St Ann and St Agnes with St John ZacharyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png London Gotoarrow.png London Parishes Gotoarrow.png St Ann and St Agnes with St John Zachary

London St Ann and St Agnes with St John Zachary family history and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Ann and St Agnes with St John Zachary
St Ann and St Agnes
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred London, Within the Walls
County London
Poor Law Union City of London PLU
Registration District London City
Records begin
Parish registers: 1640; Separate registers exist for St John Zachary beginning 1693
Bishop's Transcripts: 1629-30; 1665-66; 1800; Separate records exist for St John Zachary beginning 1665-66; 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of London; Court of the Royal Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of Westminster
Location of Archive
London Record Office

Contents

Parish History

St Ann and St Agnes Timeline

  • 1137 - first mentioned
  • 1666 - church mostly destroyed by Great Fire of London[1]
  • 1680 - church rebuilt; united with St John Zachary Parish
  • 1940 - church destroyed in London Blitz
  • 1966 - rebuilding completed, church rededicated

St John Zachary Timeline

  • 1181 - first mentioned
  • 1666 - church destroyed by Great Fire of London; never rebuilt; united with St Ann and St Agnes Parish[1]

1831 description

'St Ann and St Agnes with St John Zachary, the church of, is on the north side of St Ann's Lane, at the northern extremity of the New Post office in St Martin's le Grand, and receives its name from being dedicated to St Ann, the mother of the Virgin Mary, and its addition from its situation as being formerly designated  St Ann in the Willows, from the number of trees of that species which grew in that neighbourhood. The foundation of this church is very ancient, and mention of it as so in 1322. It is a rectory, and the patronage was formerly in the dean and canons of the conventual church of St Martin's le Grand, until that corporation was annexed to the Abbey of Westminster, became patrons. Ont he suppression of the bishopric of Westminster by Queen Mary, she gave it to the Bishop of London and his successors, in whom it still remains, alternately, with the dean and chapeter of St Paul's [Cathedral]. The old church was destroyed by the fire of London, and the present church was erected on its site by Sir Christopher Wren in 1680, and the parish of St John Zachary united to it. The interior is 53 feet square, and 35 feet high, and is sub-divided into a smaller square in the centre by four handsome Corintian columns, which support an ornamented ceiling...'[2]

Also known as St Anne & Agnes, Aldersgate.


1848 description

St. Anne and St. Agnes, with St. John Zachary, are parishes of the City of London within the walls. The patron is the Bishop, and Dean and Chapter of St. Paul's, alternately. They are parishes within the poor-law union of the City of London.[3]

Resources

Church records

St Ann and St Agnes Parish

Online St Ann and St Agnes Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1640
1641
1640
Images
1629[4]-1812 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[5]
1813-1903 Ancestry[6] 1754-1920 Ancestry[7] 1813-1853 Ancestry[8]
Indexes 1640-1861 FamilySearch[9] 1629-1630[4] British Origins[10] 1813-1851 FindMyPast[11]
    1629-1630[4] FindMyPast[12] 1813-1853 BritishOrigins[13]
    1641-1837

FamilySearch[14]

   
    1800-1837 Ancestry[15]    

Webb published an index to burials for the years 1813 to 1853.[16]

St John Zachary Parish

Online St John Zachary Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1640
1665
1665
Images
1665-1666, 1693-1812 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[5]
1813-1895 Ancestry[6] 1755-1837 Ancestry[7] 1813-1849 Ancestry[8]
Indexes 1640-1875 FamilySearch[17] 1665-1837 FindMyPast[12] 1813-1849 FindMyPast[11]
1665-1666 BritishOrigins[18] 1750-1837

FamilySearch[19]

1813-1849 BritishOrigins[13]
    1800-1837 Ancestry[15]    

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census records

1541 Subsidy

Christ Church Newgate Street.png

1547 Subsidy

  • St Anne and St Agnes, Aldersgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/137); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St John Zachary, Aldersgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/137); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St John Zachary, Cripplegate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/142); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1582 Subsidy

1589 Subsidy

1625 Subsidy

  • St Anne and St Agnes, Aldersgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/510); copy: FHL Film 2228703.
  • St John Zachary, Aldersgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/510); copy: FHL Film 2228703.

1638 Inhabitants List

1645 Subsidy

  • St John Zachary, Cripplegate Ward Within, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/590 Part 5); copy: FHL Film 2228704.

1667 Hearth Tax

  • St Anne and St Agnes, Aldersgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/630); copy: FHL Film 2228702.
  • St John Zachary, Aldersgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/630); copy: FHL Film 2228702.
  • St John Zachary, Cripplegate Within Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/630); copy: FHL Film 2228702.

1692-1932 Land Taxes

1695 Inhabitants Lists

Add unique information about the censuses. Add links to online census records, and/or link to the Family History Library film/fiche numbers.

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.

Before 1858, St Ann and St Agnes with St John Zachary fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Archdeaconry of London. In practice, many residents left their wills in the Prerogative Court of Canterbury from the 1700s through 1858.[20] From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry.

Go to London Probate Records to find the names of the courts having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Cemetery

St Ann and St Agnes churchyard
St John Zachary churchyard

Transcripts of early St Ann and St Agnes with St John Zachary tombs found in the interior of the churches were published in Catalogue of the most Memorable Persons who had visible Tombs, plated Gravestones ... in the City of London (through) A.D. 1700, which is available online.[21]

A cemetery survey (1910), available online, covers monumental inscriptions in the St Anne and St Agnes churchyard.[22]

A cemetery survey (1910), available online, covers monumental inscriptions in the St John Zachary churchyard.[22]

Records of the Poor

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St John Zachary
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Anne and St Agnes

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 Phillip B. Dunn, A Guide to Ancestral Research in London (Salt Lake City, Utah: Mountainland Printing and Marketing, c1987, 1992), 58-59. FHL Book 942.1/L1 D27d.
  2. James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Envirions (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitized by Google Books.
  3. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 129-170. Adapted. Date accessed: 11 November 2013.
  4. 4.0 4.1 4.2 1629 and 1630 are bishops transcripts.
  5. 5.0 5.1 London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Anne and St Agnes in the City of London | St John Zachary in the City of London. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
  6. 6.0 6.1 London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Anne and St Agnes Aldersgate in the City of London | St John Zachary in the City of London. Partially indexed.
  7. 7.0 7.1 London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Anne and St Agnes Aldersgate in the City of London | St John Zachary in the City of London. Partially indexed.
  8. 8.0 8.1 London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Anne and St Agnes Aldersgate in the City of London | St John Zachary in the City of London. Partially indexed.
  9. Batch C022361, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes parish register xxx.
  10. "Webb's London Marriages - Marriages, periods and parishes/churches," British Origins, accessed 4 July 2011.
  11. 11.0 11.1 John Hanson, "City of London Burials," Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011.
  12. 12.0 12.1 "Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county," Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011; Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists Enterprises Ltd., 1994). FHL Book 942 K22L 1994
  13. 13.0 13.1 'Greater London Burials: Middlesex and City of London Burials: Parishes, Counts and References,' British Origins, accessed 4 April 2013.
  14. Batches M022361, M022461, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes parish register xxx.
  15. 15.0 15.1 Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
  16. Cliff Webb, Some London Burials, Post-1812 (1979). FHL Book 942.1/L1 K29w.
  17. Batch C022461, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011.
  18. 'About Middlesex Baptisms Index 1538-1751,' British Origins, accessed 16 March 2012.
  19. Batch M022461, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011.
  20. "About Archdeaconry Court of London Wills Index 1750-1800", British Origins, accessed 23 December 2011.
  21. Payne Fisher and G. Blacker Morgan, Catalogue of the Tombs in the Churches of the City of London, A.D. 1666 (1668; reprint, London: Hasell, Watson, Viney, Ld., 1885). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  22. 22.0 22.1 Percy C. Rushden, The Churchyard Inscriptions of the City of London (London: Phillimore and Co., Ltd., 1910). Digitised by Internet Archive.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 20:00.
  • This page has been accessed 5,027 times.