St Breward, CornwallEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  CornwallGotoarrow.png  Cornwall Parishes

Guide to St Breward, Cornwall family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Breward, Cornwall
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Trigg
County Cornwall
Poor Law Union Camelford PLU
Registration District Camelford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1608
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Trigg Minor
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall
Location of Archive
Cornwall Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BREWARD, ST., or Simonward (St. Bruard), a parish, in the union of Camelford, hundred of Trigg, E. division of Cornwall, 6¾ miles (N. by E.) from Bodmin. [1]


St Breward (Cornish: Sen Branwalader) is an Ancient Parish in the county of Cornwall.Other places in the parish include: Lower Lanke. Until the 19th century it was commonly known by the corrupt form of the name: 'Simonward'.
The church was dedicated to St Brueredus in 1278 and is the highest church in Cornwall.. It is a substantial building of the Norman period to which a south aisle and western tower were added in the 15th century (these additions are of granite). It was restored in the 19th century, and only parts of the Norman north arcade remain. There were in the mediaeval period three chapels in the parish: at Hamatethy the manorial chapel of the Peverells, St Michael's Chapel, Roughtor, and another at Chaple. Thomas Taylor the historian was vicar here and edited the parish registers.

The village of St Breward boasts the highest Church in Cornwall at about 700ft above sea-level, and is well known for granite and china clay quarries. Within the parish lie two of Cornwall's best known landmarks: Roughtor and Brown Willy. St Breward is also famous for its granite. It had three quarries: Tordown, Hantergantic and De Lank. Moorland Granite has been used for centuries to build local houses and churches, and stone from the De Lank Quarry was used for important and famous landmarks, such as the Eddystone Lighthouse (1882), the Beachy Head Lighthouse (1900) and London's Tower Bridge (1890).

Resources

Civil Registration

Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is Free BMD.

Church records

St Breward, Cornwall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free[3]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[4][5]
FREG = FreeREG - free[6]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[7]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[8]
St Breward, Cornwall Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1558-1812

COPC 1558-1911
1558-1913
1558-1938
FMP 1567-1875 1564-1836
FREG
1558-1812

IGI 1558-1875 1851-1766, 1808-1812
PALL
1813-1837

Images of parish registers are available online at FamilySearch Images refer to Cornwall Record Office reference: P 20

The baptismal register book for Baptisms 1813-1866 vol P 20/1/3 contains an anomaly. The recorded baptisms end in December 1832 on page 46 of the register at entry number 362. The numbers 363-368 are then left blank. The register resumes baptismal entries in 1850 on page 47 at number 369.

It is not clear whether records for the gap were kept and where. 

Thomas Taylor was vicar at St Breward. During his time at St Breward he found the parish registers to be complete from 1599 to 1812: his work editing the registers brought him into contact with W. P. Phillimore, a publisher of books relating to Ecclesiastical Law, who in 1905 appointed him editor of the Parish Marriage Registers throughout the diocese: by 1916 he had published twenty-five volumes. It is for this work, much used by genealogists and family historians, that he is probably most widely known.

He contributed to the Encyclopaedia Britannica and the Victoria County History of Cornwall, of which he was local editor. His standard works Celtic Christianity and Life of St Samson of Dol are still sources of reference.

Cornwall Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks page for the parish. 

The history registers and much more have been contributed by the Online Parish clerk for St Breward. Crissy Parker's website is also a valuable resource.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241273.

Cornwall Online Census Project

Poor Law Unions

Camelford Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

  • 1851 Jurisdiction Maps
  • Vision of Britain

Websites

St Breward in GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 357-362. Date accessed: 20 March 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 2 December 2013.
  4. 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  5. 'Cornwall Marriages', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  6. 'Cornwall Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 November 2013.
  7. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Cornwall, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 21 November 2013.
  8. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

http://www.achurchnearyou.com/st-breward-st-breward/ for information about the church and parish

http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=50631&strquery=Breward#s7 British History Online

http://www.britishlistedbuildings.co.uk/en-67459-church-of-st-brueredus-st-breward British Listed Building


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 September 2014, at 15:20.
  • This page has been accessed 1,501 times.