St Martin LudgateEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png London Gotoarrow.png London Parishes Gotoarrow.png St Martin Ludgate

London St Martin Ludgate family history and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Martin Ludgate
Londonstmartinludgate.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred London, Within the Walls
County London
Poor Law Union City of London PLU
Registration District London City
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538; Separate registers exist for St Sepulchre Old Red Hand and Mitre Chapel beginning 1750-54
Bishop's Transcripts: 1629-30; 1639-40; 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of London
Location of Archive
London Record Office

Contents

Parish History

St Martin Ludgate
"St Martin Ludgate, the church of, is situated on the north side of Ludgate Street, between Stationers Hall Court and the Old Bailey [Sessions]. It is so named from being dedicated to the before mentioned St. Martin, and it's contiguity to the ancient Ludgate. The patronage of his church was originally in the Abbot and convent Westminster, and continued with him till the suppression of that monastery by Henry VIII, who erected Westminster into a bishopric, and conferred it on the new Bishop. The see, however, being dissolved by Edward VI, Queen Mary his successor granted the advowson to the Bishop of London and his successors, in whom it still remains.


"The ancient church was destroyed by the great fire in 1666, after which the present church was erected for the designs of Sir Christopher Wren. It is a rectory in the city, diocese and archdeaconry of London,and in the patronage of the Bishop of London."[1]

1848 description

St. Martin, Ludgate is a parish, of the city of London Within the Walls. The patron is, the Bishop. It is within the poor-law union of the City of London.[2]

Resources

Church records

Online St Martin Ludgate Parish Register Images and Indexes
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1539
1538
1539
Images
1539-1812 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[3]
1813-1906 Ancestry[4] 1754-1921 Ancestry[5] 1813-1848
1909
Ancestry[6]
Indexes 1539-1861 FamilySearch[7] 1538-1837 FindMyPast[8] 1813-1848 FindMyPast[9]
    1538-1626
1701-1837
BritishOrigins[10]
    1800-1837 Ancestry[11]    

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.


Census records

1541 Subsidy

1547 Subsidy

  • St Martin, Ludgate, Farringdon Within Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/151); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Martin, Ludgate, Farringdon Without Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/145); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1582 Subsidy

St Andrew by the Wardrobe.png

1589 Subsidy

FamilySearch Books Online

1622 Subsidy

  • St Martin, Ludgate, Farringdon Without Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/505); copy: FHL Film 2228702.

1625 Subsidy

  • St Martin, Ludgate, Farringdon Without Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/537); copy: FHL Film 2228703.
  • St Martin, Ludgate, Farringdon Ward Within, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/555); copy: FHL Film 2228704.

1638 Inhabitants List

1645 Subsidies

  • St Martin, Ludgate, Farringdon Ward Within, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/590 Part 14); copy: FHL Film 2228704.
  • St Martin, Ludgate, Farringdon Ward Without, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/600); copy: FHL Film 2228704.

1666 Hearth Tax

1692-1932 Land Taxes

1695 Inhabitants Lists

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.

Before 1858, St Martin Ludgate fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Archdeaconry of London. In practice, many residents left their wills in the Prerogative Court of Canterbury from the 1700s through 1858.[12] From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry.

Go to London Probate Records to find the names of the courts having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Cemetery

St Martin Ludgate churchyard site
Transcripts of early St Martin Ludgate tombs found in the interior of the church were published in Catalogue of the most Memorable Persons who had visible Tombs, plated Gravestones ... in the City of London (through) A.D. 1700, which is available online.[13]

A survey of monumental brasses, published 1891, is available online.[14]

Poor Law Unions

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Martin Ludgate

FamilySearch Books Online

References

  1. James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitised by Google Books.
  2. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 129-170. Adapted. Date accessed: 19 December 2013.
  3. London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Martin, Ludgate in the City of London. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
  4. London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Martin Ludgate in the City of London. Partially indexed.
  5. London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Martin Ludgate in the City of London. Partially indexed.
  6. London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Martin Ludgate in the City of London. Partially indexed.
  7. Batches C021602, P021601, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes parish register xxx.
  8. "Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county," Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011; Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists Enterprises Ltd., 1994). FHL Book 942 K22L 1994
  9. John Hanson, "City of London Burials," Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011.
  10. "Webb's London Marriages - Marriages, periods and parishes/churches," British Origins, accessed 4 July 2011.
  11. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
  12. "About Archdeaconry Court of London Wills Index 1750-1800", British Origins, accessed 23 December 2011.
  13. Payne Fisher and G. Blacker Morgan, Catalogue of the Tombs in the Churches of the City of London, A.D. 1666 (1668; reprint, London: Hasell, Watson, Viney, Ld., 1885). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  14. Andrew Oliver, A List of Monumental Brasses in the City of London Churches (1891). Digitized by Internet Archive.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 September 2014, at 21:04.
  • This page has been accessed 1,953 times.