St Mary Hoo, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Kent  Gotoarrow.png  Kent Parishes

Guide to Hoo St Mary, Kent family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


St Mary Hoo, Kent
Former parish church St Mary Hoo Kent.jpg
Former parish church St Mary Hoo Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Hoo
County Kent
Poor Law Union Hoo PLU
Registration District Hoo
Records begin
Parish registers: 1695
Bishop's Transcripts: 1718
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rochester
Diocese Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Rochester
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HOO (St. Mary), a parish, in the union and hundred of Hoo, lathe of Aylesford, W. division of Kent, 5 miles (N. E. by N.) from Rochester.[1]


St Mary Hoo is a village and civil parish on the Hoo peninsula in the Medway District of Kent. Hoo Peninsula Wikipedia St Mary Hoo Wikipedia

The former Ancient Parish church of St Mary is now a private dwelling and has been designated a grade II listed building by English Heritage and dates from the 14th century.British listed building

See Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 4 (1798), pp. 20-27 at British History Online and Kent Churches website

See St Mary Hoo North West Kent Family History Society and St Mary Hoo

Resources

Civil Registration

This parish was part of Hoo sub district and registrations from July 1837 to the present day are held at

Medway district
The Register Office
Northgate
Rochester
ME1 1LS
Telephone 01634 338902
Fax 01634 338913
register.office@medway.gov.uk

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

St Mary Hoo, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free[4]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[5]
MED = Medway Ancestors - free[6]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[7]
St Mary Hoo, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1813-1874


FREG 1695-1976
1695-1955
1695-1978
FS BTs 1720-1874 1720-1874 1720-1874
IGI 1695-1812 1695-1837
MED 1695-1978 1695-1978 1695-1978
NBI

1629-1795

Land Tax

Images for Hoo are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1832

The images for this parish are found under the way point Kent>Hoo near Rochester

Another set of images have the way point Kent>Hoo near Strood and relate to the parish of Hoo St Werburgh, Kent

Both of these image sets are derived from a single 1987 microfilm of Kent Archives bundle reference Q/RPL/181.

Census records

Census returns for St Mary Hoo 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
[1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK
[2] to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Hoo Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 542-545. Date accessed: 15 August 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 7 November 2013.
  3. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
  4. 'England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 11 November 2013.
  5. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Kent, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 15 November 2013.
  6. 'Medway Ancestors Imagebase: list of parishes, in alphabetical order', Cityark, accessed 8 November 2013.
  7. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 3 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 June 2014, at 15:17.
  • This page has been accessed 2,029 times.