St Michael's Mount, CornwallEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cornwall Gotoarrow.png Cornwall Parishes

Guide to St Michael's Mount, Cornwall family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Michael's Mount, Cornwall
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Penwith
County Cornwall
Poor Law Union Penzance PLU
Registration District Penzance
Records begin
Parish registers: For records see St Hilary
Bishop's Transcripts: For records see St Hilary
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Cornwall Record Office

Contents

Parish History

MICHAEL'S, ST., MOUNT, an extra-parochial liberty, in the hundred of Penwith, W. division of Cornwall, ¼ of a mile (S.) from Marazion.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

St Michael's Mount, Cornwall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free[2]
CPRI = Cornwall Parish Register Index - free[3]
St Michael's Mount, Cornwall Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
COPC 1852-1864

1754-1865
CPRI

1754-1865


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241266.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

  • 1851 Jurisdiction Maps
  • Vision of Britain

Websites

Add here any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 298-301. Date accessed: 25 March 2013.
  2. 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 3 December 2013.
  3. 'Database Coverage,' Cornwall Parish Register Index, accessed 1 February 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 May 2014, at 22:09.
  • This page has been accessed 447 times.