Parish united with St Ann Blackfriars Parish.[17]
St Andrew by the Wardrobe belonged to Castle Baynard Ward.
An alternative spelling is St Anne Blackfriars Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites
(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).
- London Family History Centre Catalogue (St Andrew by the Wardrobe Parish)
- London Family History Centre Catalogue (St Ann Blackfriars Parish)
- St Andrew by the Wardrobe (official website). Photographs, history, visitor directions.
- Society of Genealogists Library Catalogue (to narrow results, conduct subject searches for 'London St Andrew by the Wardrobe' or 'St Ann Blackfriars')
References
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Andrew by the Wardrobe in the City of London | St Ann Blackfriars in the City of London. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
- ↑ 2.0 2.1 London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Andrew by the Wardrobe in the City of London | St Ann Blackfriars in the City of London. Partially indexed.
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Andrew by the Wardrobe in the City of London | St Ann Blackfriars in the City of London. Partially indexed.
- ↑ 4.0 4.1 London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Andrew by the Wardrobe in the City of London | St Ann Blackfriars in the City of London. Partially indexed.
- ↑ Batches C022321-C022322, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011.
- ↑ Batches E022321, M022321-M022322, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011.
- ↑ 7.0 7.1 'Boyd's London Burials Index - places and counts,' Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes adult male burials only.
- ↑ 8.0 8.1 Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
- ↑ 9.0 9.1 John Hanson, 'City of London Burials,' Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011.
- ↑ Batches C022092-C022093, P022091 (1717-1861, inactive 11/2/2012), see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes parish register xxx.
- ↑ Colin R. Chapman, Pre-1841 Censuses and Population Listings in the British Isles, 5th ed. (Dursley, U.K.: Lochin Publising, 2002), 68.
- ↑ "About Archdeaconry Court of London Wills Index 1750-1800", British Origins, accessed 23 December 2011.
- ↑ Payne Fisher and G. Blacker Morgan, Catalogue of the Tombs in the Churches of the City of London, A.D. 1666 (1668; reprint, London: Hasell, Watson, Viney, Ld., 1885). Digitised by Internet Archive.
- ↑ Percy C. Rushden, The Churchyard Inscriptions of the City of London (London: Phillimore and Co., Ltd., 1910). Digitised by Internet Archive.
- ↑ Nathan W. Murphy, "London Foundlings in Colonial America: Overseas Leads to Dead Ends: John Abchurch, William Abchurch, Isaac Jewry, and Henry Woolchurch of Virginia and Maryland," The American Genealogist, Vol. 83, No. 2 (Jul./Oct. 2008):131-140.
- ↑ James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitised by Google Books.
- ↑ Phillip B. Dunn, A Guide to Ancestral Research in London (Salt Lake City, Utah: Mountainland Printing and Marketing, c1987, 1992), 58-59. FHL Book 942.1/L1 D27d.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 4 October 2012, at 21:32.
- This page has been accessed 1,787 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More


