St Erney, CornwallEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  CornwallGotoarrow.png  Cornwall Parishes

Guide to St Erney, Cornwall family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Erney, Cornwall
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred East
County Cornwall
Poor Law Union St Germans PLU
Registration District St Germans
Records begin
Parish registers: 1555
Bishop's Transcripts: 1673
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery East
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court A Peculiar of the Court of the Bishop of Exeter (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1847 - Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall
Location of Archive
Cornwall Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ERNEY (St.), a parish in St. Germans district, Cornwall; on Lynher creek, 3¼ miles W of Saltash. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

St Erney, Cornwall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[3][4]
FREG = FreeREG - free[5]
FS PRs = England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010 (FamilySearch) - free[6]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[7]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[8]
St Erney, Cornwall Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1555-1812

FMP 1555-1811 1555-1812
FREG
1555-1812, 1837-1902

FS PRs 1555-1812, 1837-1902
IGI 1555-1811 1555-1807
PALL
1800-1812

Landrake with St Erney parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Landrake with St Erney Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1813-1837

Images of parish registers are available online at FamilySearch Images refer to Cornwall Record Office reference: P 106

Cornwall Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks page for the parish.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241259.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

  • 1851 Jurisdiction Maps
  • Vision of Britain

Websites

St Erney in GENUKI

References

  1. 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  4. 'Cornwall Marriages', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  5. 'Cornwall Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 November 2013.
  6. 'England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010', FamilySearch, accessed 26 November 2013.
  7. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Cornwall, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 21 November 2013.
  8. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 September 2014, at 16:09.
  • This page has been accessed 631 times.