St Gennys, CornwallEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  go to  Cornwall Gotoarrow.png  Cornwall Parishes

Guide to St Gennys, Cornwall family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Gennys, Cornwall
Saint Gennys ParishChurchCornwall.jpg
Saint Gennys ParishChurchCornwall
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Lesnewth
County Cornwall
Poor Law Union Stratton PLU
Registration District Stratton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1702
Bishop's Transcripts: 1612
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Trigg Major
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall
Location of Archive
Cornwall Record Office

Contents

Parish History

GENNYS, ST. (St. German), a parish, in the union of Stratton, hundred of Lesnewth, E. division of Cornwall, 10 miles (N. by E.) from Camelford. [1]

St Genny's St Genesius is an Ancient Parish in the county of Cornwall.Other places in the parish include: Brockhill.

Several places in the parish are mentioned in the Domesday Book including Crackington (as Crachemua), Dizzard (as Disart} and St Gennys itself (as Sainguinas or Sanwinas)

The parish church is dedicated to Saint Genesius. The building is partly Norman with a short one-stage tower topped by a pyramidal roof. The tower houses a ring of four bells. The church was restored in 1871. The arcades of the aisles are partly in granite and partly in Polyphant stone.

Resources

Civil Registration

Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is Free BMD.

Church records

St Gennys, Cornwall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free[3]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[4][5]
FREG = FreeREG - free[6]
FS PRs = England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010 (FamilySearch) - free[7]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[8]
St Gennys, Cornwall Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1612-1673

COPC 1687-1772, 1775-1879
1687-1901
1687-1873
FMP 1687-1874 1612-1837
FREG 1702-1879
1702-1901
1702-1885
FS PRs 1702-1879 1702-1901 1702-1885
IGI 1687-1875 1687-1837

Images of parish registers are available online at FamilySearch Images refer to Cornwall Record Office reference: P 67

Cornwall Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks page for the parish.

The history, registers and much more have been contributed by the Online Parish clerk for St Gennys .

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241262.

Cornwall Online Census Project

Poor Law Unions

Stratton Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

Websites

St Gennys in GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis,Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 287-291.Date accessed: 06 March 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 2 December 2013.
  4. 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  5. 'Cornwall Marriages', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  6. 'Cornwall Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 November 2013.
  7. 'England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010', FamilySearch, accessed 26 November 2013.
  8. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Cornwall, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 21 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 August 2014, at 18:38.
  • This page has been accessed 1,098 times.