St Bartholomew the LessEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png London Gotoarrow.png London Parishes Gotoarrow.png St Bartholomew the Less

London St Bartholomew the Less family history and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Bartholomew the Less
St Bartholomew the Less
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred London, Within the Walls
County London
Poor Law Union West London PLU
Registration District West London
Records begin
Parish registers: 1547
Bishop's Transcripts: 1629-31; 1639-40; 1807-1813
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of London
Location of Archive
London Record Office

Contents

Parish History

'St Bartholomew the Less, the church of, is situated within principal gate of Bartholomew's hospital on the southeast side of West Smithfield.  It was originally a chapel to the hospital and was founded in the year 11 to; but at the dissolution of the priory, it was converted into a parish church for the inhabitants of the precinct of the hospital. It is a vicarage, in the gift of the Lord Mayor, Aldermen, and common Council of the city, as governors of the hospital.  The church is an old fabric, but was tastefully and substantially repaired, and the interior rebuilt in 1823, by Phillip Hardwick, Esq., the survey are to the hospital.'[1]

1848 description

St. Bartholomew the Less is a parish, in the City of London Without the Walls.The patron is St. Bartholomew's Hospital. It is a part of the West London union.[2]

Resources

Church records

Online St Bartholomew the Less Parish Register Images and Indexes
  Baptisms Marriages Burials
Earliest 1548 1547 1548
Images 1629-1631, 1639-1640, 1807-1813 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[3]
1813 Ancestry[4] 1807-1813 Ancestry[5] 1813 Ancestry[6]
Indexes 1547-1837

FamilySearch[7]

1548-1812 FindMyPast[8]
    1807-1837 Ancestry[9] 1813-1848 FindMyPast[10]
        1813-1848 BritishOrigins[11]

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census records

1541 Subsidy

1547 Subsidy

  • St Bartholomew the Less, Farringdon Without Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/145); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1582 Subsidy

1589 Subsidy

1622 Subsidy

  • St Bartholomew the Less, Farringdon Without Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/505); copy: FHL Film 2228702.

1625 Subsidy

  • St Bartholomew the Less, Farringdon Without Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/515); copy: FHL Film 2228703.

1638 Inhabitants List

St Bartholomew the Great.png

1666 Hearth Tax

1692-1932 Land Taxes

Add unique information about the censuses. Add links to online census records, and/or link to the Family History Library film/fiche numbers.

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.

Before 1858, St Bartholomew the Less fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Archdeaconry of London. In practice, many residents left their wills in the Prerogative Court of Canterbury from the 1700s through 1858.[12] From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry.

Go to London Probate Records to find the names of the courts having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Cemetery

Transcripts of early St Bartholomew the Less tombs found in the interior of the church were published in Catalogue of the most Memorable Persons who had visible Tombs, plated Gravestones ... in the City of London (through) A.D. 1700, which is available online.[13]

A survey of monumental brasses, published 1891, is available online.[14]

Records of the Poor

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Bartholomew the Less

References

  1. James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitised by Google Books.
  2. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 129-170. Adapted. Date accessed: 12 November 2013.
  3. London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Bartholomew the Less in the City of London. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
  4. London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Bartholomew the Less in the City of London. Partially indexed.
  5. London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Bartholomew the Less in the City of London. Partially indexed.
  6. London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Bartholomew the Less in the City of London. Partially indexed.
  7. Batch M151081, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes parish register xxx.
  8. 'Boyd's London Burials Index - places and counts,' Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes adult male burials only.
  9. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
  10. John Hanson, 'City of London Burials,' Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011.
  11. 'Greater London Burials: Middlesex and City of London Burials: Parishes, Counts and References,' British Origins (£), accessed 4 April 2013.
  12. "About Archdeaconry Court of London Wills Index 1750-1800", British Origins, accessed 23 December 2011.
  13. Payne Fisher and G. Blacker Morgan, Catalogue of the Tombs in the Churches of the City of London, A.D. 1666 (1668; reprint, London: Hasell, Watson, Viney, Ld., 1885). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  14. Andrew Oliver, A List of Monumental Brasses in the City of London Churches (1891). Digitized by Internet Archive.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 20:01.
  • This page has been accessed 2,968 times.