St Bride Fleet StreetEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png London Gotoarrow.png London Parishes Gotoarrow.png St Bride Fleet Street

London St Bride Fleet Street ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Bride Fleet Street
Londonstbridefleetstreet.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred London, Without the Walls
County London
Poor Law Union West London PLU
Registration District West London
Records begin
Parish registers: 1587; Separate registers exist for Fleet Prison beginning 1667-1754
Bishop's Transcripts: 1801
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division)
Location of Archive
London Record Office

Contents

Parish History

St Bride Fleet Street
"St Bride's [sometimes called St Bridget's], Fleet Street, the church of, situated to the southward of the above described Avenue, and is bounded by the Avenue on the north; St Bride's Passage, Salisbury Square, on the west; Bride Lane on the east, and the backs of the houses of Bell's Buildings on the south.  This church is a fabric of great strength and beauty, and forms one of the most striking features of the metropolis.  Its interior is spacious, commodious and elegant, being 111 feet in length, 57 in breadth, and 41 in height; is remarkably well pewed, with moulded wainscot, and is composed of a lofty nave, covered with a vaulted ceiling, and aisles separated by coupled columns of the Doric order.  The old church was so much damaged by the fire 1666, that it was taken down and entirely rebuilt by Sir Christopher Wren, who completed it for divine services in 1680, and further embellished it in 1699.  The tower and steeple were begun in October 1701, and completed in 1703.  The church has since that time undergone several expensive repairs, and has been recently restored and beautified in a manner deserving its great reputation, and creditable to the munificence of the parishioners.  This church appears to be of considerable antiquity, as there are records of three rectors previous to 1362.  It was a very small building, till about 1480, when it was greatly enlarged by William Venor, who erected a spacious fabric at its west end, which consisted of a native and to aisles, to which the ancient church served as a choir.  In 1610, the Earl of Dorset gave a large piece of ground on the west side of Fleet Ditch, for a new burial ground, and it was consecrated the second of August of that year by Dr. George Abbott, Bishop of London.  The cemetery, which is behind the Westside of Farringdon Street, is still used for that purpose.  It was originally a rectory in the patronage of the Abbott and and convent of Westminster and is supposed to have been converted into a vicarage about the year 1529.  When Henry VIII dissolved the convent of Westminster and formed into a bishoprick this church was conferred upon the new Bishop, and restored to the Abbott by his daughter Mary, but on the restoration of the deanery plate Edward IV, the patronage was granted to the Dean and Chapter... "[1]


St Bride Fleet Street belonged to Farringdon Ward Without and Castle Baynard Ward.


Also known as St Bridget Parish.


1848 description

St. Bride is a parish, in the City of London Without the Walls. The patron is the Dean and Chapter of Westminster, the appropriators. It is a part of the West London Union.[2]

Resources

Church records

Online St Bride Fleet Street Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1574
1574
1574
Images
1574-1815 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[3]
1813-1906 Ancestry[4] 1754-1921 Ancestry[5] 1813-1887 Ancestry[6]
Indexes 1587-1736
1813-1859
FamilySearch[7] 1587-1735
1775-1880

FamilySearch[8]

1592-1989 findmypast[9]
1735-1775 findmypast[10] 1813-1854 findmypast[11]
    1735-1837 BritishOrigins[12]
    1801-1837 Ancestry[13]    

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.


Census records

1541 Subsidy

1547 Subsidy

  • St Bride, Fleet Street, Farringdon Without Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/145); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1582 Subsidy

1589 Subsidy

St Bride.png

FamilySearch Books OnlineFamily History Archives (see page 160)

1622 Subsidy

  • St Bride, Fleet Street, Farringdon Without Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/505); copy: FHL Film 2228702.

1625 Subsidy

  • St Bride, Fleet Street, Farringdon Without Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/537); copy: FHL Film 2228703.

1638 Inhabitants List

1645 Subsidy

  • St Bride, Fleet Street, Farringdon Ward Without, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/599); copy: FHL Film 2228704.

1666 Hearth Tax

1692-1932 Land Taxes

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Probate records

Will indexes for probate courts covering St Bride Fleet Street Parish are available online.

Before 1858, St Bride Fleet Street fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London. From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry.

Go to London Probate Records to find the names of the courts having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.

Cemetery

St Bride churchyard
Transcripts of early St Bride Fleet Street tombs found in the interior of the church were published in Catalogue of the most Memorable Persons who had visible Tombs, plated Gravestones ... in the City of London (through) A.D. 1700, which is available online.[14]

A cemetery survey (1910), available online, covers monumental inscriptions in the St Bride churchyard.[15]

Records of the Poor

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Bride's Church

References

  1. James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitised by Google Books.
  2. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England,(1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 19 November 201
  3. London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Bride's, Fleet Street in the City of London. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
  4. London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Bride Fleet Street in the City of London. Partially indexed.
  5. London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Bride Fleet Street in the City of London. Partially indexed.
  6. London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Bride Fleet Street in the City of London. Partially indexed.
  7. Batches C022421, C022422, C022423, C022424, C022425, C022426, C022427, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011.
  8. Batches M022421, M022422, M022423, M022424, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011.
  9. 'Boyd's London Burials Index - places and counts,' Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes adult male burials only.
  10. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011; Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists Enterprises Ltd., 1994). FHL Book 942 K22L 1994
  11. John Hanson, 'City of London Burials,' Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011.
  12. 'Webb's London Marriages - Marriages, periods and parishes/churches,' British Origins, accessed 4 July 2011.
  13. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
  14. Payne Fisher and G. Blacker Morgan, Catalogue of the Tombs in the Churches of the City of London, A.D. 1666 (1668; reprint, London: Hasell, Watson, Viney, Ld., 1885). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  15. Percy C. Rushden, The Churchyard Inscriptions of the City of London (London: Phillimore and Co., Ltd., 1910). Digitised by Internet Archive.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:31.
  • This page has been accessed 5,190 times.