St Enoder, CornwallEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  CornwallGotoarrow.png  Cornwall Parishes

Guide to St Enoder, Cornwall family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Enoder, Cornwall
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Pyder
County Cornwall
Poor Law Union St Columb Major PLU
Registration District St Columb
Records begin
Parish registers: 1570
Bishop's Transcripts: 1609
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Pydar
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall
Location of Archive
Cornwall Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ENODER, ST., aparish, in the union of St. Columb, partly in the hundred of Powder, and partly in that of Pyder, county of Cornwall, 2¾ miles (N. E.) from St. Michael's. The Bryanites and Wesleyans have places of worship. There were formerly two chapels in the parish; the fields in which they respectively stood are called the Chapel Meadows. |[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

St Enoder, Cornwall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free[3]
CPRI = Cornwall Parish Register Index - free[4]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[5][6]
FREG = FreeREG - free[7]
FS PRs = England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010 (FamilySearch) - free[8]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[9]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[10]
St Enoder, Cornwall Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1571-1812

COPC 1570-1913
1571-1906
1570-1938
CPRI

1597-1810 (gaps)
FMP 1570-1874 1571-1837
FREG 1718-1901
1571-1906
1718-1959
FS PRs 1570-1901 1570-1906 1570-1959
IGI 1571-1863
PALL
1800-1812

Images of parish registers are available online at FamilySearch Images refer to Cornwall Record Office reference: P 56

Cornwall Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks page for the parish.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241271.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

  • 1851 Jurisdiction Maps
  • Vision of Britain

Websites

St Enoder in GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 177-181. 15 March 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 2 December 2013.
  4. 'Database Coverage,' Cornwall Parish Register Index, accessed 1 February 2014.
  5. 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  6. 'Cornwall Marriages', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  7. 'Cornwall Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 November 2013.
  8. 'England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010', FamilySearch, accessed 26 November 2013.
  9. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Cornwall, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 22 November 2013.
  10. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 August 2014, at 18:51.
  • This page has been accessed 1,185 times.