St Day, CornwallEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  CornwallGotoarrow.png  Cornwall Parishes

Guide to St Day, Cornwall family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Day, Cornwall
St Day Cornwall.jpg
St Day Cornwall
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Kerrier
County Cornwall
Poor Law Union Redruth PLU
Registration District Redruth
Records begin
Parish registers: 1833
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Kerrier
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall
Location of Archive
Cornwall Record Office

Contents

Parish History

DAY, ST., a chapelry, in the parish of Gwennap, union of Redruth, hundred of Kerrier, county of Cornwall, 7 miles (W.) from Truro. The Baptists, Bryanites, and Wesleyans have places of worship. [1]


St Day (Cornish: Sen Day) is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Cornwall, created in 1829 from chapelry in  Gwennap, CornwallAncient Parish.

The parish was originally a chapelry of Gwennap but became independent in 1835. As early as the 13th century there was a chapel of the Holy Trinity at St Day and even earlier there had been one of St Day which was a great centre of pilgrimage. The saint commemorated here is probably the Breton saint Dei.

Resources

Civil Registration

Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is Free BMD.

Church records

St Day, Cornwall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free[2]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[3][4]
FREG = FreeREG - free[5]
FS PRs = England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010 (FamilySearch) - free[6]
St Day, Cornwall Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
COPC 1833-1895
1837-1901
1833-1901
FMP 1833-1838 1835-1837
FREG 1833-1901

1883-1901, 1919-1953
FS PRs 1833-1901 1835-1901 1833-1901, 1919-1984

Images of parish registers are available online at FamilySearch Images refer to Cornwall Record Office reference: P 47

Cornwall Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks page for the parish.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241260.

Cornwall Online Census Project

Poor Law Unions

Redruth Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

Websites

St Day in GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 15-23. Date accessed: 23 March 2013.
  2. 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 2 December 2013.
  3. 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  4. 'Cornwall Marriages', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  5. 'Cornwall Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 November 2013.
  6. 'England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010', FamilySearch, accessed 26 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 August 2014, at 18:38.
  • This page has been accessed 970 times.