St Mary Somerset with St Mary MounthawEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png London Gotoarrow.png London Parishes Gotoarrow.png St Mary Somerset with St Mary Mounthaw

London St Mary Somerset with St Mary Mounthaw ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Mary Somerset with St Mary Mounthaw
Londonstmarysomerset.jpg
St Mary Somerset
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred London, Within the Walls
County London
Poor Law Union City of London PLU
Registration District London City
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558; Separate registers exist for St Mary Mounthaw beginning 1568
Bishop's Transcripts: 1800; Separate records exist for St Mary Mounthaw beginning 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of London
Location of Archive
London Record Office

Contents

Parish History

"St Mary Somerset with St Mary Mounthaw, the church of, is situated on the north side of Upper Thames Street, opposite Broken Wharf, and derives its addition, ...from its contiguity to a small hithe or haven, called Sumner's het, or hithe, since corrupted to Somerset. It appears from ancient records that a church stood on this site before the year 1335, but sharing the fate of most of the other buildings, in the fire of London, the present church was erected in its stead by Sir Christopher Wren,, and finished in 1695. After the fire of London, the parish of St Mary Mounthaw was united to this parish by act of parliament.
"St Mary Mounthaw, the church of was situated on the anciently on the west side of Fish Street Hill, near Queenhithe, and received its name from its dedication to the Virgin Mary, and the family of Montalto, or Monthaut, in the county of Norfolk, who were its original founders and patrons. It was destroyed by the fire of London, and not rebuilt, but the parish was united to that of St Mary Somerset, by act of Parliament."[1]
St Mary Somerset Parish was part of Queenhithe Ward. Only the tower of St Mary Somerset survives today.[2]

After the Great Fire of London (1666), St Mary Mounthaw Parish united with St Mary Somerset Parish.[3]

1848 parish description
St. Mary Somerset, with St. Mary Mounthaw, are parishes of the city of London Within the Walls. The patron is the Bishops of London and Hereford, alternately. They are parishes within the poor-law union of the City of London.[4]

The Church of St Mary Mounthaw Parish has been demolished.

Resources

Church records

Historically, St. Mary Somerset and St. Mary Mounthaw were two separate parishes. Each maintained individual parish registers.

St Mary Mounthaw Parish

Online St Mary Mounthaw Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1568
1568
1568
Images
1568-1819 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[5]
1813-1887 Ancestry[6] 1754-1849 Ancestry[7] 1813-1849 Ancestry[8]
Indexes 1568-1837 FamilySearch[9] 1568-1835 findmypast[10] 1563-1812 findmypast[11]
1568-1666
1754-1849

FamilySearch[12]

1754-1849 findmypast[13]
    1754-1809 BritishOrigins[14] 1813-1849 BritishOrigins[15]
    1780-1837 Ancestry[16]    

Publications of the Harleian Society Parish Register Series published parish registers from 1568 to 1849.[17]

St Mary Somerset Parish

Online St Mary Somerset Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1558
1558
1557
Images
1558-1812 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[5]
1813-1880 Ancestry[6] 1754-1877 Ancestry[7] 1813-1853 Ancestry[8]
Indexes 1558-1871 FamilySearch[18] 1558-1878

FamilySearch[19]

1557-1852 findmypast[11]
1559-1837 findmypast[10] 1813-1851 findmypast[13]
    1754-1812 BritishOrigins[14] 1813-1851 BritishOrigins[15]
    1780-1837 Ancestry[16]    

Publications of the Harleian Society Parish Register Series published parish registers from 1558 to 1837 (burials to 1853).[20]

Boundary

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Can you help?

Census records

St Benet Pauls Wharf.png

1547 Subsidy

  • St Mary Somerset, Queenhithe Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/152); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1582 Subsidy

1638 Inhabitants List

1692-1932 Land Taxes


1695 Inhabitants Lists


Civil Registration

The Tower Of St. Mary Somerset Church in City Of London.jpg

Stmarymounthawsite.JPG

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.

Before 1858, St Mary Somerset with St Mary Mounthaw fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Archdeaconry of London. In practice, many residents left their wills in the Prerogative Court of Canterbury from the 1700s through 1858.[21] From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry.

Go to London Probate Records to find the name of the court having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Cemetery

Transcripts of early St Mary Somerset with St Mary Mounthaw tombs found in the interior of the churches were published in Catalogue of the most Memorable Persons who had visible Tombs, plated Gravestones ... in the City of London (through) A.D. 1700, which is available online.[22]

A cemetery survey (1910), available online, covers monumental inscriptions in the St Mary Somerset churchyard.[23]. These flat gravestones were removed from the interior of the demolished church.

Records of the Poor

During the seventeenth century, officials gave some foundlings discovered in St Mary Mounthaw Parish the unique surname Mounthaw.[24]

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Mary Somerset
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Mary Mounthaw

References

  1. James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitised by Google Books.
  2. "St Mary Somerset (Tower)", Friends of The City Churches, accessed 18 October 2011.
  3. Phillip B. Dunn, A Guide to Ancestral Research in London (Salt Lake City, Utah: Mountainland Printing and Marketing, c1987, 1992), 58-59. FHL Book 942.1/L1 D27d.
  4. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 129-170. Adapted. Date accessed: 19 December 2013.
  5. 5.0 5.1 London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Mary Mounthaw in the City of London | St Mary Somerset in the City of London. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
  6. 6.0 6.1 London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Mary Mountshaw in the City of London | St Mary Somerset in the City of London. Partially indexed.
  7. 7.0 7.1 London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Mary Mountshaw in the City of London | St Mary Somerset in the City of London. Partially indexed.
  8. 8.0 8.1 London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Mary Mountshaw in the City of London | St Mary Somerset in the City of London. Partially indexed.
  9. Batch P001481, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011.
  10. 10.0 10.1 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011.
  11. 11.0 11.1 'Boyd's London Burials Index - places and counts,' Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes adult male burials only.
  12. Batch M001461 (inactive 21/02/2012), see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes parish register transcripts and parish registers.
  13. 13.0 13.1 John Hanson, 'City of London Burials,' Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011.
  14. 14.0 14.1 'Webb's London Marriages - Marriages, periods and parishes/churches,' British Origins, accessed 4 July 2011.
  15. 15.0 15.1 'Greater London Burials: Middlesex and City of London Burials: Parishes, Counts and References,' British Origins (£), accessed 4 April 2013.
  16. 16.0 16.1 Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
  17. Stuart A. Raymond, London and Middlesex: A Genealogical Bibliography (Birmingham, UK: Federation of Family History Societies, c1997), Vol. 2:28.
  18. Batch C001492, P001491, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011.
  19. Batch M001491, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011.
  20. Stuart A. Raymond, London and Middlesex: A Genealogical Bibliography (Birmingham, UK: Federation of Family History Societies, c1997), Vol. 2:28.
  21. "About Archdeaconry Court of London Wills Index 1750-1800", British Origins, accessed 23 December 2011.
  22. Payne Fisher and G. Blacker Morgan, Catalogue of the Tombs in the Churches of the City of London, A.D. 1666 (1668; reprint, London: Hasell, Watson, Viney, Ld., 1885). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  23. Percy C. Rushden, The Churchyard Inscriptions of the City of London (London: Phillimore and Co., Ltd., 1910). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  24. Nathan W. Murphy, "London Foundlings in Colonial America: Overseas Leads to Dead Ends: John Abchurch, William Abchurch, Isaac Jewry, and Henry Woolchurch of Virginia and Maryland," The American Genealogist, Vol. 83, No. 2 (Jul./Oct. 2008):131-140.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:35.
  • This page has been accessed 5,003 times.