St Helens, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England go to Lancashire go to Lancashire Parishes

Guide to St Helens, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Helens, Lancashire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred West Derby
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Prescot PLU
Registration District Prescot
Records begin
Parish registers: 1713
Bishop's Transcripts: 1676
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Prescot
Diocese Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapel History

ST HELEN'S, a chapelry and market-town, in the parish and union of Prescot, hundred of West Derby, S. division of the county of Lancaster, 11 miles east by northeast of Liverpool; comprising part of the township of Eccleston, and the entire townships of Parr, Sutton, and Windle.

This town, originally a small village, is now a thriving place, situated on an extensive coal-field. The church, originally dedicated to St Helen, on being enlarged in 1816, was dedicated anew to St Mary; another chapel, called St Thomas's church (Eccleston), was erected in about 1839.

There are places of worship for the Society of Friends, Independents, and Wesleyans, and a Roman Catholic chapel.[1] 

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

St Helens chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Prescot to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
JOIN = Joiner's Marriage Index (£)
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk


ST HELENS Chapelry  (1680) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1713-1850 1724-1855 1765-1767, 1775-1800, 1821-1851
LOPC 1676-1687, 1697-1700, 1813-1850 1813-1850 1697-1700, 1813-1850
LBMD 1837-1935 None 1837-1850
JOIN 1813-1837
AC 1713-1812 1713-1837 1713-1812
PRESCOT ST MARY PARISH (1531) Indexes (ancient parish containing ST HELENS Chapelry)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1580-1632, 1770-1776, 1813-1828, 1861-1900 1576-1900 1770-1775, 1812-1900
LOPC 1665-1900 1667-1837, 1845-1900 1665-1900
LBMD 1837-1961 1911-1969 None
AC 1531-1666 1531-1666 1531-1666


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding St Helens and comprising the whole ancient parish of Prescot  to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the PRESCOT ST MARY PARISH page.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306903.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

St. Helens Townships Family History Society

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 466-470. Adapted. Date accessed: 18 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 June 2014, at 15:09.
  • This page has been accessed 3,566 times.