St Giles on the Heath, CornwallEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  go to  Cornwall Gotoarrow.png  Cornwall Parishes

Guide to St Giles on the Heath, Cornwall family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

GILES, ST., on-the-Heath, a parish, in the union of Holsworthy, hundred of Black Torrington, Lifton and N. divisions of Devon, 4½ miles (N. by E.) from Launceston. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

St Giles on the Heath, Cornwall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free[2]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[3][4]
FS PRs = England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
St Giles on the Heath, Cornwall Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
COPC 1813-1902
1824-1913
1653-1938
FMP 1653-1902 1602-1836
FS PRs 1813-1902 1754-1900 1813-1904

Images of parish registers are available online at FamilySearch Images refer to Cornwall Record Office reference: P 71

Cornwall Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks page for the parish.

Census records

Overview, Include any unique information such as, the census for X year was destroyed, Collection in FHL and link to catalog, Online sites.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

  • 1851 Jurisdiction Maps
  • Vision of Britain

Websites

St Giles on the Heath in GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis,Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 291-294. Date accessed: 06 March 2013.
  2. 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 2 December 2013.
  3. 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 22 November 2013.
  4. 'Cornwall Marriages', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  5. 'England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010', FamilySearch, accessed 26 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 August 2014, at 18:56.
  • This page has been accessed 581 times.