St Ives, CornwallEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  go to  Cornwall Gotoarrow.png  Cornwall Parishes

Guide to St Ives, Cornwall family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Ives, Cornwall
St Ives church contributor David Long.jpg
St Ives church contributor David Long
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Penwith
County Cornwall
Poor Law Union Penzance PLU
Registration District Penzance
Records begin
Parish registers: 1651
Bishop's Transcripts: 1614
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Penwith
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall
Location of Archive
Cornwall Record Office

Contents

Parish History

IVES, ST. (St. Andrew), a sea-port, borough, and parish, in the union of Penzance, hundred of Penwith, W. division of the county of Cornwall, 9 miles (N. E. by N.) from Penzance, and 278 (W. S. W.) from LondonThere are places of worship for the Countess of Huntingdon's Connexion, Primitive Methodists, and Wesleyans, which last have also a meeting-house in the village of Halsetown. [1]

St Ives is an Ecclesiastical Parish and a market town in the county of Cornwall, created in 1826 from chapelry in Lelant, Cornwall Ancient Parish.

Other places in the parish include: Chyanchy, Hellesveor, Street-an-Garrow, and Trevalgan.

Resources

Civil Registration

Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is Free BMD.

Church records

St Ives, Cornwall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free[3]
CPRI = Cornwall Parish Register Index - free[4]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[5][6]
FREG = FreeREG - free[7]
FS PRs = England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010 (FamilySearch) - free[8]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[9]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[10]
St Ives, Cornwall Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1607-1812

COPC 1679-1913
1653-1913
1679-1869, 1891-1938
CPRI
1860-1900

FMP 1651-1816 1607-1837
FREG
1653-1812, 1883-1906

FS PRs 1651-1868 1651-1906 1651-1869
IGI 1651-1812
PALL
1800-1812

Images of parish registers are available online at FamilySearch Images refer to Cornwall Record Office reference: P 91

Images of St Ives Wesleyan Methodist Circuit Baptisms are also online at historic records

Cornwall Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks page for the parish, also available is the West Penwith website.

Census records

Overview, Include any unique information such as, the census for X year was destroyed, Collection in FHL and link to catalog, Online sites.

Cornwall Online Census Project

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

Websites

St Ives in GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis,Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 628-631. Date accessed: 06 March 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 2 December 2013.
  4. 'Database Coverage,' Cornwall Parish Register Index, accessed 1 February 2014.
  5. 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 22 November 2013.
  6. 'Cornwall Marriages', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  7. 'Cornwall Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 November 2013.
  8. 'England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010', FamilySearch, accessed 26 November 2013.
  9. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Cornwall, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 21 November 2013.
  10. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 September 2014, at 17:05.
  • This page has been accessed 1,048 times.