St George the Martyr, MiddlesexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Parishes

Guide to St George the Martyr, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Stgeorgesqueensquare.jpg

Contents

Parish History

St. George the Martyr, Holborn is adjacent to the City of London, in the hundred of Ossulstone, Middlesex. The patron is the Duke of Buccleuch.[1]

'St George the Martyr, [lies in the parish of St Andrew Holborn], ;the church of, is situated in Queen Square, Bloomsbury, at the southwest corner, or the north end of Gloucester Street, going from Theobald's Road. This church was originally built in 1705, by Sir Streynsham Master, Governor of Fort St. George, in the East Indies, and some other wealthy inhabitants of its neigbourhood. It was afterwards purchased by the commissioners for building fifty new churches, and a district apportioned to it as a parish. It was consecrated as a parish church in 1723, and dedicated to St George in allusion to the governorship of its principal founder. It was a plain brick, of a most conventicle like appearance, till it was repaired, and its present two elegant fronts and bell tower, added about seven years ago [about 1824]... It is a rectory in the county and archdeaconry of Middlesex, in the diocese of London and in the patronage of the Duke of Buccleugh.'[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online St George the Martyr Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1706
1706
1706


Images
1706-1812 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[3]
1813-1906 Ancestry[4] 1754-1921 Ancestry[5] 1813-1855 Ancestry[6]


Indexes

1800-1837 Ancestry[7] 1179-1812 findmypast[8]

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 2198813.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

St George the Martyr in Holborn on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 26 December 2013.
  2. James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitised by Google Books.
  3. London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St George the Martyr, Queen Square in Camden Borough. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
  4. London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Queen Square St George the Martyr in Camden Borough. Partially indexed.
  5. London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Queen Square St George the Martyr in Camden Borough. Partially indexed.
  6. London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Queen Square St George the Martyr in Camden Borough. Partially indexed.
  7. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
  8. "Boyd's London Burials Index - places and counts," Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes adult male burials only.


  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 26 December 2013.
  2. James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitised by Google Books.
  3. London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St George the Martyr, Queen Square in Camden Borough. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
  4. London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Queen Square St George the Martyr in Camden Borough. Partially indexed.
  5. London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Queen Square St George the Martyr in Camden Borough. Partially indexed.
  6. London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Queen Square St George the Martyr in Camden Borough. Partially indexed.
  7. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
  8. "Boyd's London Burials Index - places and counts," Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes adult male burials only.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:54.
  • This page has been accessed 2,373 times.