St Marys, Old Town,Scillys, CornwallEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from St Marys, Cornwall)
St Mary Scilly OldChurchStMarys.jpg
England Gotoarrow.png Cornwall

Guide to St Marys, Old Town, Scillys, Cornwall family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records. Gotoarrow.png Cornwall Parishes

Contents

Parish History

St Mary's.-- chief of the Scilly Islands; is 9 miles in circumference, and contains Hugh Town, the capital of the Scilly Islands. Among the interesting features of the island is Star Castle, an Elizabethan fortress. There are also numerous antiquities.[1]


St Mary Scilly is an Ancient parish. The church of St Mary was built at Old Town during the 19th century, replacing a previous building dating substantially from the 12th century.

Harold Wilson, Prime Minister of the United Kingdom from 1964 to 1970, and again from 1974 to 1976, is buried in the churchyard of this church.


Resources

Civil Registration


Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.


Church records

St Marys, Old Town,Scillys, Cornwall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
St Marys, Old Town,Scillys, Cornwall Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1677-1794, 1869-1901
1677-1794
1677-1794, 1869-1885


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241275.

Probate records


Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

  • 1851 Jurisdiction Maps
  • Vision of Britain

Websites

References

  1. John Bartholomew,Gazetteer of the British Isles(1887)
  2. 'Cornwall Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 November 2013.

Add here any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 May 2014, at 22:10.
  • This page has been accessed 730 times.