St Marylebone St Barnabas, MiddlesexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Parishes

Guide to St Marylebone St Barnabas, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

ST MARY-LE-BONE, a parish, in the Holborn division of the hundred of Ossulstone, county of Middlesex [built in 1668]. It comprises one of the largest populations of any parish in the whole country (see the link below to view a list of all the "District Churches and Chapels in Pre-1900 St Marylebone". It contained Cavendish, Manchester, and Portman squares; Portland-place, Regent's Park, bounded by the Hampstead and Highgate hills; Stratford-place; Cumberland-place; Lisson Grove and St. John's Wood, on the west; Chapel of St. Katherine's Hospital located at Regent's Park, removed from it's original site near The Tower, London. There are places of worship for Baptists, Independents, Wesleyans, Calvinistic Methodists, and Seceders from the Scottish Church; a chapel belonging to the Greek Church; a French, and a Spanish, Roman Catholic chapel; and a Roman Catholic chapel in St. John's Wood. [1]

Additional information:

St Barnabas, St Marylebone was a district Anglican church built as a church of ease, in order to ease the heavy population demands of the mother, or ancient parish of St Marylebone.

The church was consecrated in 1865. The church was badly damaged by bombing during World War II. From 1941 the parish was administered by the Rector of Christ Church, Cosway Street, with St John's Wood Chapel, who was based at St John's House. The reorganisation scheme for St Marylebone proposed that St Barnabas' Church should be closed and the parish united with Christ Church, Cosway Street. The scheme was ratified legally by Order in Council in March 1952, though it had been put into effect in practice by 1948.[2]

Here's a list of District Churches and Chapels in Pre-1900 St Marylebone.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438791.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

St Marylebone on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 29 January 2014.
  2. National Archives National Archives, Adapted. Date accessed: 29 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:33.
  • This page has been accessed 1,204 times.