St Augustine with St FaithEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
England
London
London Parishes
St Augustine with St Faith
London St Augustine with St Faith family history and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers (baptisms, christenings, marriages, and burials), civil registration (births, marriages, and deaths), census records, history, wills, cemetery, online transcriptions and indexes, an interactive map and website resources.
Contents |
Church records
St Augustine Parish
| | |||||||||||||||||||
| |
|
| |||||||||||||||||
| Earliest | |
|
| ||||||||||||||||
| Images | | ||||||||||||||||||
| 1813-1903 | Ancestry[2] | 1754-1917 | Ancestry[3] | 1813-1853 | Ancestry[4] | ||||||||||||||
| Indexes | 1559-1861 | FamilySearch[5] | 1559-1754 | FamilySearch[6] | 1559-1812 | FindMyPast[7] | |||||||||||||
| 1559-1836 | FindMyPast[8] | 1754-1853 | FindMyPast[9] | ||||||||||||||||
| 1776-1800 | BritishOrigins[10] | 1813-1853 | BritishOrigins[11] | ||||||||||||||||
| 1780-1837 | Ancestry[12] | ||||||||||||||||||
St Faith Parish
| | |||||||||||||||||||
| |
|
| |||||||||||||||||
| Earliest | |
|
| ||||||||||||||||
| Images | | ||||||||||||||||||
| 1813-1900 | Ancestry[2] | 1813-1837 | Ancestry[3] | 1813-1853 | Ancestry[4] | ||||||||||||||
| Indexes | 1645-1875 | FamilySearch[13] | 1780-1837 | Ancestry[12] | 1645-1812 | FindMyPast[7] | |||||||||||||
| 1813-1837 | FindMyPast[8] | 1804-1853 | FindMyPast[9] | ||||||||||||||||
| 1804-1853 | BritishOrigins[11] | ||||||||||||||||||
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Census records
1541 Subsidy
- 1541 London Subsidy Roll, Bread Street Ward - Parte of the Paryshe of Saynt Austen at Paulles Gate, courtesy: British History Online
- 1541 London Subsidy Roll, Farringdon Ward Within - The Half Parish of Seynt Augustyn, courtesy: British History Online
- 1541 London Subsidy Roll, Farringdon Ward Within - The Parte of Seynt Faythes Parishe, courtesy: British History Online
1547 Subsidy
- St Augustine, Watling Street, Bread Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/140); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
- St Augustine, Watling Street, Farringdon Within Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/151); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
- St Faith under St Paul's, Farringdon Within Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/151); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
1582 Subsidy
- 1582 London Subsidy Roll, Bread Street Ward - St Augustynes Parrishe, courtesy: British History Online
- 1582 London Subsidy Roll, Farringdon Ward Within - St Augustynes Parishe, courtesy: British History Online
- 1582 London Subsidy Roll, Castle Baynard Ward - Christes Church and St Faythes Parishes, courtesy: British History Online
- 1582 London Subsidy Roll, Farringdon Ward Within - St Faithes Parishe, courtesy: British History Online
1589 Subsidy
- London Subsidy Roll, c.1589 - St. Augustyns Parishe FamilySearch Books Online, courtesy: Family History Archives (see page 150)
1621 Subsidy
- St Augustine, Watling Street, Bread Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/483); copy: FHL Film 2228702.
1625 Subsidies
- St Faith under St Paul's, Castle Baynard Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/546); copy: FHL Film 2228703.
- St Faith under St Paul's, Farringdon Ward Within, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/555); copy: FHL Film 2228704.
1638 Inhabitants List
- Inhabitants of London in 1638 - St Augustine, courtesy: British History Online
- Inhabitants of London in 1638 - St Faith's, courtesy: British History Online
1645 Subsidy
- St Faith under St Pauls, Farringdon Ward Within, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/590 Part 14); copy: FHL Film 2228704.
1666 Hearth Tax
1692-1932 Land Taxes
1695 Inhabitants Lists
Add unique information about the censuses. Add links to online census records, and/or link to the Family History Library film/fiche numbers.
|
|
This section requires expansion with: any unique information, such as the census for X year was destroyed. |
Civil Registration
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Probate records
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.
Before 1858, St Faith fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of St Paul's Cathedral. St Augustine fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Archdeaconry of London. In practice, many St Augustine residents left their wills in the Prerogative Court of Canterbury from the 1700s through 1858.[14] From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry.
Go to London Probate Records to find the names of the courts having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Cemetery
Transcripts of early St Augustine with St Faith tombs found in the interior of the churches were published in Catalogue of the most Memorable Persons who had visible Tombs, plated Gravestones ... in the City of London (through) A.D. 1700, which is available online.[15]
Records of the Poor
Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.
Parish History
"St Augustine with St Faith, Old Change. This church is situated behind number 35, St. Paul's churchyard, and at the corner of Watling Street, in the ward of Farringdon Within. It is dedicated to St. August and or Austin the monk, the English apostle. The old church having suffered by the fire of London, was rebuilt by Sir Christopher Wren, in 1683. The interior is of the Ionic order, 51 feet long, 45 broad and 30 hi. Owing to the smallness of the parishes, that of St. Faith's is united to it, and they are a rectory, the advowson of which is in the dean in Chapter St. Paul's, in whose patronage it appears always to have been, for it is mentioned in their books as early as the year in 1181..."[16]
St Augustine Parish was part of Bread Street Ward. Only the church tower survives for St Augustine's today.[17] Also known as St Austin Parish, as well as St Augustine Watling Street Parish.
St Faith Parish is also known as St Faith under St Pauls. The parish church has been demolished.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Web Sites
(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).
- London Family History Centre Catalogue (St Augustine Parish records)
- London Family History Centre Catalogue (St Faith under St Paul Parish records)
- Sketch of St Austin Parish Church, courtesy: London Ancestor
- Society of Genealogists Library Catalogue (to narrow results, conduct a subject search for 'London St Augustine' or 'London St Faith under St Pauls')
References
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Augustine, Watling Street in the City of London | St Faith Under St Paul in the City of London. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
- ↑ 2.0 2.1 London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Augustine Watling Street in the City of London | St Faith Under St Paul's in the City of London. Partially indexed.
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Augustine Watling Street in the City of London | St Faith Under St Paul's in the City of London. Partially indexed.
- ↑ 4.0 4.1 London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Augustine Watling Street in the City of London | St Faith Under St Paul's in the City of London. Partially indexed.
- ↑ Batches C022412, P022411, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes parish register xxxx.
- ↑ Batch M022412, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes parish register xxxx.
- ↑ 7.0 7.1 'Boyd's London Burials Index - places and counts,' Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes adult male burials only.
- ↑ 8.0 8.1 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011; Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists Enterprises Ltd., 1994). FHL Book 942 K22L 1994
- ↑ 9.0 9.1 John Hanson, 'City of London Burials,' Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011.
- ↑ 'Webb's London Marriages - Marriages, periods and parishes/churches,' British Origins, accessed 4 July 2011.
- ↑ 11.0 11.1 'Greater London Burials: Middlesex and City of London Burials: Parishes, Counts and References,' British Origins, accessed 4 April 2013.
- ↑ 12.0 12.1 Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
- ↑ Batch C022352, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes parish register transcripts.
- ↑ "About Archdeaconry Court of London Wills Index 1750-1800", British Origins, accessed 23 December 2011.
- ↑ Payne Fisher and G. Blacker Morgan, Catalogue of the Tombs in the Churches of the City of London, A.D. 1666 (1668; reprint, London: Hasell, Watson, Viney, Ld., 1885). Digitised by Internet Archive.
- ↑ James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitised by Google Books.
- ↑ "St Augustine with St Faith (Tower only)", Friends of The City Churches, accessed 18 October 2011.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 14 November 2012, at 15:33.
- This page has been accessed 998 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

