St Lawrence Jewry with St Mary Magdalene Milk StreetEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
England
London
London Parishes
St Lawrence Jewry with St Mary Magdalene Milk Street
London St Lawrence Jewry with St Mary Magdalene Milk Street family history and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers (baptisms, christenings, marriages, and burials), civil registration (births, marriages, and deaths), census records, history, wills, cemetery, online transcriptions and indexes, an interactive map and website resources.
Contents |
Church records
St Lawrence Jewry Parish
| | |||||||||||||||||||
| |
|
| |||||||||||||||||
| Earliest | |
|
| ||||||||||||||||
| Images | | ||||||||||||||||||
| 1813-1846 | Ancestry[2] | 1754-1921 | Ancestry[3] | 1813-1853 1939 |
Ancestry[4] | ||||||||||||||
| Indexes | 1538-1812 | FamilySearch[5] | 1538-1837 | FindMyPast[6] | 1563-1812 | FindMyPast[7] | |||||||||||||
| 1538-1880 | 1800-1853 | FindMyPast[9] | |||||||||||||||||
| 1754-1837 | Ancestry[10] | 1800-1881 | BritishOrigins[11] | ||||||||||||||||
| 1764-1812 | BritishOrigins[12] | ||||||||||||||||||
St Mary Magdalene Milk Street
| | |||||||||||||||||||
| |
|
| |||||||||||||||||
| Earliest | |
|
| ||||||||||||||||
| Images | | ||||||||||||||||||
| Indexes | 1538-1812 | FamilySearch[13] | 1559-1666 | 1566-1665 | FindMyPast[7] | ||||||||||||||
| 1559-1666 | FindMyPast[6] | 1800-1853 | FindMyPast[9] | ||||||||||||||||
| 1754-1837 | Ancestry[10] | 1800-1881 | BritishOrigins[11] | ||||||||||||||||
Clarke published the registers of both parishes:
- St Lawrence Jewry 1538-1676
- St Mary Madalene Milk Street 1558-1666
- St Lawrence Jewry and St Mary Magdalen Milk Street 1677-1812[15]
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, nonconformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection.
Census records
1541 Subsidy
- 1541 London Subsidy Roll, Cheap Ward - Saynt Laurence Paryshe, courtesy: British History Online
- 1541 London Subsidy Roll, Cripplegate Ward - Parte of Seynt Laurence Parishe in the Jurye, courtesy: British History Online
- 1541 London Subsidy Roll, Bread Street Ward - Saynt Peter and Mary Magdelyn in Cheppe, courtesy: British History Online
- 1541 London Subsidy Roll, Cripplegate Ward - The Parte of the Parish of Seynt Marye Magdaleyn in Mylkstrete, courtesy: British History Online
1547 Subsidy
- St Lawrence, Jewry, Cheap Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/151); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
- St Lawrence, Jewry, Cripplegate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/142); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
- St Mary Magdalen, Milk Street, Bread Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/140); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
- St Mary Magdalen, Milk Street, Cripplegate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/142); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
1582 Subsidy
- 1582 London Subsidy Roll, Cheap Ward - St Lawrence Parrishe, courtesy: British History Online
- 1582 London Subsidy Roll, Cripplegate Ward - St Laurences Parishe, courtesy: British History Online
- 1582 London Subsidy Roll, Bread Street Ward - St Peters & St Marye Magdalen (Milk Street) Parrishes, courtesy: British History Online
- 1582 London Subsidy Roll, Cripplegate Ward - St Mary Magdalyns Parishe, courtesy: British History Online
1589 Subsidy
1621 Subsidy
- St Mary Magdalen, Milk Street, Bread Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/483); copy: FHL Film 2228702.
1638 Inhabitants List
- Inhabitants of London in 1638 - St Lawrence, Old Jewry, courtesy: British History Online
- Inhabitants of London in 1638 - St Mary Maudlin, Milk Street, courtesy: British History Online
1645-1646 Subsidy
- St Mary Magdalen, Milk Street, Bread Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/590 Part 2); copy: FHL Film 2228704.
1666 Hearth Tax
- Hearth Tax: City of London 1666 - St Lawrence Jewry, courtesy: British History Online
- Hearth Tax: City of London 1666 - St Mary Magdalen Milk Street, courtesy: British History Online
1667 Hearth Tax
- St Lawrence, Jewry, Cripplegate Within Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/630); copy: FHL Film 2228702.
- St Mary Magdalen, Milk Street, Cripplegate Within Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/630); copy: FHL Film 2228702.
1692-1932 Land Taxes
1695 Inhabitants Lists
|
|
This section requires expansion with: any unique information, such as the census for X year was destroyed. |
Civil Registration
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Probate records
Will indexes for probate courts covering these parishes are available online.
Before 1858, St Lawrence Jewry with St Mary Magdalene Milk Street fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London. From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry.
Go to London Probate Records to find the names of the courts having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.
Cemetery
Transcripts of early St Lawrence Jewry with St Mary Magdalene Milk Street tombs found in the interior of the churches were published in Catalogue of the most Memorable Persons who had visible Tombs, plated Gravestones ... in the City of London (through) A.D. 1700, which is available online.[16]
Records of the Poor
Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.
Parish History
"St Lawrence Jewry with St Mary Magdalene Milk Street, it is situated at the southwest corner Guildhall Yard and at Cateaton Street . It derives its name has been dedicated to St. Lawrence, a Spanish saint...[and of it's location] near the Jewry. In the ancient church on the site was a rectory, which being given by Henry de Wickenbroke to Balliol College, in 1294, directory ceased, and Richard Bishop of London, converted it into a vicarage, and the patronage still continues with the master and scholars of that college. It was destroyed by the great fire of 1666, and was rebuilt by Sir Christopher Wren, at the expense of the parishioners, assisted by a very liberal benefaction by Sir John Langham. The parish of St. Mary, Magdalene, Milk Street, was united in to it by an act of parliament, and the church was finished in 1676. The present church is a handsome building of the Corinthian order, and the east end, next Guildhall Yard, is a composition of or Corinthian columns, with niches and festoons of fruit. On the summit of the steeple, is a vane in the form of a gridiron, illustrative of St. Lawrence's martyrdom. The interior is rich, and beautifully decorated with elaborately modeled stucco ornaments, and has several monuments to celebrated persons. It is 81 feet long, 68 broad, and 48 high. This church is occasionally used Bo and Walbrook churches [which see, respectively, St. Mary le Bow and Stephen Walbrook] for corporation sermons. The advowson of this church is a vicarage, and in that of its sister parish of St. Mary Magdalene, Milk Street, is a rectory, and to the patronage is alternately with Baliol College and the dean and chapter of St. Paul's. It is in the city in archdeaconry of London..."[17]
St Lawrence Jewry belonged to Cheap Ward.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Web sites
(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).
- London Family History Centre Catalogue (St. Lawrence Jewry records)
- London Family History Centre Catalogue (St. Mary Magdalen Milk Street records)
- St Lawrence Jewry, Gresham Street (Church Bells of the City of London). Photographs, history, inscriptions on church bells.
- Society of Genealogists Library Catalogue (to narrow results, conduct a subject search for 'London St Lawrence Jewry' or 'St Mary Magdalen Milk Street')
References
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Lawrence Jewry in the City of London | St Mary Magdalen, Milk Street in the City of London. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
- ↑ London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Lawrence Jewry in the City of London. Partially indexed.
- ↑ London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Lawrence Jewry in the City of London. Partially indexed.
- ↑ London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Lawrence Jewry in the City of London. Partially indexed.
- ↑ Batch P001461, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011.
- ↑ 6.0 6.1 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011; Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists Enterprises Ltd., 1994). FHL Book 942 K22L 1994
- ↑ 7.0 7.1 'Boyd's London Burials Index - places and counts,' Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes adult male burials only.
- ↑ Batch M001461 (inactive 21/02/2012), see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes parish register transcripts and parish registers.
- ↑ 9.0 9.1 John Hanson, 'City of London Burials,' Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011.
- ↑ 10.0 10.1 Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
- ↑ 11.0 11.1 'Greater London Burials: Middlesex and City of London Burials: Parishes, Counts and References,' British Origins (£), accessed 4 April 2013.
- ↑ 'Webb's London Marriages - Marriages, periods and parishes/churches,' British Origins, accessed 4 July 2011.
- ↑ Batch P001461, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011.
- ↑ Batch M001461, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011.
- ↑ Stuart A. Raymond, London and Middlesex: A Genealogical Bibliography (Birmingham, UK: Federation of Family History Societies, c1997), Vol. 2:28.
- ↑ Payne Fisher and G. Blacker Morgan, Catalogue of the Tombs in the Churches of the City of London, A.D. 1666 (1668; reprint, London: Hasell, Watson, Viney, Ld., 1885). Digitised by Internet Archive.
- ↑ James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitised by Google Books.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 14 November 2012, at 17:43.
- This page has been accessed 1,265 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

