St Mary Magdalene Old Fish Street with St Gregory by St PaulEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England go to London go to London Parishes go to St Mary Magdalene Old Fish Street with St Gregory by St Paul

London St Mary Magdalene Old Fish Street with St Gregory by St Paul family history and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Mary Magdalene Old Fish Street with St Gregory by St Paul
Londonstmarymagdalenoldfishstreet.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred London, Within the Walls
County London
Poor Law Union City of London PLU
Registration District London City
Records begin
Parish registers: 1539; Separate registers exist for St Gregory by St Paul's beginning 1559 and for St Paul's Cathedral beginning 1697
Bishop's Transcripts: 1800-21; Separate records exist for St Gregory by St Paul's beginning 1813-21 and for St Paul's Cathedral beginning 1814-38
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of London Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of St Paul's Cathedral
Location of Archive
London Record Office

Contents

Parish History

St Paul's Cathedral

St Gregory by St Paul Timeline

  • 1010 - first mentioned
  • 1666 - church destroyed in Great Fire of London; never rebuilt; united with St Mary Magdalene Old Fish Street Parish

St Mary Magdalene Old Fish Street Timeline

  • 1181 - first mentioned
  • 1666 - church destroyed in Great Fire of London
  • 1683-1687 - church rebuilt; united with St Gregory by St Paul Parish
  • 1886 - church damaged by fire; demolished

1831 description

'St Mary Magdalene Old Fish Street with St Gregory by St Paul, the church of, is situated on the north side of Knightrider Street at the west corner of the Old Change. Its name is derived from that of the saint to which it is dedicated, and its situation in the ancient fish market. This church was formerly a vicarage, in the tenure of the canons of St Paul's, so early as 1181; but for some centuries past, it has been a rectory in the gift of the minor canons of that cathedral. The old church was destroyed at the time of the great fire of 1666, as well as its neighbor St Gregory [by St Paul's] which is at the southwest corner of St Paul's Cathedral. This latter is a rectory of very ancient foundation, and took its name from Pope Gregory the Great, who sent St Austin the Monk to convert the English nation to Christianity. The church was rebuilt in 1685 by Sir Christopher Wren. The patronage of this church is also in the minor canons of St Paul's Churchyard, and the two parishes united by act of parliament.

'The united parishes are a rectory in the city of London, and exempt from archidiaconal visitation, the patrons being its ordinaries [no notable 'officials' or people belonged to the church].'[1]

'After obtaining Archbishop's licence from Doctors Commons couples often married at nearby churches such as St Benet Paul's Wharf, St Mary Magdalen Old Fish Street or St Gregory by St Pauls.'[2] St Mary Magdalene Old Fish Street was a popular place to marry, even after the 1754 marriage act.[3] After the Great Fire of London (1666), St Gregory by St Paul Parish united with St Mary Magdalene Old Fish Street Parish.[4]

St Mary Magdalene Old Fish Street belonged to Castle Baynard Ward.

1848 parish description


St. Mary Magdalene, Old Fish-street with St. Gregory by St. Paul, are parishes of the city of London Within the Walls. The patron is the Dean and Chapter of St. Paul’s. They are within the poor-law union of the City of London.[5]

Resources

Church records

St Gregory by St Paul Parish

Online St Gregory by St Paul Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1559
1559
1559
Images
1559-1812 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[6]
1813-1882 Ancestry[7] 1754-1867 Ancestry[8] 1813-1853 Ancestry[9]
Indexes 1599-1686 FamilySearch[10] 1559-1687

FamilySearch[11]

1559-1789 FindMyPast[12]
    1559-1821 FindMyPast[13] 1754-1821 FindMyPast[14]
    1800-1837 Ancestry[15] 1813-1821 BritishOrigins[16]
    1813-1821 BritishOrigins[17]    

St Mary Magdalene Old Fish Street Parish

Online St Mary Magdalene Old Fish Street Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1539
1538
1539
Images
1539-1812 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[6]
1813-1892 Ancestry[7] 1754-1886 Ancestry[8] 1813-1853 Ancestry[9]
Indexes 1539-1812 FamilySearch[18] 1538-1877

FamilySearch[19]

1559-1664 FindMyPast[12]
    1539-1639
1754-1837
BritishOrigins[17] 1813-1853 BritishOrigins[16]
    1539-1837 FindMyPast[13]    
    1800-1837 Ancestry[15]    

Webb published an index to burials for the years 1813 to 1853.[20]

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.


Census records

St Benet Pauls Wharf.png

1541 Subsidy

1547 Subsidy

  • St Mary Magdalen, Old Fish Street, Bread Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/140); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1582 Subsidy

1621 Subsidy

  • St Mary Magdalen, Old Fish Street, Bread Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/483); copy: FHL Film 2228702.

1625 Subsidy

  • St Gregory by St Paul's, Castle Baynard Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/546); copy: FHL Film 2228703.
  • St Mary Magdalen, Old Fish Street, Castle Baynard Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/546); copy: FHL Film 2228703.

1638 Inhabitants List

1666 Hearth Tax

1692-1932 Land Taxes

1695 Inhabitants Lists

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.

Before 1858, St Gregory by St Paul fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of St Paul's Cathedral. St Mary Magdalene Old Fish Street fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Archdeaconry of London. In practice, many St Mary Magdalene Old Fish Street residents left their wills in the Prerogative Court of Canterbury from the 1700s through 1858.[21] From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry.

Go to London Probate Records to find the names of the courts having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Cemetery

A cemetery survey (1910), available online, covers monumental inscriptions in the St Gregory churchyard.[22]

Records of the Poor

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

In the seventeenth century, 'Gregory' was a surname given to foundlings found in St Gregory by St Paul Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Mary Magdalen Old Fish Street
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Gregory by St Paul

References

  1. James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitised by Google Books.
  2. Else Churchill, "Stuck in London: resources at the SOG and elsewhere." Presentation, Society of Genealogists, 2011. Slides available online.
  3. Cliff Webb, My Ancestors were Londoners: A Guide to London Sources for Family Historians (London: Society of Genealogists, 2009), 21.
  4. Phillip B. Dunn, A Guide to Ancestral Research in London (Salt Lake City, Utah: Mountainland Printing and Marketing, c1987, 1992), 58-59. FHL Book 942.1/L1 D27d.
  5. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 129-170. Adapted. Date accessed: 19 December 2013
  6. 6.0 6.1 London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Gregory by St Paul in the City of London | St Mary Madgalen, Old Fish Street in the City of London. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
  7. 7.0 7.1 London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Gregory by St Paul's in the City of London | St Mary Magdalene Old Fish Street in the City of London. Partially indexed.
  8. 8.0 8.1 London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Gregory by St Paul's in the City of London | St Mary Magadalene Old Fish Street in the City of London. Partially indexed.
  9. 9.0 9.1 London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Gregory By St Paul's in the City of London | St Mary Magdalene Old Fish Street in the City of London. Partially indexed.
  10. Batch C054261, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011.
  11. Batch M054261, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011.
  12. 12.0 12.1 'Boyd's London Burials Index - places and counts,' Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes adult male burials only.
  13. 13.0 13.1 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011; Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists Enterprises Ltd., 1994). FHL Book 942 K22L 1994
  14. John Hanson, 'City of London Burials,' Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011.
  15. 15.0 15.1 Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
  16. 16.0 16.1 'Greater London Burials: Middlesex and City of London Burials: Parishes, Counts and References,' British Origins (£), accessed 4 April 2013.
  17. 17.0 17.1 'Webb's London Marriages - Marriages, periods and parishes/churches,' British Origins, accessed 4 July 2011.
  18. Batches C054851-C054852, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011.
  19. Batches M054851-M054852, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011.
  20. Cliff Webb, Some London Burials, Post-1812 (1979). FHL Book 942.1/L1 K29w.
  21. "About Archdeaconry Court of London Wills Index 1750-1800", British Origins, accessed 23 December 2011.
  22. Percy C. Rushden, The Churchyard Inscriptions of the City of London (London: Phillimore and Co., Ltd., 1910). Digitised by Internet Archive.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 September 2014, at 21:37.
  • This page has been accessed 4,379 times.