St Mary AldermanburyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png London Gotoarrow.png London Parishes Gotoarrow.png St Mary Aldermanbury

London St Mary Aldermanbury ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Mary Aldermanbury
Londonstmaryaldermanbury.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred London, Within the Walls
County London
Poor Law Union City of London PLU
Registration District London City
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division)
Location of Archive
London Record Office

Contents

Parish History

St Mary Aldermanbury church site
'St Mary Aldermanbury, the church of, is situated on the west side of the street so called, between Love Lane and Addle Street, Wood Street, Cheapside. It derives its name from its dedication to the Virgin Mary, and its addition from its situation. This church is of very ancient date, as appears from a sepulchral inscription, recorded to have been in the old church, bearing the date of 1116. The patronage was formerly in the Dean and Chapter of St Paul's, who in 1331, with the consent of Stephen, Bishop of London, appropriated it to the adjoining hospital of Elsing Spital. After the dissolution of the religious houses, the patronage was granted to the parishioners, who have ever since enjoyed the right of presentation.


'It is a curacy in the city, diocese and archdeaconry of London, and in the patronage of the parishioners.'[1]

The church building was bombed during World War II. 'It was re-erected in 1969 in the United States of America at Westminster College, Fulton, Missouri.'[2]

The parish was also known as St Mary the Virgin Aldermanbury Parish.

1848 parish description

St. Mary, Aldermanbury, with St. Thomas, are parishes of the city of London Within the Walls. The patron is, the Parishioners. They are within the poor-law union of the City of London.[3]

Resources

Church records

Online St Mary Aldermanbury Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1538
1538
1538
Images
1722-1812 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[4]
1813-1901 Ancestry[5] 1754-1921 Ancestry[6] 1813-1859 Ancestry[7]
Indexes 1538-1862 FamilySearch[8] 1538-1837 findmypast[9] 1279-1850 findmypast[10]
1538-1880

FamilySearch[11]

1813-1851 findmypast[12]
    1776-1800 BritishOrigins[13] 1813-1856 BritishOrigins[14]
    1780-1836 Ancestry[15]    

Publications of the Harleian Society Parish Registers Series published the parish registers (baptisms 1538-1837, marriages 1538-1837, burials 1538-1859).[16]

Webb published an index to burials for the years 1813 to 1859.[17]

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.


Census records

1541 Subsidy

1547 Subsidy

  • St Mary, Aldermanbury, Cripplegate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/142); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1582 Subsidy

St Giles without Cripplegate.png

1666 Hearth Tax

1667 Hearth Tax

  • St Mary, Aldermanbury, Cripplegate Within Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/630); copy: FHL Film 2228702.

1692-1932 Land Taxes


1695 Inhabitants Lists


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Probate records

Will indexes for probate courts covering St Mary Aldermanbury Parish are available online.

Before 1858, St Mary Aldermanbury fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London. From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry.

Go to London Probate Records to find the names of the courts having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.

Cemetery

St Mary Aldermanbury churchyard site

Transcripts of early St Mary Aldermanbury tombs found in the interior of the church were published in Catalogue of the most Memorable Persons who had visible Tombs, plated Gravestones ... in the City of London (through) A.D. 1700, which is available online.[18]

A cemetery survey (1910), available online, covers monumental inscriptions in the St Mary Aldermanbury churchyard.[19]

St Mary Aldermanbury Cemetery database at Find A Grave.

Records of the Poor

During the seventeenth century, officials gave some foundlings discovered in St Mary Aldermanbury Parish the unique surname Aldermanbury. Nonsuch is another surname given to foundlings here.[20]

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Mary Aldermanbury

References

  1. James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitised by Google Books.
  2. 'Site of St. Mary the Virgin,' Friends of The City Churches, accessed 18 October 2011.
  3. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 129-170. Adapted. Date accessed: 19 December 2013.
  4. London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Mary Aldermanbury in the City of London. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
  5. London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Mary Aldermanbury in the City of London. Partially indexed.
  6. London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Mary Aldermanbury in the City of London. Partially indexed.
  7. London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Mary Aldermanbury in the City of London. Partially indexed.
  8. Batches C001522, P001521, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011.
  9. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011; Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists Enterprises Ltd., 1994). FHL Book 942 K22L 1994
  10. 'Boyd's London Burials Index - places and counts,' Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes adult male burials only.
  11. Batch M001521, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes parish register transcripts and parish registers.
  12. John Hanson, 'City of London Burials,' Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011.
  13. 'Webb's London Marriages - Marriages, periods and parishes/churches,' British Origins, accessed 4 July 2011.
  14. 'Greater London Burials: Middlesex and City of London Burials: Parishes, Counts and References,' British Origins (£), accessed 4 April 2013.
  15. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
  16. Stuart A. Raymond, London and Middlesex: A Genealogical Bibliography (Birmingham, UK: Federation of Family History Societies, c1997), Vol. 2:28.
  17. Cliff Webb, Some London Burials, Post-1812 (1979). FHL Book 942.1/L1 K29w.
  18. Payne Fisher and G. Blacker Morgan, Catalogue of the Tombs in the Churches of the City of London, A.D. 1666 (1668; reprint, London: Hasell, Watson, Viney, Ld., 1885). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  19. Percy C. Rushden, The Churchyard Inscriptions of the City of London (London: Phillimore and Co., Ltd., 1910). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  20. Nathan W. Murphy, 'London Foundlings in Colonial America: Overseas Leads to Dead Ends: John Abchurch, William Abchurch, Isaac Jewry, and Henry Woolchurch of Virginia and Maryland,' The American Genealogist, Vol. 83, No. 2 (Jul./Oct. 2008):131-140.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:32.
  • This page has been accessed 5,515 times.