St George Botolph-Lane with St Botolph BillingsgateEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png London Gotoarrow.png London Parishes Gotoarrow.png St George Botolph-Lane with St Botolph Billingsgate

London St George Botolph-Lane with St Botolph Billingsgate family history and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St George Botolph-Lane with St Botolph Billingsgate
Stbotolphbillingsgatesite.JPG
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred London, Within the Walls
County London
Poor Law Union City of London PLU
Registration District London City
Records begin
Parish registers: 1546; Separate registers exist for St Botolph Billingsgate beginning 1685
Bishop's Transcripts: 1801; Separate records exist for St Botolph Billingsgate beginning 1620-31; 1639-40; 1801
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division)
Location of Archive
London Record Office

Contents

Parish History

St Botolph Billingsgate Timeline

  • 1666 - church destroyed by Great Fire of London
  • 1666 - never rebuilt; united with St George Botolph-Lane Parish[1]

St George Botolph-Lane Timeline

  • 1180 - first mentioned
  • 1666 - church badly damaged by Great Fire of London
  • 1666 - united with St Botolph Billingsgate Parish[1]
  • 1671-1676 - church rebuilt
  • 1904 - church demolished

1831 description

"St George Botolph-Lane with St Botolph Billingsgate, the church of, is situated a few houses on the right from Little Eastcheap. It derives its name from the ancient English Saint George of Cappadocia. It is an ancient rectory...and was originally in the gift of the Abbott and convent of St. Saviour Bermondsey, at whose dissolution it came to the crown.  The old church was burned down in 1666, and the present edifice erected in 1674, by Sir Christopher Wren.  The exterior is in a handsome old style, and decorated with some well executed sculpture; the interior is composed of the nave and two aisles, separated like columns of the composite order, which support a handsome vaulted roof.  It is 54 feet in length, 36 in breadth, and 36 in height.  After the fire, the parish of St. Botolph, (see that church [St Botolph Billingsgate]), was united by act of Parliament to this parish.  That parish was also a rectory, the advowson of which was anciently in lay hands, but in 1194 was successfully claimed by the Dean and chapter of St. Paul's, under a deed of gift from Odgarus.  It continued with them till its union with St. George, when the patronage was exerted by them and the crown, alternately.  It is in the city and Archdeaconry of London..."[2]

1848 parish description:

St. Boloph, Billingsgate with St. George, Botolph-lane are parishes of the city of London Within the Walls. The patron is the Crown, and the Dean and Chapter of St. Paul's, alternately. They are parishes within the poor-law union of the City of London.[3]

Additional jurisdictions

St Botolph Billingsgate Parish was also known as St Botolph by Billingsgate Parish.

Resources

Church records

St George Botolph-Lane and St Botolph Billingsgate were originally two individual parishes. Each maintained separate parish registers.

St Botolph Billingsgate

Online St Botolph Billingsgate Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1629
1629
1629
Images
1629-1812 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[4]
1813-1875 Ancestry[5] 1754-1919 Ancestry[6] 1813-1855 Ancestry[7]
Indexes 1686-1859 FamilySearch[8] 1629-1837 FindMyPast[9] 1754-1845 FindMyPast[10]
    1801-1836 Ancestry[11] 1813-1845 BritishOrigins[12]

St George Botolph-Lane

Online St George Botolph-Lane Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1546
1546
1546
Images
1546-1812 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[4]
1813-1891 Ancestry[5] 1754-1890 Ancestry[6] 1813-1848 Ancestry[7]
Indexes 1813-1863 FamilySearch[13] 1547-1837 FindMyPast[9] 1802-1849 FindMyPast[10]
    1754-1885 FamilySearch[14] 1813-1848 BritishOrigins[12]
    1800-1837 Ancestry[11]    

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.


Census records

St Mary at Hill.png

1541 Subsidy

1547 Subsidy

  • St Botolph, Billingsgate, Billingsgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/151); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St George, Botolph Lane, Billingsgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/151); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1582 Subsidy

1621 Subsidy

  • St Botolph, Billingsgate, Billingsgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/486); copy: FHL Film 2228702.
  • St George, Botolph Lane, Billingsgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/486); copy: FHL Film 2228702.

1628 Subsidy

  • St Botolph, Billingsgate, Billingsgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/563); copy: FHL Film 2228704.
  • St George, Botolph Lane, Billingsgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/563); copy: FHL Film 2228704.

1638 Inhabitants List

1645 Subsidy

  • St Botolph, Billingsgate, Billingsgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/583); copy: FHL Film 2228704.

1666 Hearth Tax

1692-1932 Land Taxes

1695 Inhabitants Lists

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Probate records

Will indexes for probate courts covering these parishes are available online.

Before 1858, St George Botolph-Lane with St Botolph Billingsgate fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London. From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry.

Go to London Probate Records to find the names of the courts having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.

Cemetery

St Botolph Billingsgate churchyard site
Transcripts of early St George Botolph-Lane with St Botolph Billingsgate tombs found in the interior of the churches were published in Catalogue of the most Memorable Persons who had visible Tombs, plated Gravestones ... in the City of London (through) A.D. 1700, which is available online.[15]
A cemetery survey (1910), available online, covers monumental inscriptions in the St George Botolph Lane churchyard.[16]

Records of the Poor

During the seventeenth century, officials gave some foundlings discovered in St Botolph Billingsgate Parish the unique surname Billingsgate.[17]

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St George Botolph Lane
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Botolph Billingsgate

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 Phillip B. Dunn, A Guide to Ancestral Research in London (Salt Lake City, Utah: Mountainland Printing and Marketing, c1987, 1992), 58-59. FHL Book 942.1/L1 D27d.
  2. James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitised by Google Books.
  3. Lewis, Samuel, A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 129-170. Adapted. Date accessed: 12 November 2013.
  4. 4.0 4.1 London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
  5. 5.0 5.1 London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  6. 6.0 6.1 London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  7. 7.0 7.1 London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  8. Batches C022501-C022502, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes microfilmed parish registers.
  9. 9.0 9.1 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011; Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists Enterprises Ltd., 1994). FHL Book 942 K22L 1994
  10. 10.0 10.1 John Hanson, 'City of London Burials,' Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011.
  11. 11.0 11.1 Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
  12. 12.0 12.1 'Greater London Burials: Middlesex and City of London Burials: Parishes, Counts and References,' British Origins (£), accessed 4 April 2013.
  13. Batch C040561, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes parish register xxx.
  14. Batch M040561, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011.
  15. Payne Fisher and G. Blacker Morgan, Catalogue of the Tombs in the Churches of the City of London, A.D. 1666 (1668; reprint, London: Hasell, Watson, Viney, Ld., 1885). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  16. Percy C. Rushden, The Churchyard Inscriptions of the City of London (London: Phillimore and Co., Ltd., 1910). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  17. Nathan W. Murphy, 'London Foundlings in Colonial America: Overseas Leads to Dead Ends: John Abchurch, William Abchurch, Isaac Jewry, and Henry Woolchurch of Virginia and Maryland,' The American Genealogist, Vol. 83, No. 2 (Jul./Oct. 2008):131-140.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 September 2014, at 21:03.
  • This page has been accessed 3,801 times.