St Edmund the King with St Nicholas AconsEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png London Gotoarrow.png London Parishes Gotoarrow.png St Edmund the King with St Nicholas Acons

London St Edmund the King with St Nicholas Acons family history and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Edmund the King with St Nicholas Acons
Londonstedmundtheking.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred London, Within the Walls
County London
Poor Law Union City of London PLU
Registration District London City
Records begin
Parish registers: 1670; Separate registers exist for St Nicholas Acons beginning 1539
Bishop's Transcripts: 1800; Separate records exist for St Nicholas Acons beginning 1629-31; 1639-40; 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division)
Location of Archive
London Record Office

Contents

Parish History

St Edmund the King
"St Edmund the King with St Nicholas Acons, the church of, is situated on the north side of Lombard Street, between George Yard and Birchin Lane/ This church derives its names from being dedicated to St Edmund, King of the East Angles, who was murdered by the Danes in 870. The original church supposed to have been built in the Saxon heptarchy, and the late church was destroyed in the great fire of 1666. The present church was built by Sir Christopher Wren, and finished in 1690. It differes from most churches of that period, as it stands north and south, and the atltar is at the north end. Its lenth is 69 feet, its breadth 39 feet, and its height 32 feet. At the south end is a square tower, with a well-proportioned spire, and a dial projecting into the street. This church is a rectory in the patronage of the King and the Archbishop of Canterbury alternately. The parish is united to that of St Nicholas Acons, the church of which, before the fire of London, stood on the west side of St Nicholas, and was a rectory in the gift of the Archbishop of Canterbury; and hence the alternate patronage. These united parishes are in the ward of Langbourn, in the archdeaconry of London..."[1]

St. Nicholas Acons Parish Church was united with St. Edmund the King and Martyr in 1670 to create the parish of St. Edmund the King and Martyr with St. Nicholas Acons. In 1937 a further unification united All Hallows Lombard Street, St. Benet Gracechurch, St. Leonard Eastcheap and St. Dionis Backchurch to them. Generally the united parish was known as St. Edmund the King and Martyr.

St Edmund the King belonged to Langbourn Ward. The parish was also known as St Edmund the King and Martyr Lombard Street.


1848 description:

St. Edmund the King, with St. Nicholas Acons, are parishes of the city of London Within the Walls. The patron is the Crown, and the Archbishop of Canterbury, alternately. They are parishes within the poor-law union of the City of London.[2]

Resources

Church records

St Edmund the King Parish

Online St Edmund the King Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1670
1673
1670
Images
1670-1820 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[3]
1813-1906 Ancestry[4] 1754-1921 Ancestry[5] 1813-1850 Ancestry[6]
Indexes 1670-1865 FamilySearch[7] 1673-1837 FamilySearch[8] 1670-1812 FindMyPast[9]
    1674-1812 TheGenealogist[10] 1670-1812 TheGenealogist[10]
    1676-1837 FindMyPast[11] 1754-1851 FindMyPast[12]
    1813-1837 BritishOrigins[13] 1813-1851 BritishOrigins[14]
    1780-1799
1812-1837
Ancestry[15]    

Brigg published the parish registers of St Edmund the King, but his book has not yet been digitized:

  • Brigg, William. ed. The Parish Registers of St. Edmund the King and Martyr, Lombard Street, London, 1670-1812. Privately printed, 1892.[16]

St Nicholas Acons Parish

Online St Nicholas Acons Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1539
1539
1540
Images
1539-1812 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[3]
1813-1875 Ancestry[4] 1813-1949 Ancestry[5] 1813-1848 Ancestry[6]
Indexes 1539-1875 FamilySearch[17] 1539-1665
1813-1837
FamilySearch[18] 1540-1812 InternetArchive[19]
1539-1812 GoogleBooks[19] 1539-1837 FindMyPast[11] 1540-1812 GoogleBooks[19]
1539-1812 InternetArchive[19] 1539-1665 GoogleBooks[19] 1540-1812 FindMyPast[9]
1540-1812 TheGenealogist[10] 1539-1665 InternetArchive[19] 1540-1812 TheGenealogist[10]
    1540-1665 TheGenealogist[10] 1754-1848 FindMyPast[12]
    1780-1837 Ancestry[15] 1813-1848 BritishOrigins[14]
    1813-1837 BritishOrigins[13]    

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.


Census records

1547 Subsidy

St Mary at Hill.png
  • St Edmund the King and Martyr, Langbourn Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/143); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Nicholas Acons, Langbourn Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/143); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1582 Subsidy

1621 Subsidy

  • St Edmund the King and Martyr, Langbourn Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/490); copy: FHL Film 2228702.
  • St Nicholas Acons, Langbourn Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/490); copy: FHL Film 2228702.

1625 Subsidy

  • St Edmund the King and Martyr, Cornhill Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/516); copy: FHL Film 2228703.
  • St Edmund the King and Martyr, Cornhill Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/545); copy: FHL Film 2228703.
  • St Nicholas Acons, Candlewick Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/512); copy: FHL Film 2228703.

1628 Subsidy

  • St. Nicholas Acons, Langbourn Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/565 Part 3 of 3); copy: FHL Film 2228702.

1638 Inhabitants List

1641 Subsidy

  • St Edmund the King and Martyr, Cornhill Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/568); copy: FHL Film 2228704.

1666 Hearth Tax

1692-1932 Land Taxes

1695 Inhabitants Lists

1801 Census

The 1801 Census of St Nicholas Acons exists and is held at The British Library.[20]

1811 Census

The 1811 Census of St Nicholas Acons exists and is held at The British Library.[20]

1821 Census

The 1821 Census of St Nicholas Acons exists and is held at The British Library.[20]

1831 Census

The 1831 Census of St Nicholas Acons exists and is held at The British Library.[20]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Probate records

Will indexes for probate courts covering these parishes are available online.

Before 1858, St Edmund the King with St Nicholas Acons fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London. From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry.

Go to London Probate Records to find the names of the courts having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.

Cemetery

St Edmund the King churchyard

Transcripts of early St Edmund the King with St Nicholas Acons tombs found in the interior of the churches were published in Catalogue of the most Memorable Persons who had visible Tombs, plated Gravestones ... in the City of London (through) A.D. 1700, which is available online.[21]

A cemetery survey (1910), available online, covers monumental inscriptions in the St Edmund the King and Martyr churchyard.[22]

Records of the Poor

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Nicholas Acons
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Edmund, King and Martyr

References

  1. James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitised by Google Books.
  2. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Adapted. Date accessed: 19 November 2013.
  3. 3.0 3.1 London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Edmund the King and Martyr in the City of London | St Nicholas Acons in the City of London. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
  4. 4.0 4.1 London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Edmund the King and Martyr in the City of London | St Nicholas Acons in the City of London. Partially indexed.
  5. 5.0 5.1 London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Edmund the King and Martyr in the City of London | St Nicholas Acons in the City of London. Partially indexed.
  6. 6.0 6.1 London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Edmund the King and Martyr in the City of London | St Nicholas Acons in the City of London. Partially indexed.
  7. Batches C001682, P001681, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011.
  8. Batch M001681, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes parish register transcripts and microfilmed parish registers.
  9. 9.0 9.1 'Boyd's London Burials Index - places and counts,' Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes adult male burials only.
  10. 10.0 10.1 10.2 10.3 10.4 'London Parish Record Transcripts,' The Genealogist, accessed 12 December 2011.
  11. 11.0 11.1 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011; Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists Enterprises Ltd., 1994). FHL Book 942 K22L 1994
  12. 12.0 12.1 John Hanson, 'City of London Burials,' Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011.
  13. 13.0 13.1 'Webb's London Marriages - Marriages, periods and parishes/churches,' British Origins, accessed 4 July 2011.
  14. 14.0 14.1 'Greater London Burials: Middlesex and City of London Burials: Parishes, Counts and References,' British Origins (£), accessed 4 April 2013.
  15. 15.0 15.1 Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
  16. Stuart A. Raymond, London and Middlesex: A Genealogical Bibliography (Birmingham, UK: Federation of Family History Societies, c1997), Vol. 2:27.
  17. Batch C001672, P001671, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes parish register xxx.
  18. Batch M001671, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes parish register xxx.
  19. 19.0 19.1 19.2 19.3 19.4 19.5 The Register Book of the Parish of St. Nicholas Acons, London: 1539-1812 (1890).
  20. 20.0 20.1 20.2 20.3 Colin R. Chapman, Pre-1841 Censuses and Population Listings in the British Isles, 5th ed. (Dursley, U.K.: Lochin Publising, 2002), 66, 68, 71, 73.
  21. Payne Fisher and G. Blacker Morgan, Catalogue of the Tombs in the Churches of the City of London, A.D. 1666 (1668; reprint, London: Hasell, Watson, Viney, Ld., 1885). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  22. Percy C. Rushden, The Churchyard Inscriptions of the City of London (London: Phillimore and Co., Ltd., 1910). Digitised by Internet Archive.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 September 2014, at 20:37.
  • This page has been accessed 2,045 times.