St Anne Soho, MiddlesexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

EnglandGotoarrow.png Middlesex Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Parishes

St Anne Soho, Middlesex family history and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


St Anne Soho, Middlesex
The tower and west end of St. Anne's Church, viewed from Wardour Street.
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Westminster
County Middlesex
Poor Law Union Strand PLU
Registration District Strand
Records begin
Parish registers: 1686
Bishop's Transcripts: 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not created until 1858
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Middlesex
Location of Archive
Middlesex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

St. Anne, Soho is aparish, in the city and liberty of Westminster.[1]

St Anne Soho, '...was formed out of the parish of St. Martin's-in-the-Fields, [Westminster] towards the end of the seventeenth century.'[2]

Additional information:

St Anne Soho, the church of, is situated on the south of Dean Street, Soho, near the lower end towards Gerard Street; and the church yard reaches from Dean Street on the east to Princes Street on the west. This church and parish owe their origin to some well-disposed persons in the parish...who raised subscriptions and contributions for the establishing of [same]... and was separated from the overgrown parish of St Martin in the Fields by an act of parliament, passed in the year 1661, the provisions of which were however not completed till 1678, and the present church was finished in 1686, on a spot formerly called Kemp's Fields. It is dedicated to St Anne, in compliments to the Princess Anne of Denmark, afterwards Queen Anne. [The parish lies within the ecclesiastical court of] the Bishop of London... The walls of this church are of brick, with rusticated angles of Portland stone.[3]


List of Churches for St Anne Soho, Westminster.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online St Anne Soho Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1686
1686
1686
Images 1686-1837 FindMyPast[4] 1686-1917 FindMyPast[4]
1800-1810 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[5]
1813-1866 Ancestry[6] 1800-1854 Ancestry[7] 1813-1849 Ancestry[8]
Indexes 1686-1875 FamilySearch[9] 1645-1754 FindMyPast[10] 1179-1853 FindMyPast[11]
1872-1925 Ancestry[12] 1686-1897 FamilySearch[13] 1686-1917 FindMyPast[4]
1686-1837 FindMyPast[4]
    1800-1837 Ancestry[14]    


To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438840.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Cemetery

St Anne Soho Churchyard database at Find A Grave. (15+ entries)

Poor Law Unions

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

St Anne Soho on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 26 December 2013.
  2. Thornbury, Walter 'Soho', Old and New London Volume 3, (London: Cassell Petter and Galpin, 1878), 173-184. Online | here]. (Adapted. Date accessed: 31 January 2014.
  3. Elmes, James, Google Books A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs, (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Digitised by Google Books]. Adapted. Date accessed: 31 January 2014.
  4. 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 'Westminster parish records coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 27 March 2012. Indexed collection.
  5. London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Anne, Soho in Westminster Borough. Partially indexed.
  6. London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Westminster St Anne Soho in Westminster Borough.
  7. London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Westminster St Anne Soho in Westminster Borough. Partially indexed.
  8. London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Soho St Anne in Westminster Borough. Partially indexed.
  9. Batches C062361, C062362, C062363, C062366, C062367, C062368, C062369, C150511, C150512, C150513, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (N-Z), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 17 March 2012.
  10. "Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county," Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011; Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists Enterprises Ltd., 1994). FHL Book 942 K22L 1994
  11. "Boyd's London Burials Index - places and counts," Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes adult male burials only.
  12. 'Vital Records Index - British Isles - Collection List,' British Isles Vital Records Index, 2nd ed., hosted at Genoot, accessed 14 April 2012.
  13. Batches M062361, M062362, M062364, M062365, M150515, M150516, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (N-Z), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 17 March 2012.
  14. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Anne's Church, Soho



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 September 2014, at 14:48.
  • This page has been accessed 2,777 times.