St Decuman's, SomersetEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Somerset Gotoarrow.png Somerset Parishes

Guide to St Decuman's, Somerset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Decuman's, Somerset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Williton and Freemanners
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Williton PLU
Registration District Williton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1600
Bishop's Transcripts: 1609
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Dunster
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Prebend of St Decumans
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office

Contents

Parish History

DECUMANS (St.), a parish in Williton district, Somerset; on the coast, at the Watchet terminus of the West Somerset railway. It contains the town of Watchet, the chapelry and workhouse of Williton, and the hamlets of Eagrove, Lyddymore, Doniford, Ridon, Stickland, Wibble, Wibblegate, Highbridge, Watering-Place, Five Bells, Churchtown, Whitehall, Stream, Yard, Timwood, Hayne, Bardon, Tomblands, Shelves, and part of Washford. There are chapels for Independents, Baptists, and Methodists.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

St Decuman's, Somerset parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[3]
MARR = Somerset Marriages (findmypast) - (£)[4]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[5]
WEST = West Somerset Parish Register Transcriptions - free[6]
St Decuman's, Somerset Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1600-1665, 1687-1850
1602-1653, 1704-1860
1602-1665, 1747-1855
JOIN
1704-1837

MARR
1602-1671

NBI

1610-1886
WEST 1687-1850
1704-1860
1747-1855

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474607.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870-72. Date accessed and adapted: 25 September 2013.
  2. 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 13 February 2014.
  3. Somerset Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 21 October 2013.
  4. 'Somerset Marriages', findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 30 April 2014.
  5. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.
  6. West Somerset Parish Register Transcriptions, accessed 22 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:00.
  • This page has been accessed 1,298 times.