St Anthony in Roseland, CornwallEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  CornwallGotoarrow.png  Cornwall Parishes

Guide to St Anthony in Roseland, Cornwall family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Anthony in Roseland, Cornwall
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Powder
County Cornwall
Poor Law Union Truro PLU
Registration District Truro
Records begin
Parish registers: 1660; For more records see St Gerrans
Bishop's Transcripts: 1623
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Powder
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court A Peculiar of the Court of the Bishop of Exeter (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cornwall Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ANTHONY (St.) in Roseland, a parish, in the union of Truro, W. division of the hundred of Powder and of the county of Cornwall, 9¼ miles (S. W. by S.) from Tregoney. [1]


General overview


Resources

Civil Registration


Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.


Church records

St Anthony in Roseland, Cornwall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free[4]
CPRI = Cornwall Parish Register Index - free[5]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[6][7]
FREG = FreeREG - free[8]
FS PRs = England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010 (FamilySearch) - free[9]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[10]
St Anthony in Roseland, Cornwall Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1876-1906 (gaps)


BOYD
1623-1638, 1668-1700

COPC 1660-1913
1668-1913, 1825-1905
1678-1938
CPRI 1683-1811 (gaps)
1668-1730 (gaps)
1678-1808 (gaps)
FMP 1623-1874 1630-1837
FREG 1660-1812
1660-1905
1660-1813
FS PRs 1660-1812 1660-1905 1660-1813
IGI 1623-1636, 1660-1859 1600s, 1874-1895


Images of parish registers are available online in historic records (formerly Record Search) Images refer to Cornwall Record Office reference: P 6

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241269.

Probate records


Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

  • 1851 Jurisdiction Maps
  • Vision of Britain

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 62-66. Date accessed: 20 March 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 21 November 2013.
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 2 December 2013.
  5. 'Database Coverage,' Cornwall Parish Register Index, accessed 1 February 2014.
  6. 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  7. 'Cornwall Marriages', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  8. 'Cornwall Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 November 2013.
  9. 'England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010', FamilySearch, accessed 26 November 2013.
  10. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Cornwall, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 21 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 May 2014, at 22:10.
  • This page has been accessed 677 times.