St Martin, Yorkshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to St Martin, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|St Martin, Yorkshire|
|Poor Law Union||Richmond|
|Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes|
|Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes|
|Rural Deanery||Not Applicable|
|Probate Court||Search the courts of the surrounding parishes|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
MARTIN, ST., an extra-parochial liberty, locally in the chapelry of Hipswell, parish of Catterick, union of Richmond, wapentake of Hang-East, N. riding of York, ¾ of a mile (S. E.) from Richmond. St Martin is an extra-parochial place. Search surrounding parishes for records and information.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online data content from chapelry registers of Catterick exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|IARC = Archive.org|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|ANC = ancestry.co.uk (£)|
|HATH = HathiTrust.org|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|ST. MARTIN CHAPELRY (1715) Online Records|
|| 1715-1867, 1880-1882
For a full list of all those chapels surrounding St. Martin and comprising the whole ancient parish of Catterick to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the Catterick page.
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Non Conformist Churches
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464231.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.
- This page was last modified on 12 January 2016, at 03:21.
- This page has been accessed 1,829 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News