St Mary at Hill with St Andrew HubbardEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
England
London
London Parishes
St Mary at Hill with St Andrew Hubbard
London St Mary at Hill with St Andrew Hubbard family history and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers (baptisms, christenings, marriages, and burials), civil registration (births, marriages, and deaths), census records, history, wills, cemetery, online transcriptions and indexes, an interactive map and website resources.
Contents |
Church records
St Mary at Hill and St Andrew Hubbard were originally two individual parishes. Each maintained separate parish registers.
St Andrew Hubbard Parish
| | |||||||||||||||||||
| |
|
| |||||||||||||||||
| Earliest | |
|
| ||||||||||||||||
| Images | | ||||||||||||||||||
| 1813-1846 | Ancestry[2] | 1813-1837 | Ancestry[3] | 1813-1846 | Ancestry[4] | ||||||||||||||
| Indexes | 1800-1837 | FamilySearch[5] | 1538-1837 | FindMyPast[6] | 1639-1835 | BritishOrigins[7] | |||||||||||||
| 1800-1837 | FamilySearch[8] | 1813-1836 | FindMyPast[9] | ||||||||||||||||
| 1812-1837 | Ancestry[10] | ||||||||||||||||||
St Mary at Hill Parish
| | |||||||||||||||||||
| |
|
| |||||||||||||||||
| Earliest | |
|
| ||||||||||||||||
| Images | | ||||||||||||||||||
| 1813-1906 | Ancestry[2] | 1754-1864 | Ancestry[3] | 1813-1850 | Ancestry[4] | ||||||||||||||
| Indexes | 1558-1837 | FamilySearch[11] | 1558-1837 | FindMyPast[6] | 1811-1854 | FindMyPast[9] | |||||||||||||
| 1560-1837 | FamilySearch[12] | 1811-1854 | BritishOrigins[7] | ||||||||||||||||
| 1800-1837 | Ancestry[10] | ||||||||||||||||||
Webb published an index to burials for the years 1813 to 1850.[13]
- Littlehales, Henry. The Medieval Records of a London City Church (St. Mary at Hill) A.D. 1420-1559. London: Early English Text Society, 1904. Digital version at Google Books.
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, nonconformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection.
Census records
1541 Subsidy
- 1541 London Subsidy Roll, Billingsgate Ward - The Paryshe of Saynt Androwes, courtesy: British History Online
- 1541 London Subsidy Roll, Billingsgate Ward - The Paryshe of Saynt Mary Hill, courtesy: British History Online
1547 Subsidy
- St Mary at Hill, Billingsgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/151); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
1582 Subsidy
- 1582 London Subsidy Roll - St Andrewe Hubbertes Parishe, courtesy: British History Online
- 1582 London Subsidy Roll - St Marye Hill Parishe, courtesy: British History Online
1621 Subsidy
- St Andrew Hubbard, Billingsgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/486); copy: FHL Film 2228702.
- St Mary at Hill, Billingsgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/486); copy: FHL Film 2228702.
1628 Subsidy
- St Andrew Hubbard, Billingsgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/563); copy: FHL Film 2228704.
- St Mary at Hill, Billingsgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/563); copy: FHL Film 2228704.
1638 Inhabitants List
- Inhabitants of London in 1638 - St Andrew Hubbert, East Cheap, courtesy: British History Online
- Inhabitants of London in 1638 - St Mary at Hill, courtesy: British History Online
1645 Subsidy
- St Andrew Hubbard, Billingsgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/591); copy: FHL Film 2228704.
- St Mary at Hill, Billingsgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/583); copy: FHL Film 2228704.
1666 Hearth Tax
- Hearth Tax: City of London 1666 - St Andrew Hubbard, courtesy: British History Online
- Hearth Tax: City of London 1666 - St Mary at Hill, courtesy: British History Online
1692-1932 Land Taxes
1695 Inhabitants Lists
|
|
This section requires expansion with: any unique information, such as the census for X year was destroyed. |
Civil Registration
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Probate records
Will indexes for probate courts covering these parishes are available online.
Before 1858, St Andrew Hubbard fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London. St Mary at Hill fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Archdeaconry of London. In practice, many St Mary at Hill residents left their wills in the Prerogative Court of Canterbury from the 1700s through 1858.[14] From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry.
Go to London Probate Records to find the names of the courts having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.
Cemetery
Transcripts of early St Mary at Hill with St Andrew Hubbard tombs found in the interior of the churches were published in Catalogue of the most Memorable Persons who had visible Tombs, plated Gravestones ... in the City of London (through) A.D. 1700, which is available online.[15]
A cemetery survey (1910), available online, covers monumental inscriptions in the St Mary at Hill churchyard.[16]
Records of the Poor
Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.
Parish History
St Andrew Hubbard Timeline
- 1666 - church destroyed by Great Fire of London
- 1666 - never rebuilt; united with St Mary at Hill Parish[17]
St Mary at Hill Timeline
- 1100s - parish created
- 1666 - church badly damaged by Great Fire of London
- 1666 - church rebuilt; united with St Andrew Hubbard Parish[17]
- 1988 - fire damaged church; rebuilt
1831 description
'St Mary at Hill with St Andrew Hubbard, the churh of, is situated on the west side of St Mary's Hill, Lower Thames Street, and is so named from its situation. It is called in ancient records St Maria ad Montem. This church is of considerable antiquity, since a chantry was founded in it by Rose de Wrytell, in [about] 1330...and was rebuilt in 1497, and was much damaged by the great fire of 1666. After substantial repair, between the years 1672 and 1677, by Sir Christopher Wren, the parish of St Andrew Hubbard was united to it by act of parliament. [see that church]
'The advowson of this church appears always to have been in private hands, till about the year 1638, when it was purchased by the parishioners, but since its union with the parish of St Andrew Hubbard, the patronage of which is in the Duke of Northumberland, and the parish and his Grace present alternately. It is a rectory, in the city, diocese and archdeaconry of London...'[18]
Additional jurisdictions
These parishes belonged to Billingsgate Ward.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Web sites
(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).
- St Mary at Hill (official website). History, photographs, visitor directions.
- London Family History Centre Catalogue (St Andrew Hubbard Parish records)
- London Family History Centre Catalogue (St Mary at Hill Parish records)
- Society of Genealogists Library Catalogue (to narrow results, conduct a subject search for 'London St Andrew Hubbard' or 'London St Mary at Hill')
References
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Andrew Hubbard in the City of London | St Mary at Hill in the City of London. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
- ↑ 2.0 2.1 London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Andrew Hubbard in the City of London | St Mary at Hill in the City of London. Partially indexed.
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Andrew Hubbard in the City of London | St Mary at Hill in the City of London. Partially indexed.
- ↑ 4.0 4.1 London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Andrew Hubbard in the City of London | St Mary at Hill in the City of London. Partially indexed.
- ↑ Batch C044251, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes bishop's transcripts.
- ↑ 6.0 6.1 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011; Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists Enterprises Ltd., 1994). FHL Book 942 K22L 1994
- ↑ 7.0 7.1 'Greater London Burials: Middlesex and City of London Burials: Parishes, Counts and References,' British Origins, accessed 4 April 2013.
- ↑ Batch M044251, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes bishop's transcripts.
- ↑ 9.0 9.1 John Hanson, 'City of London Burials,' Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011.
- ↑ 10.0 10.1 Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
- ↑ Batches C032101-C032102, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes parish register transcripts.
- ↑ Batches M032101-M032102, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes parish register transcripts.
- ↑ Cliff Webb, Some London Burials, Post-1812 (1979). FHL Book 942.1/L1 K29w.
- ↑ 'About Archdeaconry Court of London Wills Index 1750-1800', British Origins, accessed 23 December 2011.
- ↑ Payne Fisher and G. Blacker Morgan, Catalogue of the Tombs in the Churches of the City of London, A.D. 1666 (1668; reprint, London: Hasell, Watson, Viney, Ld., 1885). Digitised by Internet Archive.
- ↑ Percy C. Rushden, The Churchyard Inscriptions of the City of London (London: Phillimore and Co., Ltd., 1910). Digitised by Internet Archive.
- ↑ 17.0 17.1 Phillip B. Dunn, A Guide to Ancestral Research in London (Salt Lake City, Utah: Mountainland Printing and Marketing, c1987, 1992), 58-59. FHL Book 942.1/L1 D27d.
- ↑ James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitised by Google Books.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 4 October 2012, at 21:33.
- This page has been accessed 1,053 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

