St Mary Extra, HampshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Hampshire Gotoarrow.png Hampshire ParishesGotoarrow.png St Mary Extra

Guide to St Mary Extra, Hampshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Mary Extra, Hampshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Mainsbridge
County Hampshire
Poor Law Union South Stoneham PLU
Registration District South Stoneham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1671
Bishop's Transcripts: 1785
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Southampton
Diocese Winchester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1845 - Court of the Peculiar of South Stoneham and St Mary Extra with Allington and Shamblehurst; Post-1844 - Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester
Location of Archive
Hampshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

MARY-EXTRA (ST.), or WESTON, a parish and a subdistrict in South Stoneham district, Hants. The parish lies on the river Itchin and on the Southwestern railway, adjacent to Southampton; and contains the places called Weston, Woolston, Itchenor, and Newtown. Posttown, Southampton.[1].

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

St Mary Extra, Hampshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2]
ST MARY EXTRA PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1700s-1800s

1500s-1800s


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288802.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870. Date accessed: 5 June 2013.
  2. 'Over 1.4 million new Hampshire parish records published', Find My Past, accessed 3 October 2013. Date ranges are not clearly identified.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 April 2014, at 05:35.
  • This page has been accessed 916 times.