St Bartholomew the GreatEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png London Gotoarrow.png London Parishes Gotoarrow.png St Bartholomew the Great

London St Bartholomew the Great family history and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Bartholomew the Great
St Bartholomew the Great
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred London, Within the Walls
County London
Poor Law Union West London PLU
Registration District West London
Records begin
Parish registers: 1616
Bishop's Transcripts: 1665-66; 1807
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of London
Location of Archive
London Record Office

Contents

Parish History

St Bartholomew the Great north door
'St Bartholomew the Great, the church of, is situated on the northeast side of the Smithfield, and at the north end of Duke Street. It gave a fire in 1666 and is a large plain church of Saxon and Norman architecture 132 feet long, 57 broad, and 47 hi, with the square are crowned with an angle turret. It was originally a parish church of joining at the priory of St. Bartholomew: but when the latter was pulled down as far as the choir, that portion was annexed by the Kings order for the enlargement of the old church. The intervention of this church, which had all publicly, was patiently prior counts of St. Bartholomew is now in private he is. The parish claims an exception from the necessity of being free of the city to carry on retail traits within its boundaries.'[1]

A history was published in 1894:

  • Moore, Norman. The Church of St. Bartholomew the Great, West Smithfield: Its Foundation, Present Condition, and Funeral Monuments. London: Adlard and Son, 1894. Digitised by Google Books.

1848 description

St. Bartholomew the Great is a parish, in the City of London Without the Walls. The patron is Trustees of the late W. Phillips, Esq.[2]

Resources

Church records

Online St Bartholomew the Great Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1616
1616
1616
Images
1616-1812 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[3]
1813-1906 Ancestry[4] 1754-1921 Ancestry[5] 1813-1853 Ancestry[6]
Indexes 1616-1875 FamilySearch[7] 1716-1885

FamilySearch[8]

1616-1780 FindMyPast[9]
    1807-1837 Ancestry[10] 1813-1853 FindMyPast[11]
        1822-1871 BritishOrigins[12]

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census records

1541 Subsidy

1582 Subsidy

1589 Subsidy

1622 Subsidy

  • St Bartholomew the Great, Farringdon Without Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/505); copy: FHL Film 2228702.

1625 Subsidy

St Bartholomew the Great.png
  • St Bartholomew the Great, Farringdon Without Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/515); copy: FHL Film 2228703.

1638 Inhabitants List

1666 Hearth Tax

1692-1932 Land Taxes

Add unique information about the censuses. Add links to online census records, and/or link to the Family History Library film/fiche numbers.

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.

Before 1858, St Bartholomew the Great fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Archdeaconry of London. In practice, many residents left their wills in the Prerogative Court of Canterbury from the 1700s through 1858.[13] From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry.

Go to London Probate Records to find the names of the courts having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Cemetery

St Bartholomew the Great churchyard site

Transcripts of early St Bartholomew the Great tombs found in the interior of the church were published in Catalogue of the most Memorable Persons who had visible Tombs, plated Gravestones ... in the City of London (through) A.D. 1700, which is available online.[14]

An 1897 survey of the monumental inscriptions is available online.[15]

A cemetery survey (1910), available online, covers monumental inscriptions in the St Bartholomew the Great churchyard.[16]

Records of the Poor

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web Sites

(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Bartholomew the Great

References

  1. James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitised by Google Books.
  2. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 129-170 Adapted. Date accessed: 12 November 2013.
  3. London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Bartholomew the Great in the City of London. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
  4. London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Bartholomew the Great in the City of London. Partially indexed.
  5. London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Bartholomew the Great in the City of London. Partially indexed.
  6. London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Bartholomew the Great in the City of London. Partially indexed.
  7. Batch C022732, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes parish register transcripts.
  8. Batch M022301, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes parish register xxx.
  9. 'Boyd's London Burials Index - places and counts,' Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes adult male burials only.
  10. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
  11. John Hanson, 'City of London Burials,' Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011.
  12. 'Greater London Burials: Middlesex and City of London Burials: Parishes, Counts and References,' British Origins, (£) accessed 4 April 2013.
  13. "About Archdeaconry Court of London Wills Index 1750-1800", British Origins, accessed 23 December 2011.
  14. Payne Fisher and G. Blacker Morgan, Catalogue of the Tombs in the Churches of the City of London, A.D. 1666 (1668; reprint, London: Hasell, Watson, Viney, Ld., 1885). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  15. Norman Moore, The Church of St. Bartholomew the Great, West Smithfield: Its Foundation, Present Condition, and Funeral Monuments (London: Adlard and Son, 1894).
  16. Percy C. Rushden, The Churchyard Inscriptions of the City of London (London: Phillimore and Co., Ltd., 1910). Digitised by Internet Archive.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 September 2014, at 21:50.
  • This page has been accessed 3,357 times.