St Benet Paul's Wharf with St Peter Paul's WharfEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png London Gotoarrow.png London Parishes Gotoarrow.png St Benet Paul's Wharf with St Peter Paul's Wharf

London St Benet Paul's Wharf with St Peter Paul's Wharf ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Benet Paul's Wharf with St Peter Paul's Wharf
Londonstbennetpaulswharf.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred London, Within the Walls
County London
Poor Law Union City of London PLU
Registration District London City
Records begin
Parish registers: 1619; Separate registers exist for St Peter Paul's Wharf beginning 1607 and for Herald's College beginning 1747-82
Bishop's Transcripts: 1800; Separate records exist for St Peter Paul's Wharf beginning 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division)
Location of Archive
London Record Office

Contents

Parish History

St Benet Paul's Wharf
'St Benet Paul's Wharf with St Peter Paul's Wharf, Upper Thames Street, the church of, is situated at the southwest corner of St. Bennet's Hill, Doctors Common; and upper Thames Street.  Its name is derived from being dedicated to the same Saint as the last [St Bennet Gracechurch], and from its vicinity to Paul's Wharf.  This church is a very ancient foundation, and appears from the registry of Diceto, dean of St. Paul's, under the year 1181.  Its distinguishing epithet has been frequently changed, having been called at various times St. Bennet Huda, and St. Bennet, Wood Wharf, as well as by its present appellation.


'The ancient church on this site having been destroyed by the fire of London in 1666, the present building was erected in its stead by Sir Christopher Wren, who finished it in 1683.  It is a plain brick structure with some architraves travelers to the windows, and festoons over them.  The tower is at the corner, and this surmounted by a small cupola and spire, the finial of which is 118 feet from the ground.  The interior is very square, being 54 feet long, and 50 broad, by 36 in height.  Since the fire the church is also parochial for the parish of St. Peter, Paul's Wharf, anciently denominated St. Peter's parva, from the smallness of its dimensions, and to which it is united, the church of which was also destroyed at the same time.  It is a rectory, and as the patronage of both parishes appear to have been always in the dean in chapter of St. Paul's, ...'[1]

'After obtaining Archbishop's licence from Doctors Commons couples often married at nearby churches such as St Benet Paul's Wharf, St Mary Magdalen Old Fish Street or St Gregory by St Pauls.'[2]


These parishes belonged to Queenhithe Ward.


1848 parish description:

St. Bene't, Paul's Wharf with St. Peter, are parishes of the city of London Within the Walls. The patron is the Dean and Chapter of St. Paul's. They are parishes with the poor-law union of the City of London.[3]

Resources

Church records

Historically, St Benet Paul's Wharf and St Peter Paul's Wharf were two separate parishes. Each maintained individual parish registers.

St Benet Paul's Wharf Parish

Online St Benet Paul's Wharf Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1619
1619
1619
Images
1619-1812 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[4]
1813-1906 Ancestry[5] 1755-1879 Ancestry[6] 1813-1853 Ancestry[7]
Indexes 1619-1861 FamilySearch[8] 1619-1668
1680-1879
FamilySearch[9] 1615-1855 findmypast[10]
1619-1837 TheGenealogist[11] 1619-1837 TheGenealogist[11] 1619-1837 TheGenealogist[11]
1619-1837 InternetArchive[12] 1619-1730 InternetArchive[12] 1619-1837 InternetArchive[12]
1619-1837 InternetArchive[12] 1619-1730 InternetArchive[12] 1619-1837 InternetArchive[12]
1619-1837 FreeReg[13] 1619-1837 FreeReg[13] 1837-1853 findmypast[14]
    1619-1837 findmypast[15] 1837-1853 BritishOrigins[16]
    1731-1837 InternetArchive[12]    
    1731-1837 InternetArchive[12]    
    1780-1837 Ancestry[17]    

St Peter Paul's Wharf Parish

Online St Peter Paul's Wharf Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1607
1607
1607
Images
1607-1812 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[4]
1813-1886 Ancestry[5] 1828, 1834 Ancestry[6] 1813-1849 Ancestry[7]
Indexes 1607-1837 FamilySearch[18] 1607-1834 FamilySearch[19] 1607-1837 findmypast[10]
1607-1837 TheGenealogist[11] 1607-1837 TheGenealogist[11] 1607-1837 TheGenealogist[11]
1607-1837 InternetArchive[12] 1607-1837 InternetArchive[12] 1607-1837 InternetArchive[12]
1607-1837 InternetArchive[12] 1607-1837 InternetArchive[12] 1607-1837 InternetArchive[12]
1607-1837 FreeReg[13] 1607-1834 FreeReg[13] 1838-1849 BritishOrigins[16]
    1607-1834 findmypast[15] 1838-1849 findmypast[14]
    1780-1837 Ancestry[17]    

Boundary

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census records

St Benet Pauls Wharf.png

1541 Subsidy

1547 Subsidy

  • St Peter, Paul's Wharf, Queenhithe Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/152); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1582 Subsidy

1625 Subsidy

  • St Benet, Paul's Wharf, Castle Baynard Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/546); copy: FHL Film 2228703.
  • St Peter, Paul's Wharf, Queenhithe Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/526); copy: FHL Film 2228703.

1638 Inhabitants List

1692-1932 Land Taxes

1695 Inhabitants Lists

1811 Census

The 1811 Census exists for both places.[20]

1821 Census

The 1821 Census of St Benet Paul's Wharf exists and is held at The British Library.[20]

1831 Census

The 1831 Census exists for both places. All residents are named in the St Benet Paul's Wharf returns.[20]

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Probate records

Will indexes for probate courts covering these parishes are available online.

Before 1858, St Benet Paul's Wharf with St Peter Paul's Wharf fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London. From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry.

Go to London Probate Records to find the names of the courts having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.

Cemetery

St Benet Paul's Wharf churchyard site
Transcripts of early St Benet Paul's Wharf with St Peter Paul's Wharf tombs found in the interior of the churches were published in Catalogue of the most Memorable Persons who had visible Tombs, plated Gravestones ... in the City of London (through) A.D. 1700, which is available online.[21]
A cemetery survey (1910), available online, covers monumental inscriptions in the St Benet Paul's Wharf churchyard.[22]

A cemetery survey (1910), available online, covers monumental inscriptions in the St Peter Paul's Wharf churchyard.[22]

Find A Grave has created a page on St Benet's Paul's Wharf Churchyard (1 entry).

Records of the Poor

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Benet Paul's Wharf
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Peter, Paul's Wharf

References

  1. James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitised by Google Books.
  2. Else Churchill, 'Stuck in London: resources at the SOG and elsewhere.' Presentation, Society of Genealogists, 2011. Slides available online.
  3. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England 1848, pp. 129-170. Adapted. Date accessed: 12 November 2013.
  4. 4.0 4.1 London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Benet Paul's Wharf in the City of London | St Peter, Paul's Wharf in the City of London. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
  5. 5.0 5.1 London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Benet Paul's Wharf in the City of London | St Peter Paul's Wharf in the City of London. Partially indexed.
  6. 6.0 6.1 London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Benet Paul's Wharf in the City of London | St Peter Paul's Wharf in the City of London. Partially indexed.
  7. 7.0 7.1 London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Benet Paul's Wharf in the City of London | St Peter Paul's Wharf in the City of London. Partially indexed.
  8. Batches P001361-P001362, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011.
  9. Batch M001361, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011.
  10. 10.0 10.1 'Boyd's London Burials Index - places and counts,' Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes adult male burials only.
  11. 11.0 11.1 11.2 11.3 11.4 11.5 'London Parish Register Transcripts,' The Genealogist, accessed 9 January 2012.
  12. 12.00 12.01 12.02 12.03 12.04 12.05 12.06 12.07 12.08 12.09 12.10 12.11 12.12 12.13 Willoughby A. Littledale, The Registers of St. Benet and St. Peter Paul's Wharf, London (1909).
  13. 13.0 13.1 13.2 13.3 Middlesex and London Coverage, FreeReg, accessed 6 November 2012.
  14. 14.0 14.1 John Hanson, 'City of London Burials,' Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011.
  15. 15.0 15.1 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011; Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists Enterprises Ltd., 1994). FHL Book 942 K22L 1994
  16. 16.0 16.1 'Greater London Burials: Middlesex and City of London Burials: Parishes, Counts and References,' British Origins (£), accessed 4 April 2013.
  17. 17.0 17.1 Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
  18. Batches P001371, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes microfilmed parish register xxx.
  19. Batch M001371, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes parish register xxx.
  20. 20.0 20.1 20.2 Colin R. Chapman, Pre-1841 Censuses and Population Listings in the British Isles, 5th ed. (Dursley, U.K.: Lochin Publising, 2002), 68, 71, 73.
  21. Payne Fisher and G. Blacker Morgan, Catalogue of the Tombs in the Churches of the City of London, A.D. 1666 (1668; reprint, London: Hasell, Watson, Viney, Ld., 1885). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  22. 22.0 22.1 Percy C. Rushden, The Churchyard Inscriptions of the City of London (London: Phillimore and Co., Ltd., 1910). Digitised by Internet Archive.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:26.
  • This page has been accessed 6,347 times.