St Dominic, CornwallEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  CornwallGotoarrow.png  Cornwall Parishes

Guide to St Dominic, Cornwall family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
St Dominic, Cornwall
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred East
County Cornwall
Poor Law Union Liskeard PLU
Registration District Liskeard
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1607
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery East
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall
Location of Archive
Cornwall Record Office

Contents

Parish History

DOMINICK, ST., a parish, in the union of Liskeard, Middle division of the hundred of East, E. division of Cornwall, 2¾ miles (E. S. E.) from Callington. General overview [1]

Although known over the centuries as St Dominick, the spelling of the parish name at the beginning of the 21st century, is changing to drop the final letter "K", so becoming St Dominic. [2]


Resources

Civil Registration

Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

St Dominic, Cornwall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free[4]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[5][6]
FREG = FreeREG - free[7]
FS PRs = England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010 (FamilySearch) - free[8]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[9]
St Dominic, Cornwall Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1607-1672

COPC 1619-1911
1620-1911
1613-1936
FMP 1559-1875 1560-1837
FREG 1813-1901
1559-1901
1695-1901
FS PRs 1559-1901 1559-1902 1559-1901
IGI 1559-1875 1500s-1700s

Images of parish registers are available online at FamilySearch Images refer to Cornwall Record Office reference: P 50

Cornwall Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks page for the parish.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241258.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

  • 1851 Jurisdiction Maps
  • Vision of Britain

Websites

St Dominic in GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis,Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 63-69.15 March 2013.
  2. Charitable trust GENUKI. Copyright © GENUKI 2001-2013.
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 2 December 2013.
  5. 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  6. 'Cornwall Marriages', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  7. 'Cornwall Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 November 2013.
  8. 'England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010', FamilySearch, accessed 26 November 2013.
  9. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Cornwall, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 22 November 2013.
  1. Lewis,Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 63-69.15 March 2013.
  2. Charitable trust GENUKI. Copyright © GENUKI 2001-2013.
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 2 December 2013.
  5. 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  6. 'Cornwall Marriages', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  7. 'Cornwall Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 November 2013.
  8. 'England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010', FamilySearch, accessed 26 November 2013.
  9. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Cornwall, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 22 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 September 2014, at 19:52.
  • This page has been accessed 847 times.