St Mewan, CornwallEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cornwall Gotoarrow.png Cornwall Parishes

Guide to St Mewan, Cornwall family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Mewan, Cornwall
St Mark's Mission Church, Sticker Cornwall.jpg
St Mark's Mission Church, Sticker Cornwall
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Powder
County Cornwall
Poor Law Union St Austell PLU
Registration District St Austell
Records begin
Parish registers: 1693
Bishop's Transcripts: 1607
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Powder
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall
Location of Archive
Cornwall Record Office

Contents

Parish History

MEWAN, ST., a parish, in the union of St. Austell, E. division of the hundred of Powder and of the county of Cornwall, 1 mile (W. by S.) from St. Austell. [1]


An Anglican church was designed by the architect George Edmund Street in 1848/49, but was presumably never built. The current St Mark's Mission Church was designed by James Piers St Aubyn and opened in 1877. St Mark's is effectively a chapel of ease for the parish church at St Mewan.



Resources

Civil Registration

Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is Free BMD.


Church records

St Mewan, Cornwall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free[3]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[4][5]
FREG = FreeREG - free[6]
FS PRs = England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010 (FamilySearch) - free[7]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[8]
St Mewan, Cornwall Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1607-1673

COPC 1682-1770, 1800-1913
1682-1770, 1837-1906
1682-1925
FMP 1607-1875 1607-1837
FREG
1837-1906

FS PRs 1607-1692, 1829-1900 1607-1692, 1837-1906 1607-1692, 1850-1925
IGI 1607-1875 1607-1837


Images of parish registers are available online in historic records (formerly Record Search) Images refer to Cornwall Record Office reference: P 148

At the time of Publication the way points for the burial registers were incorrectly compiled. This matter awaits correction by engineers. The digital images were compiled from two filmings of the burial register and the microfilm conversion has given rise to two loadings of the 1887-1900 burial register, with an error in the volume number on one waypoint.

Cornwall Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks page for the parish http://www.cornwall-opc.org/Par_new/l_m/mewan_st.php

The history, registers and much more have been contributed by the Online Parish clerk for St Mewan.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241268.


Cornwall Online Census Project


Poor Law Unions

St Austell Poor Law Union

Probate records


Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

Websites

Add here any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

http://www.achurchnearyou.com/st-mewan-st-mewan/ for information about the parish

http://www.britishlistedbuildings.co.uk/en-71432-church-of-st-mewan-st-mewan British Listed building

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 298-301. Date accessed: 25 March 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 3 December 2013.
  4. 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  5. 'Cornwall Marriages', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  6. 'Cornwall Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 November 2013.
  7. 'England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010', FamilySearch, accessed 27 November 2013.
  8. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Cornwall, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 21 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 May 2014, at 22:09.
  • This page has been accessed 1,037 times.