St Botolph without BishopsgateEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png London Gotoarrow.png London Parishes Gotoarrow.png St Botolph without Bishopsgate

London St Botolph without Bishopsgate family history and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Botolph without Bishopsgate
Londonstbotolphbishopgate.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred London, Without the Walls
County London
Poor Law Union East London PLU
Registration District East London
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1639-40; 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division)
Location of Archive
London Record Office

Contents

Parish History

St Botolph without Bishopsgate
"St Botolph without Bishopsgate, the church of, is situated on the Westside Bishopsgate Street Without and nearly opposite the western end of Houndsditch.  The ancient Church of this name was of very ancient foundation, and received its name from the before mentioned Anglo-Saxon Saint, who died about the year 680.  The first authentic account of this church is in 1323, when John de Northhampton resigned rectorship which then was and still is in the gift of the Bishop of London.  The old church which stood upon the bank of the ancient city ditch escaped the fire of London but became so ruinous that it was taken down in 1726, and rebuilt from the designs of the elder George Dance. Was finished in 1729, and is a spacious, substantial, and well-built structure.  The spire is peculiarly handsome, and with that of Shoreditch, by the same architect, among the best since the days of Wren.  The east end, which is next the street, is decorated with Doric pilasters, and a large window, with entrance doors at the sides, which excited much criticism at the time of its completion.  It arises from the circumstances of necessity of placing the altar always at the east end, which, in this instance deprived the principal front of the advantage of a grand central door.  The living is a rectory in the gift of the King and the Bishop of London..."[1]

1848 parish description
St. Botolph without Bishopsgate is a parish as well as All Saints Chapel ,  are in the City of London Without the Walls. The patron is the Bishop.[2]

Resources

Church records


Online St Botolph without Bishopsgate Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1558
1558
1558
Images
1558-1812 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[3]
1813-1899 Ancestry[4] 1754-1921 Ancestry[5] 1813-1867 Ancestry[6]
Indexes 1558-1690
1850-1862
FamilySearch[7] 1558-1846

FamilySearch[8]

1628-1690 GoogleBooks[9]
1628-1690 GoogleBooks[9] 1558-1800 FindMyPast[10] 1628-1752 TheGenealogist[11]
1628-1690 TheGenealogist[11] 1629-1640
1813-1835
BritishOrigins[12] 1713-1761 FindMyPast[13]
    1800-1837 Ancestry[14] 1813-1855 FindMyPast[15]
  • Hallen, A.W. Cornelius. The Registers of St. Botolph, Bishopsgate, London. 3 vols. 1889. Vol. I (marriages 1558-1753, baptisms 1558-1628, burials 1558-1628); Vol. II (burials 1628-1725): digital versions at Google Books; Internet Archive; Vol. III (baptisms 1628-1690): digital versions at Google Books; Internet Archive.
  • Hallen, A.W. Cornelius. An Account of the Old Registers of St. Botolph Bishopsgate. London, 1886. Digital version at Internet Archive.

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.


Census records

1541 Subsidy

1547 Subsidy

  • St Botolph, Bishopsgate, Bishopsgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/139); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
St Botolph without Bishopsgate.png

1582 Subsidy

1625 Subsidy

  • St Botolph, Bishopsgate, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/511); copy: FHL Film 2228703.

1638 Inhabitants List

1692-1932 Land Taxes

1811 Census

The 1811 Census exists and is held at The British Library.[16]

Probate records

Will indexes for probate courts covering St Botolph Bishopsgate Parish are available online.

Before 1858, St Botolph without Bishopsgate fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London. From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry.

Go to London Probate Records to find the names of the courts having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records.

Over the years, St Botolph without Bishopsgate has belonged to several civil registration districts:

Period
District
1837-1838
Bishopsgate Registration District
1838-1870
East London Registration District
1870-1974
London City Registration District[17]

There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Cemetery

St Botolph Bishopsgate churchyard

Transcripts of early St Botolph without Bishopsgate tombs found in the interior of the church were published in Catalogue of the most Memorable Persons who had visible Tombs, plated Gravestones ... in the City of London (through) A.D. 1700, which is available online.[18]

A cemetery survey (1910), available online, covers monumental inscriptions in the St Botolph Bishopsgate churchyard.[19]

Records of the Poor

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Botolph without Bishopsgate

References

  1. James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitised by Google Books.
  2. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Adapted. Date accessed: 20 December 2013.
  3. London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Botolph, Bishopsgate in the City of London. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
  4. London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Botolph without Bishopsgate in the City of London. Partially indexed.
  5. London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Botolph without Bishopsgate in the City of London. Partially indexed.
  6. London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Botolph without Bishopsgate in the City of London. Partially indexed.
  7. Batches P001611 (1558-1690, inactive 11/2/2012), C001612, C001613, C001614, C001615, C001616, C001617, C001618, C001619, C037171, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011.
  8. Batches M001611-M001612, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011.
  9. 9.0 9.1 A.W. Cornelius Hallen, The Registers of St. Botolph, Bishopsgate, London (1889). Vol. I (marriages 1558-1753, baptisms 1558-1628, burials 1558-1628); Vol. II (burials 1628-1725): digital versions at Google Books; Internet Archive; Vol. III (baptisms 1628-1690): digital versions at Google Books; Internet Archive.
  10. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011; Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists Enterprises Ltd., 1994). FHL Book 942 K22L 1994
  11. 11.0 11.1 'London Parish Record Transcripts,' The Genealogist, accessed 12 December 2011.
  12. 'Webb's London Marriages - Marriages, periods and parishes/churches,' British Origins, accessed 4 July 2011.
  13. 'Boyd's London Burials Index - places and counts,' Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes adult male burials only.
  14. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
  15. John Hanson, 'City of London Burials,' Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011.
  16. Colin R. Chapman, Pre-1841 Censuses and Population Listings in the British Isles, 5th ed. (Dursley, U.K.: Lochin Publising, 2002), 68.
  17. "Registration Districts in England and Wales (1837-1974)," GENUKI, http://www.ukbmd.org.uk/genuki/reg/districts/index.html, accessed 13 January 2012.
  18. Payne Fisher and G. Blacker Morgan, Catalogue of the Tombs in the Churches of the City of London, A.D. 1666 (1668; reprint, London: Hasell, Watson, Viney, Ld., 1885). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  19. Percy C. Rushden, The Churchyard Inscriptions of the City of London (London: Phillimore and Co., Ltd., 1910). Digitised by Internet Archive.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 24 June 2014, at 22:40.
  • This page has been accessed 4,230 times.