St Hilary, CornwallEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  go to  Cornwall Gotoarrow.png  Cornwall Parishes

Guide to St Hilary, Cornwall ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Hilary, Cornwall
St Hilary Church Cornwall.jpg
St Hilary Church Cornwall
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Penwith
County Cornwall
Poor Law Union Penzance PLU
Registration District Penzance
Records begin
Parish registers: 1677
Bishop's Transcripts: 1609
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Penwith
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall
Location of Archive
Cornwall Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HILARY (ST.), a parish in Penzance district, Cornwall; The church stands on high ground forms a conspicuous landmark; There are several dissenting  chapels.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is Free BMD.

Church records

St Hilary, Cornwall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free[3]
CPRI = Cornwall Parish Register Index - free[4]
FMP = findmypast - (£)[5][6]
FREG = FreeREG - free[7]
FS PRs = England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010 (FamilySearch) - free[8]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[9]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[10]
St Hilary, Cornwall Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1609-1812

COPC 1687-1911
1676-1901
1677-1938
CPRI 1841-1904
1870-1904
1813-1904
FMP 1687-1875 1614-1837
FREG
1676-1812, 1860-1907
1596-1812, 1837-1906


FS PRs 1677-1889 1677-1907 1677-1900
IGI 1687-1875
PALL
1800-1812

Images of parish registers are available online at FamilySearch Images refer to Cornwall Record Office reference: P 87

Cornwall Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks page for the parish.

The history registers and much more have been contributed by the Online Parish clerk for St Hilary, Al Kline.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241266.

Census returns for St Issey begin with the 1841 Census FHL film number 241272.

Cornwall Online Census Project

Poor Law Unions

Penzance Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

Websites

St Hilary in GENUKI

References

  1. Wilson, John Marius, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 2 December 2013.
  4. 'Database Coverage,' Cornwall Parish Register Index, accessed 1 February 2014.
  5. 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  6. 'Cornwall Marriages', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  7. 'Cornwall Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 November 2013.
  8. 'England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010', FamilySearch, accessed 26 November 2013.
  9. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Cornwall, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 21 November 2013.
  10. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 06:22.
  • This page has been accessed 2,066 times.