St Gerrans, CornwallEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  go to  Cornwall Gotoarrow.png  Cornwall Parishes

Guide to St Gerrans, Cornwall ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Gerrans, Cornwall
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Powder
County Cornwall
Poor Law Union Truro PLU
Registration District Truro
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1608
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Powder
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court A Peculiar of the Court of the Bishop of Exeter (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cornwall Record Office

Contents

Parish History

GERRANS (St. Gurons), a parish, in the union of Truro, W. division of the hundred of Powder and of the county of Cornwall, 4 miles (N.) from St. Mawes. There are places of worship for Independents and Wesleyans. [1]

St Gerrans is an Ancient Parish in the county of Cornwall. St Anthony in Roseland, Cornwall was a chapelry of St Gerrans.Other places in the parish include: Porthscatho and Porthskatho.
The church(dedicated to St Gerent or Gerendus) was built in the 13th century and enlarged in the 15th century when the south and aisle and the tower topped with a spire were added. However, in 1849 everything except the tower was rebuilt (by William White of Truro) though this was done as closely as possible to the original church. The two-stage tower is buttressed, battlemented, and topped by a spire

The manor of Tregear belonged to the Bishops of Exeter in mediaeval times and Gerent may have had a castle (Dingerein or Dinurrin) here.

Resources

Civil Registration

Church records

St Gerrans, Cornwall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free[4]
CPRI = Cornwall Parish Register Index - free[5]
FMP = findmypast - (£)[6][7][8]
FREG = FreeREG - free[9]
FS PRs = England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010 (FamilySearch) - free[10]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[11]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[12]
St Gerrans, Cornwall Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI
1837-1906

BOYD
1617-1675

COPC 1538-1913
1538-1913
1538-1938
CPRI 1538-1902
1538-1837
1538-1901
FMP 1538-1875 1539-1837 1690-1837
FREG 1538-1902
1538-1901
1538-1901
FS PRs 1538-1902 1538-1901 1538-1925
IGI 1538-1875
PALL
1790-1837

Images of parish registers are available online at FamilySearch Images refer to Cornwall Record Office reference: P 70

The images loaded represent only part of the microfilm holding for the parish.

Parish registers 1538-1970 were microfilmed in 1960-2003. Due to quality of images re-filming took place as follows

Content Film
Baptisms, 1538-1812; marriages, 1538-1837; banns, 1754-1785; burials, 1538-1925. FHL BRITISH Film
236537
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1538-1798. Marriages, 1754-1812. Baptisms and burials, 1799-1812. Marriages, 1813-1836. Burials, 1813-1900. Baptisms, 1813-1900. (another filming) FHL BRITISH Film
1595534 Items 17 - 23
Banns, 1836-1911. FHL BRITISH Film
2276115 Item 16
Marriages, 1837-1900. Banns, 1836-1900. (another filming) FHL BRITISH Film
1595535 Items 1 - 2
Baptisms, 1813-1970 (another filming to 1959). Burials, 1813-1925 (another filming). FHL BRITISH Film
2276146 Items 9 - 10
Baptisms, burials, 1538-1727; marriages, 1738-1726 (another filming). VAULT BRITISH Film
2276184 Item 2

Cornwall Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks page for the parish.

The history, registers and much more have been contributed by the Online Parish clerk for Gerrans.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241269.

Poor Law Unions

Truro Poor Law Union

Probate records

Maps and Gazetteers

England Jurisdictions 1851

Websites

St Gerrans in GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis,Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 287-291. Date accessed: 06 March 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 21 November 2013.
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 2 December 2013.
  5. 'Database Coverage,' Cornwall Parish Register Index, accessed 1 February 2014.
  6. 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 22 November 2013.
  7. 'Cornwall Marriages', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  8. 'Cornwall Burials', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  9. 'Cornwall Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 November 2013.
  10. 'England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010', FamilySearch, accessed 26 November 2013.
  11. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Cornwall, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 21 November 2013.
  12. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 06:21.
  • This page has been accessed 1,824 times.