St Clement Eastcheap with St Martin OrgarEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
England
London
London Parishes
St Clement Eastcheap with St Martin Orgar
London St Clement Eastcheap with St Martin Orgar family history and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers (baptisms, christenings, marriages, and burials), civil registration (births, marriages, and deaths), census records, history, wills, cemetery, online transcriptions and indexes, an interactive map and website resources.
Contents |
Church records
St Clement Eastcheap and St Martin Orgar were originally two individual parishes.
St Clement Eastcheap Parish
| | |||||||||||||||||||
| |
|
| |||||||||||||||||
| Earliest | |
|
| ||||||||||||||||
| Images | | ||||||||||||||||||
| 1813-1904 | Ancestry[2] | 1754-1920 | Ancestry[3] | 1813-1853 | Ancestry[4] | ||||||||||||||
| Indexes | 1539-1877 | FamilySearch[5] | 1539-1839 | FamilySearch[6] | 1754-1853 | FindMyPast[7] | |||||||||||||
| 1539-1839 | FindMyPast[8] | 1813-1853 | BritishOrigins[9] | ||||||||||||||||
| 1780-1837 | Ancestry[10] | ||||||||||||||||||
St Martin Orgar Parish
| | |||||||||||||||||||
| |
|
| |||||||||||||||||
| Earliest | |
|
| ||||||||||||||||
| Images | | ||||||||||||||||||
| 1813-1904 | Ancestry[2] | 1754-1920 | Ancestry[3] | 1813-1853 | Ancestry[4] | ||||||||||||||
| Indexes | 1624-1877 | FamilySearch[11] | 1624-1839 | FamilySearch[12] | 1754-1853 | FindMyPast[7] | |||||||||||||
| 1651-1799 | FindMyPast[8] | 1813-1853 | BritishOrigins[9] | ||||||||||||||||
| 1780-1837 | Ancestry[10] | ||||||||||||||||||
Clarke published transcripts of the parish registers:[13]
- St Clement Eastcheap christenings (1539-1839), marriages (1539-1839), and burials (1539-1853)
- St Martin Orgar christenings (1624-1812), marriages (1625-1738), and burials (1624-1812)[14]
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, nonconformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection.
Census records
1541 Subsidy
- 1541 London Subsidy Roll, Bridge Ward - Seynt Marten Parryshe, courtesy: British History Online
- 1541 London Subsidy Roll, Candlewick Ward - Seynt Martyns Parishe, courtesy: British History Online
- 1541 London Subsidy Roll, Candlewick Ward - Seynt Clementes Parishe, courtesy: British History Online
1547 Subsidy
- St Clement, Eastcheap, Langbourn Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/143); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
- St Clement, Eastcheap, Candlewick Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/150); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
- St Martin Orgar, Bridge Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/151); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
- St Martin Orgar, Candlewick Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/150); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
1582 Subsidy
- 1582 London Subsidy Roll, Bridge Ward - St Martyns Parishe, courtesy: British History Online
- 1582 London Subsidy Roll, Candlewick Ward - St Martyn Organ Paroche, courtesy: British History Online
- 1582 London Subsidy Roll, Candlewick Ward - St Clementes, St Nycholas & St Mychaelles Paroches, courtesy: British History Online
- 1582 London Subsidy Roll, Langbourn Ward - Saynt Edmondes and St Clementes Parishes, courtesy: British History Online
1621 Subsidy
- St Clement, Eastcheap, Candlewick Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/502); copy: FHL Film 2228702.
- St Clement, Eastcheap, Langbourn Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/490); copy: FHL Film 2228702.
- St Martin Orgar, Bridge Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/484); copy: FHL Film 2228702.
- St Martin Orgar, Candlewick Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/502); copy: FHL Film 2228702.
1625 Subsidy
- St Clement, Eastcheap, Candlewick Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/512); copy: FHL Film 2228703.
- St Martin Orgar, Candlewick Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/512); copy: FHL Film 2228703.
1628 Subsidy
- St Martin Orgar, Bridge Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/562); copy: FHL Film 2228704.
1638 Inhabitants List
- Inhabitants of London in 1638 - St Clement's, East Cheap, courtesy: British History Online
- Inhabitants of London in 1638 - St Martin Orgar, courtesy: British History Online
1646 Subsidy
- St Clement, Eastcheap, Candlewick Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/579); copy: FHL Film 2228705.
1666 Hearth Tax
- Hearth Tax: City of London 1666 - St Clement Eastcheap, courtesy: British History Online
- Hearth Tax: City of London 1666 - St Martin le Grand, courtesy: British History Online (Is this the correct St Martin?)
1692-1932 Land Taxes
1695 Inhabitants Lists
1712-1885 List of Inhabitants
- St Clement Eastcheap. Microfilmed FHL Film 569951 Item 3.
1831 Census
The 1831 Census of St Clement Eastcheap exists.[15]
Contributor: Include an overview if there is any unique information, such as the census for X year was destroyed. Add a link to online sites for indexes and/or images. Also add a link to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection.
Civil Registration
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Probate records
Will indexes for probate courts covering these parishes are available online.
Before 1858, St Clement Eastcheap with St Martin Orgar fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London. From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry.
Go to London Probate Records to find the names of the courts having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.
Cemetery
Transcripts of early St Clement Eastcheap with St Martin Orgar tombs found in the interior of the churches were published in Catalogue of the most Memorable Persons who had visible Tombs, plated Gravestones ... in the City of London (through) A.D. 1700, which is available online.[16]
A cemetery survey (1910), available online, covers monumental inscriptions in the St Clement Eastcheap churchyard.[17]
A cemetery survey (1910), available online, covers monumental inscriptions in the St Martin Orgars churchyard.[17]
Records of the Poor
During the seventeenth century, officials gave some foundlings discovered in St Clement Eastcheap Parish the unique surname Eastcheap.[18]
Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.
Parish History
"St Clement Eastcheap with St Martin Orgar, the church of, is situated on the east side of St Clement's Lane, which forms the western extremity of Eastcheap. This church is dedicated to the same saint and pope as the last, and derives its addition from its situation. The date of its foundation is at present unknown, but William de Southlee appears to have been its rector prior to 1309, and before the suppression of religious houses, it was in the gift of the aboot and brethren of the convent of St Peter, Westminster. Queen Mary, however, in the first year of her reign, gave the advowson of this church to the Bishop of London and his successor in that see for ever, with whom it...remains, as hereafter mentioned.
"The ancient church burned down in 1666, and the present erected by Sir Christopher Wren in 1686. It is a neat plain and appropriate but unpretending building, of the Composite order, with a square tower and a balustrade. The interior is well arranged and neatly pewed, is sixty-four feet in length, forty feet in breadth, and thirty-four in height. It is a rectory, and the living was considerably augmented by having the neighbouring parish of St Martin Orgar united to it by an act of Parliament, after the fire of London.
"The Parish church of St Martin Orgar stood on the east side of St Martin's Lane, Cannon Street, and was so designated from its dedication to St Martin, and from one Ordgarus, who is generally supposed to have been the founder. This church was also a rectory, the patronage of which was granted about the 1181 by Ordgarus, with the consent of his wife and sons, to the Dean and Chapter of St Paul's, in whom, except as hereafter mentioned, it still remains. Since the union of this parish with that of St Clements, the living is presented alternately by the Bishop fo london and the Dean and Chapter of St Paul's."[19]
After the Great Fire of London (1666), St Clement Eastcheap Parish united with St Martin Orgar Parish.[20]
St Clement Eastcheap belonged to Candlewick Ward.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Web sites
(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).
- London Family History Centre Catalogue (St. Clement Eastcheap records)
- London Family History Centre Catalogue (St. Martin Orgar records)
- Sketch of St. Clement Parish Church, courtesy: London Ancestor
- Sketch of St. Margin Orgar Parish Church, courtesy: London Ancestor
- Society of Genealogists Library Catalogue (to narrow results, conduct a subject search for 'London St Clement' or 'St Martin Orgar')
References
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
- ↑ 2.0 2.1 London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
- ↑ 4.0 4.1 London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
- ↑ Batches P001391, C001392, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes parish register transcripts.
- ↑ Batch M001391, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes parish register transcripts.
- ↑ 7.0 7.1 John Hanson, 'City of London Burials,' Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011.
- ↑ 8.0 8.1 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011; Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists Enterprises Ltd., 1994). FHL Book 942 K22L 1994
- ↑ 9.0 9.1 'Greater London Burials: Middlesex and City of London Burials: Parishes, Counts and References,' British Origins (£), accessed 4 April 2013.
- ↑ 10.0 10.1 Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
- ↑ Batches P001391, C001392, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes parish register xxx.
- ↑ Batch M001391, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes parish register transcripts.
- ↑ A.W. Hughes Clarke, ed. The Register of St. Clement, Eastcheap, and St. Martin Orgar (Publications of the Harleian Society Parish Register Series, 1937-1938).
- ↑ Stuart A. Raymond, London and Middlesex: A Genealogical Bibliography (Birmingham, UK: Federation of Family History Societies, c1997), Vol. 2:27.
- ↑ Colin R. Chapman, Pre-1841 Censuses and Population Listings in the British Isles, 5th ed. (Dursley, U.K.: Lochin Publising, 2002), 73.
- ↑ Payne Fisher and G. Blacker Morgan, Catalogue of the Tombs in the Churches of the City of London, A.D. 1666 (1668; reprint, London: Hasell, Watson, Viney, Ld., 1885). Digitised by Internet Archive.
- ↑ 17.0 17.1 Percy C. Rushden, The Churchyard Inscriptions of the City of London (London: Phillimore and Co., Ltd., 1910). Digitised by Internet Archive.
- ↑ Nathan W. Murphy, 'London Foundlings in Colonial America: Overseas Leads to Dead Ends: John Abchurch, William Abchurch, Isaac Jewry, and Henry Woolchurch of Virginia and Maryland,' The American Genealogist, Vol. 83, No. 2 (Jul./Oct. 2008):131-140.
- ↑ James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitised by Google Books.
- ↑ Phillip B. Dunn, A Guide to Ancestral Research in London (Salt Lake City, Utah: Mountainland Printing and Marketing, c1987, 1992), 58-59. FHL Book 942.1/L1 D27d.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 4 October 2012, at 21:45.
- This page has been accessed 1,319 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More






