St Michael BassishawEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
England
London
London Parishes
St Michael Bassishaw
London St Michael Bassishaw family history and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers (baptisms, christenings, marriages, and burials), civil registration (births, marriages, and deaths), census records, history, wills, cemetery, online transcriptions and indexes, an interactive map and website resources.
Contents |
Church records
| | |||||||||||||||||||
| |
|
| |||||||||||||||||
| Earliest | |
|
| ||||||||||||||||
| Images | | ||||||||||||||||||
| 1813-1892 | Ancestry[2] | 1755-1890 | Ancestry[3] | 1813-1853 | Ancestry[4] | ||||||||||||||
| Indexes | 1538-1861 | FamilySearch[5] | 1538-1880 | FamilySearch[6] | 1813-1853 | FindMyPast[7] | |||||||||||||
| 1880-1892 | Ancestry[8] | 1538-1837 | FindMyPast[9] | 1813-1853 | BritishOrigins[10] | ||||||||||||||
| 1764-1837 | BritishOrigins[11] | ||||||||||||||||||
| 1764-1837 | Ancestry[12] | ||||||||||||||||||
Publications of the Harleian Society Parish Register Series published the parish registers from 1538 to 1735.[13]
Webb published an index to burials for the years 1813 to 1853.[14]
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, nonconformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection.
Census records
1541 Subsidy
- 1541 London Subsidy Roll, Bassishaw Ward - Parish of St. Michael Bassishaw, courtesy: British History Online
1582 Subsidy
1589 Subsidy
1621 Subsidy
- St Michael Bassishaw, Bassishaw Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/488); copy: FHL Film 2228702.
1625 Subsidy
- St Michael Bassishaw, Bassishaw Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/548); copy: FHL Film 2228703.
1638 Inhabitants List
1641 Subsidy
- St Michael Bassishaw, Bassishaw Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/566); copy: FHL Film 2228704.
1666 Hearth Tax
1692-1932 Land Taxes
1695 Inhabitants Lists
|
|
This section requires expansion with: any unique information, such as the census for X year was destroyed. |
Civil Registration
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Probate records
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.
Before 1858, St Michael Bassishaw fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Archdeaconry of London. In practice, many residents left their wills in the Prerogative Court of Canterbury from the 1700s through 1858.[15] From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry.
Go to London Probate Records to find the names of the courts having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Cemetery
Transcripts of early St Michael Bassishaw tombs found in the interior of the church were published in Catalogue of the most Memorable Persons who had visible Tombs, plated Gravestones ... in the City of London (through) A.D. 1700, which is available online.[16]Records of the Poor
During the seventeenth century, officials gave some foundlings discovered in St Michael Bassishaw Parish the unique surname Bassishaw.[17]
Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.
Parish History
"St Michael Bassishaw, the church of, stands on the western side of Basinghall Street, and derives its name from its dedication to St Michael the Archangel, and its addition from Basing's Haw or hall [See Basingahll Street)]. The ancient church was originally founded in the year 1140, and was then in the patronage of the prior and canons of St Bartholomew, in Smithfield. [From] about 1430, it fell to the Dean and Chapter of St Paul's in whose patronage it has continued...
"The old church, which was a beautiful specimen of the ecclesiastical architecture of our ancestors, was entirely destroyed by the fire of London, and the present building was erected in its stead, from the designs of Sir Christopher Wren. It is a plain and useful structure, of brick and stone, of no very striking character. The church is a rectory in the city, diocese and arhcdeaconry of London and in the patronage of the Deans and canons of St Paul's."[18]
St. Michael Bassishaw Parish was part of Bassishaw Ward.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Web sites
(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).- London Family History Centre Catalogue
- Society of Genealogists Library Catalogue (to narrow results, conduct a subject search for 'London St Michael Bassishaw')
References
- ↑ London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Michael Bassishaw in the City of London. Partially indexed.
- ↑ London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Michael Bassishaw in the City of London. Partially indexed.
- ↑ London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Michael Bassishaw in the City of London. Partially indexed.
- ↑ London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Michael Bassishaw in the City of London. Partially indexed.
- ↑ Batches P001471, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011.
- ↑ Batch M001471, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011.
- ↑ John Hanson, 'City of London Burials,' Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011.
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah. British Isles Vital Records Index, 2nd Edition. Salt Lake City, Utah: Intellectual Reserve, copyright 2002. Used by permission.
- ↑ 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011.
- ↑ 'Greater London Burials: Middlesex and City of London Burials: Parishes, Counts and References,' British Origins (£), accessed 4 April 2013.
- ↑ 'Webb's London Marriages - Marriages, periods and parishes/churches,' British Origins, accessed 4 July 2011.
- ↑ Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
- ↑ Stuart A. Raymond, London and Middlesex: A Genealogical Bibliography (Birmingham, UK: Federation of Family History Societies, c1997), Vol. 2:28.
- ↑ Cliff Webb, Some London Burials, Post-1812 (1979). FHL Book 942.1/L1 K29w.
- ↑ "About Archdeaconry Court of London Wills Index 1750-1800", British Origins, accessed 23 December 2011.
- ↑ Payne Fisher and G. Blacker Morgan, Catalogue of the Tombs in the Churches of the City of London, A.D. 1666 (1668; reprint, London: Hasell, Watson, Viney, Ld., 1885). Digitised by Internet Archive.
- ↑ Nathan W. Murphy, "London Foundlings in Colonial America: Overseas Leads to Dead Ends: John Abchurch, William Abchurch, Isaac Jewry, and Henry Woolchurch of Virginia and Maryland," The American Genealogist, Vol. 83, No. 2 (Jul./Oct. 2008):131-140.
- ↑ James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitised by Google Books.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 14 November 2012, at 19:48.
- This page has been accessed 939 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More


