St Merryn, CornwallEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cornwall Gotoarrow.png Cornwall Parishes

Guide to St Merryn, Cornwall family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Merryn, Cornwall
St Merryn contributor Bill Henderson.jpg
St Merryn contributor Bill Henderson
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Pyder
County Cornwall
Poor Law Union St Columb Major PLU
Registration District St Columb
Records begin
Parish registers: 1688
Bishop's Transcripts: 1616
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Pydar
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court A Peculiar of the Court of the Bishop of Exeter (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cornwall Record Office

Contents

Parish History

MERRYN, ST., a parish, in the union of St. Columb Major, hundred of Pyder, E. division of Cornwall, 2¼ miles (W. S. W.) from Padstow. There are places of worship for Wesleyan and Primitive Methodists.[1]


The parish church was dedicated to St Marina & later St Thomas the Martyr. It is now dedicated to St Merryn.

St Merryn Methodist Church Cornwall.jpg

Resources

Civil Registration

Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is Free BMD.


Church records

St Merryn, Cornwall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free[3]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[4][5]
FREG = FreeREG - free[6]
FS PRs = England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010 (FamilySearch) - free[7]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[8]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[9]
St Merryn, Cornwall Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1616-1812

COPC 1861-1913
1689-1913
1688-1795, 1813-1893
FMP 1616-1877 1616-1837
FREG
1689-1812

FS PRs 1688-1900 1688-1906 1688-1797, 1813-1893
IGI 1616-1877 1616-1875
PALL
1790-1812

Images of parish registers are available online in historic records (formerly Record Search) Images refer to Cornwall Record Office reference: P 145

Cornwall Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks page for the parish http://www.cornwall-opc.org/Par_new/l_m/merryn_st.php The Online Parish Clerk for St Merryn is Susan Old and she also holds linked family pedigress for other parishes including  St Eval, CornwallSt Ervan, Cornwall, St Mawgan  and  St Columb Major, Cornwall,

Contact with Susan can be made by the link on the St Merryn Cornwall online Parish Clerks page and her extensive work is a valuable resource for research in the district.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241272.


Cornwall Online Census Project

Poor Law Unions

St Columb Major Poor Law Union


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

Websites

Add here any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 291-295. Date accessed: 25 March 2013
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 3 December 2013.
  4. 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  5. 'Cornwall Marriages', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  6. 'Cornwall Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 November 2013.
  7. 'England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010', FamilySearch, accessed 27 November 2013.
  8. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Cornwall, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 22 November 2013.
  9. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 May 2014, at 21:43.
  • This page has been accessed 783 times.