St Juliot, CornwallEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  go to  Cornwall Gotoarrow.png  Cornwall Parishes

Guide to St Juliot, Cornwall ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Juliot, Cornwall
St Juliot Church Cornwall.jpg
St Juliot Church Cornwall
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Lesnewth
County Cornwall
Poor Law Union Camelford PLU
Registration District Camelford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1646
Bishop's Transcripts: 1623
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Trigg Major
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall
Location of Archive
Cornwall Record Office

Contents

Parish History

JULIOT, ST., a parish, in the union of Camelford, hundred of Lesnewth, E. division of Cornwall, 6 miles (N. by E.) from Camelford. [1]

The parish church is dedicated to St Julitta (Juliot) and stands in an isolated location above the valley of the River Valency at OS grid reference SX129912[2] The parish church of Lanteglos by Camelford and the castle chapel at Tintagel are also dedicated to St Julitta. The chapel of St Julitta was acquired in 1238 by the canons of St Stephens by Launceston and before 1269 was annexed to their church of St Gennys. At the Reformation it was separated from St Gennys and became a donative served by perpetual curates who were paid £7 annually. It became a rectory in 1865. There was formerly a north transept which was removed in the Victorian restoration. The tower is of three stages; the south aisle is built of granite and has one additional bay east of the end of the nave. Features of interest include the vaulted granite south porch and a relief in bronze of the Deposition of Christ which is the work of an Italian 16th century Mannerist. There are two Cornish crosses in the churchyard.
The parish now belongs to the Boscastle and Davidstow United Benefice in the Diocese of Truro.

Resources

Civil Registration

Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is Free BMD.

Church records

St Juliot, Cornwall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free[3]
FMP = findmypast - (£)[4][5]
FREG = FreeREG - free[6]
FS PRs = England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010 (FamilySearch) - free[7]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[8]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[9]
St Juliot, Cornwall Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1623-1812

COPC 1657-1912
1656-1901
1663-1901
FMP 1682-1900 1623-1837
FREG
1656-1812, 1837-1907

FS PRs 1656-1712, 1813-1904 1656-1712, 1774-1907 1656-1712, 1813-1901
IGI 1682-1805 1656-1812
PALL
1800-1812

Images of parish registers are available online at FamilySearch Images refer to Cornwall Record Office reference: P 94

Cornwall Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks page for the parish. 

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241262.

Cornwall Online Census Project

Poor Law Unions

Camelford Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

Websites

St Juliot in GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis,Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 631-640. Date accessed: 06 March 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 2 December 2013.
  4. 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  5. 'Cornwall Marriages', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  6. 'Cornwall Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 November 2013.
  7. 'England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010', FamilySearch, accessed 26 November 2013.
  8. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Cornwall, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 21 November 2013.
  9. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 06:22.
  • This page has been accessed 923 times.