St James' Duke's PlaceEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png London Gotoarrow.png London Parishes Gotoarrow.png St James Duke's Place

London St James Duke's Place family history and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St James' Duke's Place
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred London, Within the Walls
County London
Poor Law Union City of London PLU
Registration District London City
Records begin
Parish registers: 1664
Bishop's Transcripts: 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division)
Location of Archive
London Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Timeline

  • 1622 - parish created
  • 1874 - church demolished

1831 description

"St James Duke Place, the church of, is situated in that part of Duke's Place called the square, and nearly opposite the Great Synagogue of the German Jews. Duke's Place is a district covered with lanes and alleys, on a site of part of the once splendid and wealthy priory of the Holy Trinity, founded in 1108, by Matilda, Queen of Henry I. Being the richest in England, it was the first that was siexed upon by Henry VIII, in 1531, at the period of the dissolution of the religious houses. The King gave it to Sir Thomas Audley, Speaker of the Parliament, and afterwards Lord High Chancellor, for his services in opposition to Cardinal Wolsey. Sir Thomas demolished the priory, and converted part of it into a large mansion for his own residence. The only daughter of Sir Thomas being married to the Duke of Norfolk, the estate descended to the Duke, and was from that time to the present known by the name of "the Duke's place". When the Duke was beheaded, the estate descended to his son Thomas Howard, Eart of Suffolk who sold it in the thrirty-fourth year of Wueen Elizabeth to the mayor, commonalty and citizens of london. The inhabitants of Duke's Place, wishing to have a parish church to themselves, within their own precinct, applied to the Archbishop of Canterbury, who procured the King's warrant, and prevailed upon the Lord mator, aldermen, and common-council, to build them a church with the materials of the conventual church, which then remained upon the premises. This was accordingly done, and the church was consecrated an dedicated to St James, in honour of the reigning King, James I, on the 2nd of january 1622. Although it is a precinct within itself, under a minister, two constables, two headboroughs and fifteen jurymen. Duke's Place is now principally inhabited by Jews, who settled therein in the time of Oliver Cromwell. The church having escaped the fire of 1666, still retains its original form, but the body was rebuilt in 1727. It is a perpetual curacy in the city and archdeaconry of London, and in the patronage of the Lord Mayor and commonalty of London..."[1]

1848 parish description:
St. James, Duke’s-place, is a parish of the city of London Within the Walls. The patron is the Mayor and Alderman, the impropriators. It is a parish within the poor-law union of the City of London.[2]

Clandestine marriages

During the second half of the seventeenth century, St James' Duke's Place was a clandestine place of marriage, free of the Bishop of London. 40,000 marriages took place there between 1661 and 1691. In 1686, the rector was actually suspended for performing marriages without banns or licence.[3]

Resources

Church records

Online St James' Duke's Place Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1664
1651
1664
Images
1664-1812 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[4]
1813-1872 Ancestry[5] 1754-1868 Ancestry[6] 1813-1853 Ancestry[7]
Indexes 1747-1860 FamilySearch[8] 1651-1837 FindMyPast[9] 1813-1853 FindMyPast[10]
    1664-1868

FamilySearch[11]

1813-1853 BritishOrigins[12]
    1664-1837 TheGenealogist[13]    
    1668-1683 FamilySearchBooks[14]    
1683-1690 FreeReg[15]
    1684-1690 FamilySearchBooks[14]    
    1684-1690 InternetArchive[14]    
    1691-1700 FamilySearchBooks[14]    
    1691-1700 InternetArchive[14]    
    1700-1837 FamilySearchBooks[14]    
    1780-1837 Ancestry[16]    

Census records

1625 Subsidy

  • St James, Duke's Place, Aldgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/549); copy: FHL Film 2228703.

1638 Inhabitants List

1645 Subsidy

  • St James Duke's Place, Aldgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/616); copy: FHL Film 2228705.

1666 Hearth Tax

1692-1932 Land Taxes

1695 Inhabitants Lists

Civil Registration

St Botolph without Aldgate.png

Probate records

Will indexes for probate courts covering St James' Duke's Place Parish are available online.

Before 1858, St James' Duke's Place fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London. From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry.

Go to London Probate Records to find the names of the courts having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.

Cemetery

A cemetery survey (1910), available online, covers monumental inscriptions in the St James Duke's Place churchyard.[17]

Websites

(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St James Duke's Place

References

  1. James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitised by Google Books.
  2. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 129-170. Adapted. Date accessed: 18 December 2013.
  3. Else Churchill, "Stuck in London: resources at the SOG and elsewhere." Presentation, Society of Genealogists, 2011. Slides available online.
  4. London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St James, Duke's Place in the City of London. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
  5. London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St James Duke's Place in the City of London. Partially indexed.
  6. London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St James Duke's Place in the City of London. Partially indexed.
  7. London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St James Duke's Place in the City of London. Partially indexed.
  8. Batch C022481, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes parish register transcripts.
  9. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011; Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists Enterprises Ltd., 1994). FHL Book 942 K22L 1994
  10. John Hanson, 'City of London Burials,' Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011.
  11. Batches M022481, M022482, M022483, M022484, M022485, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011.
  12. 'Greater London Burials: Middlesex and City of London Burials: Parishes, Counts and References,' British Origins (£), accessed 4 April 2013.
  13. 'London Parish Record Transcripts,' The Genealogist, accessed 12 December 2011.
  14. 14.0 14.1 14.2 14.3 14.4 14.5 W.P.W. Phillimore and George E. Cokayne, London Parish Registers. Marriages at St. James's, Duke's Place, from 1668 to 1837. 4 vols. (1900). Vol. I: 1668-1683, Vol. II: 1684-1690, Vol. III: 1691-1700, Vol. IV: 1700-1837. Digitized by Family History Archives and Internet Archive.
  15. Middlesex and London Coverage, FreeReg, accessed 6 November 2012.
  16. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
  17. Percy C. Rushden, The Churchyard Inscriptions of the City of London (London: Phillimore and Co., Ltd., 1910). Digitised by Internet Archive.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:59.
  • This page has been accessed 2,339 times.