St Mellion, CornwallEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cornwall Gotoarrow.png Cornwall Parishes

Guide to St Mellion, Cornwall family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Mellion, Cornwall
St Mellion contributor Tony Atkin.jpg
St Mellion contributor Tony Atkin
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred East
County Cornwall
Poor Law Union St Germans PLU
Registration District St Germans
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1609
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery East
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall
Location of Archive
Cornwall Record Office

Contents

Parish History

MELLION, ST., or Mellyn, a parish, in the union of St. Germans, Middle division of the hundred of East, E. division of Cornwall, 3¼ miles (S. E. by S.) from Callington. [1]

To the north, the parish is bordered by  Callington, Cornwall and  St Dominic, Cornwall parishes, to the east and south by Pillaton parish, and to the west by  St Ive, Cornwall parish.


St Mellion is also the location of Pentillie, a 17th century castle and estate which has been the seat of the Coryton family since 1698. They had previously had an estate at West Newton Ferrers, also in St Mellion. The St Mellion golf course is also in the parish


Resources

Civil Registration


Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is Free BMD.


Church records

St Mellion, Cornwall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free[4]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[5][6]
FREG = FreeREG - free[7]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[8]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[9]
St Mellion, Cornwall Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI
1558-1812

BOYD
1558-1812

COPC 1558-1880
1558-1910
1558-1910
FMP 1561-1880 1558-1835
FREG
1558-1812

IGI 1558-1812 1558-1625, 1675-1805
PALL
1790-1812

Images of parish registers are available online in historic records (formerly Record Search) Images refer to Cornwall Record Office reference: P 143

Cornwall Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks page for the parish http://www.cornwall-opc.org/Par_new/l_m/mellion_st.php



Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241258.


Cornwall Online Census Project

Poor Law Unions

St Germans Poor Law Union


Probate records


Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

Websites

Add here any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

References

  1. Lewis,Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 283-287.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 21 November 2013.
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 3 December 2013.
  5. 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  6. 'Cornwall Marriages', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  7. 'Cornwall Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 November 2013.
  8. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Cornwall, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 22 November 2013.
  9. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 May 2014, at 21:43.
  • This page has been accessed 736 times.