St Issey, CornwallEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  CornwallGotoarrow.png  Cornwall Parishes

Guide to St Issey, Cornwall ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Issey, Cornwall
St Issey Church Cornwall.jpg
St Issey Church Cornwall
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Pyder
County Cornwall
Poor Law Union St Columb Minor PLU
Registration District St Austell
Records begin
Parish registers: 1569
Bishop's Transcripts: 1608
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Post 1857 Pydar
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiars of the Court of the Bishop of Exeter (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cornwall Record Office

Contents

Parish History

St Issey (Cornish: Egloskrug) is an Ancient Parish in Cornwall.

The parish takes its name from Saint Yse (or Ida), one of the twenty-four children of St Brychan, a 4th century Welsh saint and king. The Cornish name means "the church on the tumulus". In early records Egloscruk is the name of the parish, while St Ida refers to the site of the saint's chapel and holy well at Zanzidgie. Until 1199 the parish formed part of the manor and peculiar of Pawton, belonging to the Bishop of Exeter; it was then appropriated by the bishop to the Chapter of Exeter Cathedral. The remains of a sea mill on the River Camel are within the parish.

The parish church is partly Norman and was enlarged in the 15th century when the south aisle and tower were built. The tower has been rebuilt twice, ca. 1680, and again in 1871. In 1869 the church tower was struck by lightning and collapsed. It was subsequently rebuilt.

Resources

Civil Registration

Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is Free BMD.

Church records

St Issey, Cornwall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[1]
COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free[2]
FMP = findmypast - (£)[3][4]
FREG = FreeREG - free[5]
FS PRs = England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010 (FamilySearch) - free[6]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[7]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[8]
St Issey Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1596-1812

COPC 1596-1913
1596-1913
1602-1938
FMP 1596-1874 1596-1837
FREG
1596-1812, 1837-1906

FS PRs 1596-1863 1596-1906 1596-1872
IGI 1596-1875
PALL
1800-1812

Images of parish registers are available online at FamilySearch Images refer to Cornwall Record Office reference: P 89

Cornwall Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks page for the parish.

The history registers and much more have been contributed by the Online Parish clerk for St Issey  Tim Johnson.

See also the St Issey Folk website for complete pedigree information for parish families.

Census records

Overview, Include any unique information such as, the census for X year was destroyed, Collection in FHL and link to catalog, Online sites.

Cornwall Online Census Project

Poor Law Unions

St Columb Major Poor Law Union (includes St Columb Minor)

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

  • 1851 Jurisdiction Maps
    * Vision of Britain

Websites

St Issey in GENUKI

References

  1. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  2. 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 2 December 2013.
  3. 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  4. 'Cornwall Marriages', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  5. 'Cornwall Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 November 2013.
  6. 'England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010', FamilySearch, accessed 26 November 2013.
  7. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Cornwall, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 21 November 2013.
  8. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:32.
  • This page has been accessed 673 times.