St Hilary, CornwallEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to St Hilary, Cornwall family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records."
|St Hilary, Cornwall|
St Hilary Church Cornwall
|Poor Law Union||Penzance PLU|
|Parish registers: 1677|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1609|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall|
|Location of Archive|
|Cornwall Record Office|
HILARY (ST.), a parish in Penzance district, Cornwall; The church stands on high ground forms a conspicuous landmark; There are several dissenting chapels.
Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is Free BMD.
St Hilary, Cornwall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|St Hilary, Cornwall Parish Online Records|
|| 1676-1812, 1860-1907
St Issey parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|St Issey Parish Online Records|
Images of parish registers are available online in historic records (formerly Record Search) Images refer to Cornwall Record Office reference: P 87
Cornwall Online Parish Clerks
An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks page for the parish http://www.cornwall-opc.org/Par_new/h_k/hilary_st.php
The history registers and much more have been contributed by the Online Parish clerk for St Hilary, Al Kline. .
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241266.
Census returns for St Issey begin with the 1841 Census FHL film number 241272.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:
- England Jurisdictions 1851
- Vision of Britain
- ↑ Wilson, John Marius, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
- ↑ Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
- ↑ 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 2 December 2013.
- ↑ 'Database Coverage,' Cornwall Parish Register Index, accessed 1 February 2014.
- ↑ 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
- ↑ 'Cornwall Marriages', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
- ↑ 'Cornwall Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 November 2013.
- ↑ 'England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010', FamilySearch, accessed 26 November 2013.
- ↑ Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Cornwall, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 21 November 2013.
- ↑ Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
- This page was last modified on 22 May 2014, at 22:10.
- This page has been accessed 1,344 times.
Share Your Opinion!
Review redesigns of wiki pages and give your feedbackImprove the Wiki