St Marylebone, MiddlesexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Parishes

St Marylebone, Middlesex family history and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


St Marylebone, Middlesex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ossulstone (Holborn Division)
County Middlesex
Poor Law Union St Marylebone PLU
Registration District Marylebone
Records begin
Parish registers: 1668
Bishop's Transcripts: 1629; 1813
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not created until 1858
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division)
Location of Archive
Middlesex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ST MARY-LE-BONE, a parish, in the Holborn division of the hundred of Ossulstone, county of Middlesex [built in 1668]. It comprises one of the largest populations of any parish in the whole country (see the link below to view a list of all the "District Churches and Chapels in Pre-1900 St Marylebone". It contained Cavendish, Manchester, and Portman squares; Portland-place, Regent's Park, bounded by the Hampstead and Highgate hills; Stratford-place; Cumberland-place; Lisson Grove and St. John's Wood, on the west; Chapel of St. Katherine's Hospital located at Regent's Park, removed from it's original site near The Tower, London. There are places of worship for Baptists, Independents, Wesleyans, Calvinistic Methodists, and Seceders from the Scottish Church; a chapel belonging to the Greek Church; a French, and a Spanish, Roman Catholic chapel; and a Roman Catholic chapel in St. John's Wood. [1]

Additional information:

Here's a list of District Churches and Chapels in Pre-1900 St Marylebone.


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online data transcribed from St Marylebone ancient parish [as well as for a few of its approximately 40 smaller chapels of ease and numerous district churches subdividing its boundary] is now available at the following websites:

Online St Marylebone Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1668
1668
1668
Images
1668-1813 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[2]
1782-1820 FindMyPast[3]
1813-1906 Ancestry[4] 1754-1921 Ancestry[5] 1768-1941 Ancestry[6]
Indexes 1679-1876 FamilySearch[7] 1612-1826 FindMyPast[8] 1668-1774 FindMyPast[9]
1782-1820 FindMyPast[3] 1668-1813 FamilySearch[10]
1668-1754 TheGenealogist[11]
    1800
1812-1833
Ancestry[12]    
Online All Souls Langham Place Images and Indexes
   
1825-1862 FamilySearch 1825-1863 FamilySearch

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438791.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Manorial Records

Records survive for Marylebone Manor (1538-1811). The Manorial Documents Register will help you locate these records.

Poor Law Unions

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848. Adapted. Date accessed: 28 January 2014.
  2. London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Marylebone in Westminster Borough. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
  3. 3.0 3.1 'Westminster parish records coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 27 March 2012. Indexed collection.
  4. London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Marylebone in Westminster Borough. Partially indexed.
  5. London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Marylebone in Westminster Borough. Partially indexed.
  6. London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Saint Marylebone in Westminster Borough. Partially indexed.
  7. Batches C035241, C035242, C035243, C035244, C035245, C035246, C035247, C035248, C035249, C053921, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (N-Z), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 10 March 2012. Indexes parish register xx.
  8. "Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county," Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011; Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists Enterprises Ltd., 1994). FHL Book 942 K22L 1994. 81,719 entries.
  9. "Boyd's London Burials Index - places and counts," Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes adult male burials only.
  10. Batch M035242, M035243, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (N-Z), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 10 March 2012. Indexes parish register xx.
  11. 'London Parish Record Transcripts,' The Genealogist, accessed 10 March 2012.
  12. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 24 June 2014, at 22:36.
  • This page has been accessed 5,145 times.