St Michael Queenhithe with Holy Trinity the LessEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png London Gotoarrow.png London Parishes Gotoarrow.png St Michael Queenhithe with Holy Trinity the Less

London St Michael Queenhithe with Holy Trinity the Less family history and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Michael Queenhithe with Holy Trinity the Less
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred London, Within the Walls
County London
Poor Law Union City of London PLU
Registration District London City
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653; Separate registers exist for Holy Trinity the Less beginning 1547
Bishop's Transcripts: 1639-40; 1665-66; 1800; Separate records exist for Holy Trinity the Less beginning 1629-31; 1639-40; 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of London
Location of Archive
London Record Office

Contents

Parish History

"St Michael Queenhithe with Holy Trinity the Less, the church of, named from its saint and situation, stands on the north side of opportunities street, opposite Queenhithe; which was formerly called Cornhithe, as all the corn brought from the western parts of the country was landed here.  The earliest mention of this church was under the name of St. Michael de Corn hill in 1181, and we find that in 1404, [it was] left [as] part of [an] estate to found [a] charity within its walls.  The ancient Church having been destroyed by the fire of London, the present structure was erected instead by Sir Christopher Wren in 1677.  The advowson of this church has been... in the Dean and chapter of St. Paul's. On its rebuilding after the great fire the parish of Trinity the Less was united to it by act of Parliament [see Trinity the Less] and the patronage of the latter being in the Dean and chapter of Canterbury, they present to the United directory alternately.  It is in the city, diocese and archdeaconry of London, and in the above named patronage."[1]

"Trinity the Less, the church of, was situated before the fire of London, at the northeast corner of Little Trinity Lane, where a German Chapel now stands. It received the epithet "the Less" to distinguish it from the Trinity priory at Aldgate; but having been destroyed by the fire of 1666, the parish was united to that of St Michael Queenhithe, and the church was not rebuilt."[1]


After the Great Fire of London (1666), Holy Trinity the Less Parish united with St Michael Queenhithe Parish.[2]

1848 parish description
St. Michael, Queen-hythe, with Trinity the Less, are parishes of the city of London Within the Walls. The patron is the Dean and Chapter of St. Paul’s, and the Dean and Chapter of Canterbury, alternately. They are parishes within the poor-law union of the City of London.[3]

These parishes were part of Queenhithe Ward. Holy Trinity the Less Parish was also part of Vintry Ward. The parish name was also spelled St Michael Queen Hythe.

Resources

Church records

Holy Trinity the Less Parish

Online Holy Trinity the Less Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1547
1547
1547
Images
1547-1812 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[4]
1813-1851 Ancestry[5] 1755-1830 Ancestry[6] 1813-1852 Ancestry[7]
Indexes 1547-1836 FamilySearch[8] 1547-1830 FindMyPast[9] 1808-1852 FindMyPast[10]
    1687-1692 BritishOrigins[11] 1808-1852 BritishOrigins[12]
    1800-1837 Ancestry[13]    

St Michael Queenhithe Parish

Online St Michael Queenhithe Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1639
1639
1639
Images
1639-1812 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[4]
1813-1876 Ancestry[5] 1754-1875 Ancestry[6] 1813-1852 Ancestry[7]
Indexes 1639-1640 BritishOrigins[14] 1639-1640
1754-1837
BritishOrigins[11] 1800-1852 FindMyPast[10]
1651-1860 FamilySearch[15] 1639-1837 FindMyPast[9] 1800-1852 BritishOrigins[12]
    1653-1711 FamilySearch[16]    
    1780-1837 Ancestry[13]    

Boundary

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census records

St James Garlickhithe.png

1541 Subsidy

1547 Subsidy

  • Holy Trinity the Less, Cordwainer Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/141); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • Holy Trinity the Less, Queenhithe Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/152); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Michael Queenhithe, Queenhithe Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/152); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1582 Subsidy

1621 Subsidy

  • Holy Trinity the Less, Vintry Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/504); copy: FHL Film 2228702.

1625 Subsidy

  • Holy Trinity the Less, Queenhithe Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/526); copy: FHL Film 2228703.
  • Holy Trinity the Less, Vintry Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/543); copy: FHL Film 2228703.
  • St Michael Queenhithe, Queenhithe Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/526); copy: FHL Film 2228703.

1638 Inhabitants List

1645 Subsidy

  • Holy Trinity the Less, Vintry Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/587); copy: FHL Film 2228704.

1646 Subsidy

  • Holy Trinity the Less, Cordwainer Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/584); copy: FHL Film 2228705.

1692-1932 Land Taxes

1695 Inhabitants Lists

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.

Before 1858, St Michael Queenhithe with Holy Trinity the Less fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Archdeaconry of London. In practice, many residents left their wills in the Prerogative Court of Canterbury from the 1700s through 1858.[17] From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry.

Go to London Probate Records to find the names of the courts having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Cemetery

St Michael churchyard wall

Transcripts of early St Michael Queenhithe with Holy Trinity the Less tombs found in the interior of the churches were published in Catalogue of the most Memorable Persons who had visible Tombs, plated Gravestones ... in the City of London (through) A.D. 1700, which is available online.[18]

A cemetery survey (1910), available online, covers monumental inscriptions in the St Michael Queenhithe churchyard.[19]

Find A Grave has a page about Holy Trinity the Less Church monumental inscriptions.

Records of the Poor

During the seventeenth century, officials gave some foundlings discovered in St Michael Queenhithe Parish the unique surname Queenhithe.[20]

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Michael Queenhithe
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Holy Trinity the Less

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitised by Google Books.
  2. Phillip B. Dunn, A Guide to Ancestral Research in London (Salt Lake City, Utah: Mountainland Printing and Marketing, c1987, 1992), 58-59. FHL Book 942.1/L1 D27d.
  3. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 129-170. Adapted. Date accessed: 19 December 2013.
  4. 4.0 4.1 London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Holy Trinity The Less in the City of London | St Michael, Queenhithe in the City of London. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
  5. 5.0 5.1 London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Holy Trinity the Less in the City of London | St Michael Queenhithe in the City of London. Partially indexed.
  6. 6.0 6.1 London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Holy Trinity the Less in the City of London | St Michael Queenhithe in the City of London. Partially indexed.
  7. 7.0 7.1 London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Holy Trinity the Less in the City of London | St Michael Queenhithe in the City of London. Partially indexed.
  8. Batches C023311-C023312, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011.
  9. 9.0 9.1 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011; Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists Enterprises Ltd., 1994). FHL Book 942 K22L 1994
  10. 10.0 10.1 John Hanson, 'City of London Burials,' Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011.
  11. 11.0 11.1 'Webb's London Marriages - Marriages, periods and parishes/churches,' British Origins, accessed 4 July 2011.
  12. 12.0 12.1 'Greater London Burials: Middlesex and City of London Burials: Parishes, Counts and References,' British Origins, accessed 4 April 2013.
  13. 13.0 13.1 Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
  14. 'About Middlesex Baptisms Index 1538-1751,' British Origins, accessed 16 March 2012.
  15. Batches C022741-C022742, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011.
  16. Batch M022742, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011.
  17. "About Archdeaconry Court of London Wills Index 1750-1800", British Origins, accessed 23 December 2011.
  18. Payne Fisher and G. Blacker Morgan, Catalogue of the Tombs in the Churches of the City of London, A.D. 1666 (1668; reprint, London: Hasell, Watson, Viney, Ld., 1885). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  19. Percy C. Rushden, The Churchyard Inscriptions of the City of London (London: Phillimore and Co., Ltd., 1910). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  20. Nathan W. Murphy, "London Foundlings in Colonial America: Overseas Leads to Dead Ends: John Abchurch, William Abchurch, Isaac Jewry, and Henry Woolchurch of Virginia and Maryland," The American Genealogist, Vol. 83, No. 2 (Jul./Oct. 2008):131-140.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 20:01.
  • This page has been accessed 3,745 times.