St Dunstan in the EastEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png London Gotoarrow.png London Parishes Gotoarrow.png St Dunstan in the East

London St Dunstan in the East family history and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Dunstan in the East
St Dunstan in the East
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred London, Within the Walls
County London
Poor Law Union City of London PLU
Registration District London City
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1799
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar Jurisdiction of the Archbishop of Canterbury in the Deaneries of the Arches, Croydon and Shoreham
Location of Archive
London Record Office

Contents

Parish History

St Dunstan in the East ruins

Timeline

  • ~1100 - church built
  • 1666 - church severely damaged by Great Fire of London
  • 1668-1671 - church rebuilt
  • 1941 - church severely damaged in London Blitz
  • 1971 - church ruins converted into a public garden

1831 description

"St Dunstan in the East, the church of, is situated between Idol Lane and St. Dunstan's Hill, Tower Street, the latter of which is carried from the south side of the lofty tower and spire of the church southwards into Thames Street opposite the eastern wing of the customhouse. The ancient Church was damaged by the great fire of 1666, and was shortly after repaired but the elegant spire and tower were not finished till 1699. The body of the Church, having been only repaired by Sir Christopher Wren, having fallen into much decay, it was taken down and rebuilt in 1821... The patronage of this living was anciently in the prior and canons of Canterbury, who in 1365 granted it to Simon Islip, their archbishop and his successors. It is directory, and one of the 13 peculiar churches of the arch episcopal see of Canterbury."[1]


1848 description:

St. Dunstan in the East is a parish of the city of London Within the Walls. The patron is the Archbishop of Canterbury. It is a parish within the poor-law union of the City of London.[2]

Additional jurisdictions

St Dunstan in the East was part of Tower Ward.

Published histories

A history of the parish was published in 1860:

  • Murray, Thomas Boyles. Chronicles of a City Church; Being an Account of the Parish Church of St. Dunstan in the East, In the City of London: With Short Biographical Notices of Eminent Persons Connected with the Church and Parish. London: Smith, Elder, and Co., 1859. Digitized by Google Books.

Resources

Church records

Online St Dunstan in the East Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1558
1558
1558
Images
1558-1812 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[3]
1813-1906 Ancestry[4] 1754-1919 Ancestry[5] 1813-1853 Ancestry[6]
Indexes 1558-1816 FamilySearch[7] 1558-1880 FamilySearch[8] 1558-1807 FindMyPast[9]
    1558-1774 FindMyPast[10] 1813-1853 FindMyPast[11]
    1799-1837 Ancestry[12] 1813-1853 BritishOrigins[13]

Publications of the Harleian Society Parish Register Series has published the parish registers from 1558 through 1758 (burials up to 1766).[14]

Webb published an index to burials for the years 1813 to 1853.[15]

James Greenstreet, Honorary Secretary of the Pipe Roll Society, published abstracts of early marriages:

  • 1605-1625 - Greenstreet, James. "Parish Register of St. Dunstan in the East, London, England, 1605-1625 - Marriages," The New York Genealogical and Biographical Record, 1605-1611: Vol. 25, No. 4 (Oct. 1894):194-196; 1611-1616: Vol. 26, No. 1 (Jan. 1895):21-24; 1616-1625: Vol. 26, No. 3 (Jul. 1895):110-114. Digital version at New York Family History (£); FHL Book 974.7 B2n v. 6-32. Internet Archive has digitized Vol. 25 and Vol. 26 - free.[16]

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.


Census records

1564 Subsidy

St Mary at Hill.png
  • St Dunstan in the East, Tower Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/201); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1582 Subsidy

1621 Subsidy

  • St Dunstan in the East, Tower Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/501); copy: FHL Film 2228702.

1638 Inhabitants List

1666 Hearth Tax

1692-1932 Land Taxes

1695 Inhabitants Lists

Contributor: Include an overview if there is many unique information, such as the census for X year was destroyed. Add a link to online sites for indexes and/or images. Also add a link to the FamilySearch Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection.

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.

Court of the Deanery of the Arches of London, Croydon, and Shoreham probate records are available online at FamilySearch for free.

Before 1858, probate matters for St Dunstan in the East residents were handled by the Court of the Deanery of the Arches.

Go to London Probate Records to find the name of the court having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Cemetery

St Dunstan in the East churchyard site

Transcripts of early St Dunstan in the East tombs found in the interior of the church were published in Catalogue of the most Memorable Persons who had visible Tombs, plated Gravestones ... in the City of London (through) A.D. 1700, which is available online.[17]

A survey of monumental inscriptions published in 1860 is available online.[18] (begins on page 52)

A cemetery survey (1910), available online, covers monumental inscriptions in the St Dunstan in the East churchyard.[19]

Records of the Poor

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Dunstan in the East

References

  1. James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitised by Google Books.
  2. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Adapted. Date accessed: 19 November 2013.
  3. London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Dunstan in the East in the City of London. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
  4. London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Dunstan in the East in the City of London. Partially indexed.
  5. London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Dunstan in the East in the City of London. Partially indexed.
  6. London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Dunstan in the East in the City of London. Partially indexed.
  7. Batches P001431-P001432, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes microfilmed parish registers.
  8. Batch M001431, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes parish register transcripts and microfilmed parish registers.
  9. 'Boyd's London Burials Index - places and counts,' Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes adult male burials only.
  10. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011; Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists Enterprises Ltd., 1994). FHL Book 942 K22L 1994
  11. John Hanson, 'City of London Burials,' Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011.
  12. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
  13. 'Greater London Burials: Middlesex and City of London Burials: Parishes, Counts and References,' British Origins (£), accessed 4 April 2013.
  14. Stuart A. Raymond, London and Middlesex: A Genealogical Bibliography (Birmingham, UK: Federation of Family History Societies, c1997), Vol. 2:27.
  15. Cliff Webb, Some London Burials, Post-1812 (1979). FHL Book 942.1/L1 K29w.
  16. WeRelate contributors, "Source:New York Genealogical and Biographical Record (New York Genealogical and Biographical Society)," in WeRelate, http://www.werelate.org/wiki/Source:New_York_Genealogical_and_Biographical_Record_%28New_York_Genealogical_and_Biographical_Society%29, accessed 15 February 2012.
  17. Payne Fisher and G. Blacker Morgan, Catalogue of the Tombs in the Churches of the City of London, A.D. 1666 (1668; reprint, London: Hasell, Watson, Viney, Ld., 1885). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  18. Thomas Boyles Murray, Chronicles of a City Church; Being an Account of the Parish Church of St. Dunstan in the East, In the City of London: With Short Biographical Notices of Eminent Persons Connected with the Church and Parish (London: Smith, Elder, and Co., 1859).
  19. Percy C. Rushden, The Churchyard Inscriptions of the City of London (London: Phillimore and Co., Ltd., 1910). Digitised by Internet Archive.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 22:45.
  • This page has been accessed 4,388 times.